We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Alameda
Ranked #17 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place, but . . .”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I spent two nights at the Alameda prior to going birding in the Ecuadorian cloud forest. It is certainly a nice place, well designed and pleasant, but the staff there conveyed the sense that they thought one was lucky to be able to be there. In fact it did not come up to the level that one would expect given their haughtiness. Otherwise it was certainly a nice place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuffTrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamedaHotelMercure, Director de Recepción at Mercure Hotel Alameda, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us.
We would like to be in touch with you in order to make up for this discomfort.
We look forward to your kind reply.

Sincerely,

Diego Naranjo
ROOMS MANAGER
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure
telephone: (593-2) 299 4051
e-mail: jefe_recepcion@mercurequito.com.ec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    353
    81
    23
    9
See reviews for
87
234
78
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stay here while on tour of Equator. It is an upper class stay, with the service to go with it. The rooms were very clean, and very comfortable. It also has a very nice restaurant off the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gforce61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamedaHotelMercure, Director General at Mercure Hotel Alameda, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Quito, September, 12 2013

Dear Guest;

On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us which we will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.
Thanks for preferring us!

Best Regards,

Carlos Mazzeo
General Director
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
206 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Mercure is a lovely hotel in Quito. Since we were there only on Sundays (both weekends which bookended a trip to the Galapagos), I can't speak to the noise level of the local streets. It is near a pharmacy, and several ATMs, some restaurants and a crafts market. Some of the rooms are enormous, suites actually, comfortable beds, in-room safe. The breakfasts were the best of our 3 week trip with OAT (Overseas Adventure Tours)! Since it was part of a package, I cannot review the value.

Room Tip: Ask the price difference for a suite vs. a regular room. It makes a difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were in this hotel on a Gate 1 tour so cannot comment on value. We had a suite for 2 nights and a double room on our return to Quito (short night as we left at 4 am!). The suite had two large beds and a separate living room that was very comfortable and had a nice view of the street and city (9th floor). The room on the second floor had no view but was very comfortable too. We did not eat dinner at the hotel any of the nights but breakfast was very good and available from around 4:30 or 5 am. There are several small restaurants around the hotel and three interesting souvenir shops within a block. We walked to the Museo Nacional in the large glass building in about 10 minutes. It has a very good exhibit of the ancient peoples of Ecuador and more. The hotel is not near the Old Town but it is only an inexpensive cab ride or long walk away. I would stay here again and recommend it for business or pleasure and couples and families. The staff was very nice and always helpful and always around. Coffee and pastries were put out for us when we left well before dawn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvmovielover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamedaHotelMercure, Director General at Mercure Hotel Alameda, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Quito, september 09 2013


Dear Guest;

On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us which we will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.
Thanks for preferring us!

Best Regards,

Carlos Mazzeo
General Director
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel was selected by Globis Monogram Tours as part of our tour package to Quito and the Galápagos Islands. The Front Desk staff were courteous and helpful with directions and suggestions for restaurants. The restaurant staff were not as courteous during breakfast. Food was just okay. It felt strange to see two security staff walking the lobby and restaurant 24 hours. Rooms were very nice, spacious, clean, quiet and furnished with bottled water.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdawg1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The front office staff, the restaurant staff and the housekeeping staff all deserve kudos for providing service beyond expectations.
As a semi retired person, I was given excellent consideration when I stated that I wasn't one who ate a great deal and so I was given a rate that suited my budget and needs.
When I told the Front Desk manager that my flight wasn't leaving until 1 minute after midnite, I was given a special rate and was able too keep the room until my pick up time at 8 p.m.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyboy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 112 in Quito
736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
1.8 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#4 of 112 in Quito
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#20 of 112 in Quito
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Alameda

Property: Mercure Hotel Alameda
Address: Ramon Roca E 4-122 | Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Quito
#22 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Hotel Alameda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure ALAMEDA Hotel, located in the heart of Quito, is the best place to stay and discover the wonders offered by this city, which is a World Heritage center. We have a variety of rooms for family and corporate events to satisfy all your needs. They are equipped with the latest in technology, which will ensure that your meeting is a success. We have now available the new Cipreses Mercure Ballroom Theater, the only one of its kind in Quito, with a capacity for 320 people. At the Spicy Bistro restaurant, you will find a world that will surprise you with an exquisite national and international cuisine. And to enjoy a delicious cocktail or glass of wine, we offer the GlobeWalker & Winebar, with a wine list selected by an exclusive tasting that the MERCURE Hotel Alameda. holds every year. We also offer our informal hanging-out spaces such as the Alameda Q, where a good coffee or a delicious appetizer are always available. Of course, our Bakery serves you the best cakes and pastries, which are ideal for take-out. At ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, you will always have the guarantee of good service and excellent quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Hotel Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Alameda Quito
Mercure Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing