We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't get to stay here long enough!”
Review of Swissotel Quito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swissotel Quito
Ranked #11 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Didn't get to stay here long enough!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Such a wonderful surprise! We had an overnight in Quito, on our way to Galapagos. Our agent booked usinto the Swissotel Quito for a few hours sleep before the next days outbound flight. Our only disappointment was that we were not able to stay here longer! Probably one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in during our many trips abroad. Everything was to perfection and the staff was more than helpful. King sized bed, bath and half, bath robes, slippers, mints on the pillows, every minor detail was observed. A wonderful breakfast awaited us in the morning in the lovely dining room. Again, our only regret is that we didn't get to stay longer. A trip back to Quito for a longer duration will be cause to book a room in the Swissotel Quito. The only negative for us was that the hotel is a 45 minute drive to and from the new airport. BUT, there are no accommodations near the airport. This does not negatively reflect the quality of the hotel or our interest in staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquarium-mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directora V, General Manager at Swissotel Quito, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment, we are glad to know you enjoy your visit to our Hotel. We really hope you can come and stay for a longer time.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    283
    64
    30
    25
See reviews for
121
239
55
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed on business for three days. Hotel facilities are good, not exceptional. Hotel is in a nice neighborhood and accessible from most parts of Quito.

The staff are superb and kind and eager to help. Cafe Quito, where breakfast is served is good although lacks character and the main attraction is the middle where the daily buffets are served. The hotel restaurant--La Loncada--is very good. Bar is dull and dated and closed on Sundays after 4 pm following a local law that prohibits the sale of alcohol on Sunday evenings!

The gym is dated and crowded. It seems to be open to non hotel guests also so it can get crowded specially around the weight area. Heard a lot of weighs being dropped and grunting which gives the place a totally different character.

Finally, in house wi-fi is ok, a bit slow and the business center on the ground floor is well equipped and staff are helpful with printing etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoseLuisContreras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directora V, General Manager at Swissotel Quito, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion and suggestions about our Hotel and restaurants, we will consider all of them to improve our services.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Greeted promptly upon arrival with juice and towel. The room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant La Locanda was amazing! Checking in and out was easy. Did not spend any time in the neighborhood, so cannot comment.


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LandLiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directora V, General Manager at Swissotel Quito, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your experiences, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit in our hotel and our restaurant La Locanda.

We can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at Swissotel Quito for 5 days, while we studied Spanish in a school about 1 mile away. We had a "package" deal offered to us with a beautiful Junior Suite, and 3 buffet meals a day on floor S1 which I guess could be called the concierge floor. The view, especially in the evening from the cozy dining room from this floor was outstanding with the night lights. The price, considering that we had 3 meals, soft drinks and even wine, was really a bargain. ($295 + taxes, etc.) There was free Internet which is a rarity for a hotel like this. The staff were very helpful and pleasant without being patronizing. Smiles were the rule.The suite had a bedroom with two queens, a dining area, and two and a half bathrooms. The carpeting, as another reviewer mentioned was "tired" in the suite. The other issue was that we were not informed that a % service charge was added to the final bill which was to cover tipping, which is a good thing, if we only knew it. We did tip, not knowing $147.00 on the bill went for tips to the staff. Since we were in Quito to study Spanish, the staff and had patience to help us learn, and the majority of the guests were Spanish speaking, at least when we were guests there, and we could practice Spanish with them too. In all, I would recommend this understated hotel for a stay in Quito, Ecuador.

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite and also ask for a package that includes 3 meals daily buffet style in the E1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directora V, Director General at Swissotel Quito, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your experiences and suggestions, we will consider them to improve our services.
We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was our second visit to the Swissotel in Quito. The hotel and rooms are somewhat generic, but the hotel is in a great location and the people who work there are all very helpful. We've never experienced a cleaning staff that took as much time and care with their jobs in our lives. We remarked upon it every day (we were there 6 nights this stay - 4 the last) when we returned to our extremely clean and well-organized rooms.
We were there this time taking Spanish classes and it was a 5 minute walk to our school. We felt a little like we were "living" in Quito as we learned our way around the neighborhood. We went to the SuperMaxi (nice supermarket) a couple blocks away to get snacks, special shampoo etc., and a laundramat around the corner to get our clothes cleaned. Some of the best restaurants are also in walking distance. And the Japanese/Sushi restaurant within the hotel is very good.
Our teenagers enjoyed using the indoor-outdoor pool and the wifi is good - though not super fast. We would go there again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeTheWorld109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directora V, General Manager at Swissotel Quito, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment, we will consider all your suggestions to improve our services.
We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelsagrat, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

convenient location, very helpful staff in general, excellent attention during our 3 days meeting in one of the conference rooms, nice spa, great indoor swimming pool , excellent breaksfasts with plenty of choices. My room was OK but would require some serious upgrade to fulfil 21st century business traveller expectations . I wanted a room opposite the avenue and the only one available was at the smoking floor : the room itself did not smell too bad , but the smell in the corridor was just terrible...

Room Tip: if you are not a smoker ....avoid the smoking floor, sounds obvious ..but I managed to get it wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pancho82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directora V, General Manager at Swissotel Quito, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment, we will consider all your suggestions to improve our services.
We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I expected a little more of this property. Their lobby is real nice, so is their Spa. However, I was a bit disappointed with their rooms. The carpet on the floors is very old and the room was not well lit. I expected a little bit more for the price I paid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoBeAddicted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directora V, General Manager at Swissotel Quito, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment, we will consider all your suggestions to improve our services.
We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
2.4 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 115 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#4 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Quito

Property: Swissotel Quito
Address: De Octubre 1820 Ave. & Luis Cordero Street 12 | La Floresta Zone, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Quito
#5 Business Hotel in Quito
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Quito is a luxury hotel conveniently located in the commercial and residential area of Quito. The hotel is within easy access to the Old Town and to the airport. Known as the kindest hotel of Latin America, Swissotel Quito is recognised for the finest service in the city. Six excellent restaurants offer a wide variety of international cuisine. From Mediterranean, Swiss, Japanese and sumptuous buffets, there is menu to suit every taste at Swissôtel Quito. The hotel’s Amrita Spa is the perfect place for relaxation or lively workout. Facilities include an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath, fitness centre, squash, and racquet and tennis courts. Swissotel Quito offers the largest and most modern convention centre in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Swissotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Quito Hotel Quito
Swissotel Hotel Quito
Quito Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing