We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Quito
Ranked #14 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Carrboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Typical”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A typical "upscale" Howard Johnson hotel. I gave it 4 stars, instead of three, because of the service we received. We stayed overnight and needed to catch an early flight. The wake-up call was on-time. We were taken to the airport in a private car at no charge. The room was not extremely clean, but workable, none the less. The bed was extremely comfortable. That's about it. A typical Ho-Jo's; nothing spectacular, nothing horrible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO Q, Gerente at Howard Johnson Hotel Quito, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are grateful for having the time to let us know your comments. It is very important for us to know how was your stay, with us.
We apologize for not exceed your expectation in cleaning your room.
Your evaluation will help us to continue providing you the best service that our guests deserve. We hope to see you soon. If you have any question, suggestion or additional requests, please contact us.

Best Regards

Myriam Delgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    125
    28
    4
    6
See reviews for
56
51
26
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013

First and last time! Very Bad experience from the beginning?
We travel to Quito 2 to 3 times a year and always stay at the Best Western Plaza-Carolina Park.
Howard Johnson have Special rate on Kayak, was $ 20 saving per night.
Bad decision!
Howard Johnson Hotel refused to pick us up at the airport in their "complimentary Shuttle"
Because we did not call 3 days in advance, what a way to receive your guest!
No where in the world my wife & I have ever traveled that No visitors allowed in room?
Front desk call every two minutes asking when visitors coming down to the lobby?
Rooms very small & hallways smell of smoke, even though the rooms are Non-smoking?
Carpet worn out & half electrical sockets broken.

Room Tip: Best Western Plaza is the best hotel in Quito. Forgive me for trying to save a few dollars! All I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO Q, Gerente at Howard Johnson Hotel Quito, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time for giving us your comments and suggestions. At Howard Johnson, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your or our own expectations. We understand your discontent for the inconveniences you had. We are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable. Quality department is aware of your comments and have taken steps to ensure an appropriate solutions to what you have mentioned. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniencies you experienced.
Looking forward to host you soon. Kind regards,

Myriam Delgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Howard Johnson Hotel in Quito. We have not stayed at a HOJO in some time so when reservations were made on our behalf we were a little skeptical. Everything worked out very well. We had a nice, clean, and spacious room facing La Carolina Park. The hotel staff was really excellent and very helpful. The restaurant food was very good and the wait staff were very attentive. he hotel is located close to shopping restaurants, and La Carolina Park. If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Quito's north side consider the Howard Johnson

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front entrance/ south side of Hotel were more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b2421a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO Q, Gerente at Howard Johnson Hotel Quito, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We would like to thank you for this feedback and for your preference to our brand. Your opinion certainly assist us through our continuously process of improvement. Certainly, this feedback assists us to set a higher standard of quality and efficiency confirming Howard Johnson Quito as an excellent hotel choice. Looking forward to host you soon.
Kind regards,

Myriam Delgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice decor, but noisy and run down. Carpet stained and threadbare, inner doors need repair and painting. Not cheap ...paid $115 plus tax plus breakfast. Better hotels with better location if you are going to stay in Quito.

We had a particularly bad experience. Were in transit to Cuenca and picked the hotel because they advertised a free airport shuttle. When I went to arrange it, they informed me the shuttle didn't run after 10 p.m. (our plane got in at 10:40) but they could arrange paid transportation. I said okay, then they wrote and told me to do it myself. For the next morning I tried to arrange a shuttle for 10 a.m. to the airport. (The had said the shuttle ran from 8:00 a.m.). The man at the desk told me we would have to pay for the shuttle at 10:00 a.m., but the 10:30 would be free, so we cut it close and took the later shuttle. That morning I found out he had lied and the 10:00 a.m. Would have been free too. This left a very bad taste in my mouth. We will never use that hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO Q, Director General at Howard Johnson Hotel Quito, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us a comment about your experience. Know how was your stay help us to improve the service and therefore work hard to achieve our mission of creating memorable experiences in our guests.
We are very sorried about the problem with the suttle and the perception you have of our rooms and price, the shuttle is included in specific schedules but have a special price out of that, so that is the reason because you have to pay, again we are very sorried about the problem that situation could ocasionated.
If you have any comments or further questions, you can contact me directly.

Myriam Delgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantsville, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The staff was very helpful, got us a great tour on the spur of the moment. The room was very comfortable. We arrived a day earlier than our reservation but the made the accommodations easily. Ate 5 meals in the restaurant -- very good each time and very reasonably priced. Close enough to walk to the mall and the park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PegasusEventCenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO Q, Gerente at Howard Johnson Hotel Quito, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us a comment about your stay, we are proud about your comments about the service and food, thank you so much for that.
I hope you visit us again in the future, in the meantime if you have any comments or further questions, you can contact me directly.

Myriam Delgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My husband had to receive hip surgery so we came to Quito. He needed a place that could accommodate his specific needs post surgery, plus close to the hospital area, and in a safe place for me so he'd feel comfortable as I went out to get things. We are a block away from the huge mall (all kinds of eateries/groceries). And a half block from the huge park with local artist. And the hotel works with their approved/safe private taxis.

Howard Johnson staff has gone out of their way for us! They had an extra mattress on his bed before we arrived to raise it up for him. Customer service is exceptional! The food is exceptional! We will need to stay here a week - a great home away from home! They have worked hard to accommodate us and with sincere smiles!

We highly recommend this hotel! We have stayed at other hotels in the same area and they don't even compare.

Room Tip: Quiet. Haven't heard any neighbor noise in the next rooms. Fitness center :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godaloneis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO Q, Gerente at Howard Johnson Hotel Quito, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us how was your stay, this help us to improve the service and therefore work hard to achieve our mission of creating memorable experiences in our guests.
I hope your husband is getting well soon, and you could visit in the future, in the meantime if you have any comments or further questions, you can contact me directly.

Myriam Delgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I needed a convenient, safe place to park our heads for a few hours when we arrived in Quito late at night, planning to leave for the Galapagos early the next morning. This HoJo was a good choice. We had arranged in advance for the hotel shuttle ( complimentary ), and the driver was at the airport at the appointed time with a sign displaying our name. The drive to the hotel was about ten minutes ( 10K away from UIO ), and check-in was quick and easy. The room was clean and comfortable. We had made arrangements for a return ride to the airport ( complimentary again ), and a driver and transportation was ready at the appointed time. While we had no time or reason to use any hotel services, this was a great choice for us and was priced very reasonably ( about $80 US ). The only problem: our room overlooked a busy street, and traffic noise was ever-present. Request a room away from the street or located in the interior of the hotel .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onewag01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOJO Q, Gerente at Howard Johnson Hotel Quito, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for letting us your opinion , know how was your stay help us improve the service and therefore work hard to achieve our mission of creating memorable experiences our guests.

We are very sorried about the confusion noise in your room.

I hope you will allow us to serve you in the future.

Myriam Delgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 112 in Quito
736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#4 of 112 in Quito
452 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#30 of 112 in Quito
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#9 of 112 in Quito
508 reviews
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
1.4 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Quito

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel Quito
Address: Alemania E5 -103 y La Republica Avenue, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Quito
#20 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#26 Family Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Quito 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building with all the comforts of the modern life, 90 executive rooms & suites - In financial & banking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Quito
Quito Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing