We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Colon Quito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Colon Quito
Ranked #20 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very clean hotel.
Staff polite and seemingly helpful, but not so good on following up on promised services (that you certainly pay for!)
Difficult to follow up on issues other than by phone. Would like to find a direct email so that issues can be followed up/confirmed after my stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindazed57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    477
    156
    58
    31
See reviews for
186
394
115
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

An excellent conference hotel, with attentive staff, excellent beds and restaurant. Nice indoor/outdoor bar. Excellent concierge staff can recommend good restaurants outside the hotel that are good. Be sure to ask them for advice concerning traveling to certain areas of the city - they are very up front about challenges to personal safety. Despite the travel warnings, we had no problems even off by ourselves (although an arranged tour of the city included two armed guards to accompany us!). Bring ear plugs (see room selection advice) and you will have no problems getting a good night's sleep. The hotel van from the airport was on time and very courteous.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the El Panecillo offers a great view across the park. Important to get as high a floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steveandmary401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights. If you are looking for somewhere that is a bulk standard 4-5 star hotel, this is the place for you. The rooms are pretty standard for what you would get for this standard hotel- the rooms are clean, breakfast buffet pretty standard for a big hotel. The restaurants are a bit dates and remind me of a bit of the 80s/early 90s and the gym could do with a bit of updating as could the day spa, but overall, an ok stay. The concierge manager could have been a bit more helpful and a bit more enthusiastic about helping. View from the top floors is quite magnificent overlooking Quito.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepid_pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here as part of my GAdventures tour of the Galapagos Islands and it is well worth it. This is one of the best hotel stays I've ever experienced. Gotta love the beds and bedding! The room was so comfortable and the service was great. The breakfast included was terrific as well - lots of variety of things to eat and drink and all very good. If you're a drinker, the bar was nice but I found it too pricey for a shot so maybe stick to the beer (I'm used to $6.50 per shot in Toronto clubs, not $12).

The location of the hotel in Quito was also one of the best things about it - just at the cusp of both the Old Town and Le Mariscal. The neighbourhood is quite safe. Do not buy the stories you hear of people being mugged or pick pocketed. As long as you act accordingly or as you would in your own home city, there is no reason to be nervous in Quito. There are plenty of security officers, police and tourist security officers around in the streets and also in the pharmacies, restaurants, fast food places, and bars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Susan_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I arrived here to join a group adventure tour of Ecuador. My plane from Houston had been canceled, I had been rerouted and when I arrived almost a day late, my bag was missing. The Hilton staff were kind and very understanding. They gave me complimentary internet access so I could pursue recovery of the bag. The room was very comfortable, including the pillow which is always a big deal to me. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous! (My bag did arrive at 2:00 a.m. and I bless the staff for apologetically calling to see if I wanted it brought up--I was ecstatic). We left luggage at the Hilton while we went to the highlands and then again when we went to the Galapagos and my bag was always intact and in good condition. We left the morning of New Year's Eve and I was amused by the staff's touches (a pirate hat, colored leis). Mostly my rooms had no view but the building next door (no big deal I wasn't spending time in the room) but one night I had a room on the 12th floor with an incredible view of Quito and I reveled in it. Caveat: avoid dining in the restaurant on Sunday night if you don't want the buffet. They were short staffed, no alcohol can be sold and it took forever to get our salads ordered off the menu. But overall: great location, nice facility and friendly staff!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsygurl1271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I recently traveled to Quito for four nights. Having status with Marriott and Hilton, it was tough to decide between the JW Marriott and the Hilton Colon Quito. I ended up choosing the Hilton for two reasons: a fantastic rate and the hotel location. The location certainly did not let me down.

The hotel is located across Parque El Ejido, walking distance to many restaurants (Plaza Foch) and very close to various landmarks (Casa de la Cultura Museum is just a couple of blocks away). However, its close proximity to "downtown" or "old town" is what makes the location of this hotel a great one. Took a cab to the Plaza Grande (paid $3) and did a walking tour of the old town. The walking tour took me through different churches, landmarks, Parque Alameda, Parque El Ejido and back to the hotel. It was that simple.

The rooms at the hotel are very spacious, clean, fairly quiet and I am pretty sure all rooms have a decent view of Quito and its surrounding areas. One morning, I was able to enjoy the Cayambe in the background and I know it is possible to see the Cotopaxi from the other side of the hotel. The beds are pretty comfortable, the towels are decent for a hotel, toiletries are the same as the ones found at Hilton properties in the US, and the TV has a large selection of channels although pretty much all of them are in Spanish (understandable). I should note that I got upgraded to a half-suite in a top floor so my opinion may be somewhat biased especially in regards to size / space and noise levels. In addition, I should note that the hotel has a couple of restaurants that offer good selections for a reasonable price, and other amenities (internet, fitness center, spa, pool) that every hotel should offer.

The staff members at the concierge and the front desk are a hit or miss. Some of them will go out of their way to help but some of them will make you feel like you just wasted their time. If I need help with something, I want to feel like they care. However, they make you feel like they are doing you a favor and you owe them. However, I do want to praise the assistance given by three people. The two housekeeping ladies in my floor (wish I had gotten their names) were some of the most helpful people that I had during my stay. I declined housekeeping every single day of my stay but they were more very polite and nice when I requested clean towels, additional toiletries and what not. Every single time I asked for something they did it with a smile in their face. Similarly, I want to praise Sonia from the lounge. During one of my visits to the concierge lounge for breakfast, the place was a mess. No juice. No food. No plates. However, once she saw these problems, she immediately took action. Within 5 minutes she had fresh food and juice come out.

Overall, this is not a bad hotel. The location of the hotel cannot beat. The hotel itself is clean and the rooms are spacious. I do wish that some of the staff had been friendlier but I won't take away from those that were. If I do go back to Quito, I will try to stay at this hotel once again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuanyDinero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here, as part of a tour group, for one night at the beginning of a week and two nights at the end. Of those nights, I had my sleep interrupted on two nights by phone calls from reception - on one occasion to ask my name at 11.10pm! The other night my phone rang four times, at two hourly intervals. Bearing in mind that many travelers in Quito have just had a long-haul flight, this seems totally unacceptable.
The hotel was comfortable, its position is good and the food was satisfactory. However, my interrupted sleep makes it impossible to give it a high scoring review.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CandS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
1.6 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.8 mi away
Swissotel Quito
Swissotel Quito
#11 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Colon Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colon Quito

Property: Hilton Colon Quito
Address: Avenida Amazonas N19-14 y Patria | Amazonas Av. N19-14 and Patria street, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Quito
#9 Family Hotel in Quito
#9 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#10 Business Hotel in Quito
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Colon Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in Quito, the capital of Ecuador, the Hilton Colon is only 15 minutes away from Mariscal Sucre International Airport, and is surrounded by cultural, tourist, commercial and financial centers. Our excellent location is only minutes away from the old Colonial ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Colon Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colon Quito Hotel Quito
Hilton Hotel Quito
Hilton Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing