We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Hotel in a not so interesting area of Quito”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Quito
Ranked #17 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ok Hotel in a not so interesting area of Quito”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Pretty standard hotel. Pretty good when taking the price into consideration. The rooms are a little worn including the bathroom. I spent 8 nights there with a group of people on business. Be ware of seafood in the restaurant - one in our group was very sick after eating squid.
Service was good and the staff very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THEDANE72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO Q, Gerente at Wyndham Garden Quito, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments. We are very sorried about the experience with the food, unfortunately, we did not have the opportunity to let you know that we analyze the product and all the BPM rules was accomplished, however i would like to tell that we tried to compensate to your friend for the bad moment.
Thank you again for your feedback, that helps to improve our service.

Myriam Delgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    129
    30
    5
    7
See reviews for
58
52
28
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guayaquil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I booked two rooms and paid a lot of money for luxury weekend relax and business. staffs are very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately what you pay what you don't get apply here. Rooms and beds are two small for couple. It is not excellent location. ceiling very low. Hotel needs urgently re-decoration. Carpets looks dirty. It is common problem in Ecuador hotels. They do not re-invest for hotels. I make sure to book new built hotel for my next trip. Breakfast is too expensive for Ecuador.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO Q, Gerente at Wyndham Garden Quito, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to answer our survey and for giving us your comments and suggestions. At Howard Johnson Quito, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your or our own expectations.
We understand your discontent for the room status, however i would like to tell you about our remodeling process, so we are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.
Also you can ask for a better rate that includes benefits like breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very good stay, it is very quiet and comfortable, they have very good food, both in room service and in the buffet complimentary breakfast. the room was very neat and the service was very helpfull. very good staff. very good option for your stay in quito.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlosnoboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO Q, Director General at Wyndham Garden Quito, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your comment, it's very satisfying to know how was your stay and opinion of food service, our mission is to maintain the level and exceed your expectations.

I hope you visit us again, it will be a pleasure to welcome

Myriam Delgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A typical "upscale" Howard Johnson hotel. I gave it 4 stars, instead of three, because of the service we received. We stayed overnight and needed to catch an early flight. The wake-up call was on-time. We were taken to the airport in a private car at no charge. The room was not extremely clean, but workable, none the less. The bed was extremely comfortable. That's about it. A typical Ho-Jo's; nothing spectacular, nothing horrible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO Q, Gerente at Wyndham Garden Quito, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are grateful for having the time to let us know your comments. It is very important for us to know how was your stay, with us.
We apologize for not exceed your expectation in cleaning your room.
Your evaluation will help us to continue providing you the best service that our guests deserve. We hope to see you soon. If you have any question, suggestion or additional requests, please contact us.

Best Regards

Myriam Delgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013

First and last time! Very Bad experience from the beginning?
We travel to Quito 2 to 3 times a year and always stay at the Best Western Plaza-Carolina Park.
Howard Johnson have Special rate on Kayak, was $ 20 saving per night.
Bad decision!
Howard Johnson Hotel refused to pick us up at the airport in their "complimentary Shuttle"
Because we did not call 3 days in advance, what a way to receive your guest!
No where in the world my wife & I have ever traveled that No visitors allowed in room?
Front desk call every two minutes asking when visitors coming down to the lobby?
Rooms very small & hallways smell of smoke, even though the rooms are Non-smoking?
Carpet worn out & half electrical sockets broken.

Room Tip: Best Western Plaza is the best hotel in Quito. Forgive me for trying to save a few dollars! All I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO Q, Gerente at Wyndham Garden Quito, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time for giving us your comments and suggestions. At Howard Johnson, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your or our own expectations. We understand your discontent for the inconveniences you had. We are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable. Quality department is aware of your comments and have taken steps to ensure an appropriate solutions to what you have mentioned. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniencies you experienced.
Looking forward to host you soon. Kind regards,

Myriam Delgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Howard Johnson Hotel in Quito. We have not stayed at a HOJO in some time so when reservations were made on our behalf we were a little skeptical. Everything worked out very well. We had a nice, clean, and spacious room facing La Carolina Park. The hotel staff was really excellent and very helpful. The restaurant food was very good and the wait staff were very attentive. he hotel is located close to shopping restaurants, and La Carolina Park. If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Quito's north side consider the Howard Johnson

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front entrance/ south side of Hotel were more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b2421a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO Q, Gerente at Wyndham Garden Quito, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We would like to thank you for this feedback and for your preference to our brand. Your opinion certainly assist us through our continuously process of improvement. Certainly, this feedback assists us to set a higher standard of quality and efficiency confirming Howard Johnson Quito as an excellent hotel choice. Looking forward to host you soon.
Kind regards,

Myriam Delgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice decor, but noisy and run down. Carpet stained and threadbare, inner doors need repair and painting. Not cheap ...paid $115 plus tax plus breakfast. Better hotels with better location if you are going to stay in Quito.

We had a particularly bad experience. Were in transit to Cuenca and picked the hotel because they advertised a free airport shuttle. When I went to arrange it, they informed me the shuttle didn't run after 10 p.m. (our plane got in at 10:40) but they could arrange paid transportation. I said okay, then they wrote and told me to do it myself. For the next morning I tried to arrange a shuttle for 10 a.m. to the airport. (The had said the shuttle ran from 8:00 a.m.). The man at the desk told me we would have to pay for the shuttle at 10:00 a.m., but the 10:30 would be free, so we cut it close and took the later shuttle. That morning I found out he had lied and the 10:00 a.m. Would have been free too. This left a very bad taste in my mouth. We will never use that hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO Q, Director General at Wyndham Garden Quito, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us a comment about your experience. Know how was your stay help us to improve the service and therefore work hard to achieve our mission of creating memorable experiences in our guests.
We are very sorried about the problem with the suttle and the perception you have of our rooms and price, the shuttle is included in specific schedules but have a special price out of that, so that is the reason because you have to pay, again we are very sorried about the problem that situation could ocasionated.
If you have any comments or further questions, you can contact me directly.

Myriam Delgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 111 in Quito
752 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#31 of 111 in Quito
369 reviews
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#8 of 111 in Quito
516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#6 of 111 in Quito
477 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Quito

Property: Wyndham Garden Quito
Address: Alemania E5 -103 | and Av. La Republica, Quito 170150, Ecuador (Formerly Howard Johnson Hotel Quito)
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Quito
#20 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#26 Family Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Quito 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building with all the comforts of the modern life, 90 executive rooms & suites - In financial & banking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Quito
Quito Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing