We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Alameda
Ranked #17 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very nice hotel in a nice area, with beautiful lobby, modern rooms, courteous staff, and good breakfast selection and nice views of the mountains (at least from our 8th floor room). The architecture of the place assures that almost everyone will have a corner room with lots of windows. We decided to stay here for two nights which was the "basic option" from our tour company instead of the Hilton which was the "upgraded option" and only three blocks away. Only two drawbacks: 1) My wife and I were given a two single bed room ( I prefer a King, a Queen or two double beds in that order) with nightstand bolted into the floor between the beds, I haven't seen single beds in a long time and not for a married couple and 2) there is no heat, air conditioner, or fan register in the room. I guess the reason for this is that Quito's elevation is 9300Ft and it goes down to the 50's at night and a high in the low 70's mid day. Still, in late afternoon, the room can get get stuffy and you will need to open a window. That's OK on 8th floor, but would probably be noisy below.

Room Tip: Get a high floor for better views of mountains and to avoid street noise when you have to open the w...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annandale,Va.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Hotel Alameda
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 756 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hotel is nice and clean, located in a convenient section of town. Do not go for the overpriced ($15.oo) breakfast here. Go right across the stree to the cafe at the Windsor Hotel and have a complete American Breakfast eggs, ham, chees, bread, juice and coffee for $4.80.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaptainKuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is generally a very good hotel with excellent staff, very clean modern rooms and a good restaurant where we enjoyed both breakfast and dinner.
We stayed 3 times, in 3 different sized rooms but couldn't get decent air exchange going at night (too noisy to have the window opens). Possibly jet lag, possibly because there wasn't any option to the windows...
The concierge provided excellent advice regarding taxis and our left luggage was looked after with no problems while we were away from Quito.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waiwetu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamedaHotelMercure, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Quito, May 09, 2013


Dear Guest:

On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us. Please use the Guest Comment card, which we will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.
Thanks for preferring us!

Best Regards,

Carlos Mazzeo
General Director
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We lucked out in finding this hotel in Quito. It was a gem!!
As soon as we arrived the staff were so nice and helpful. The room was very nice & very clean. We had a few meals in the restaurant, the sushi was lovely and the waiters were so nice. One of the waiters brought us the wine bottle of the house wine we were drinking to show us it was a local wine. Since we are wine fans this was really interesting.
We had a wonderful time and want to come back again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank travelspagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamedaHotelMercure, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Quito, Abril 22, 2013


Dear Guest;

On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us. Please use the Guest Comment card, which we will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.
Thanks for preferring us!

Best Regards,

Carlos Mazzeo
General Director
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

my wife and I stayed here for two days at the beginning of a ten day stay in Ecuador and for one night at the end.The two night stay we had a very large room on thr eighth floor.On our return we had a smaller room but it was quite nice.The wifi was free ,The morning breakfast came with the room and was more than acceptable, I found all the staff very helpful when asking for help of any kind(which appears to be contrary to what alot of people have written).The reason I did not give it a five is two reasons.The first is the location is not near a lot of things you might want to visit,but cabs are cheap.The second is kinda funny.I read on trip advisor that a number of people had trouble getting toilet paper for there room.As soon as I got to the room it was clean but no toilet paper.I rang the front desk and within five minutes it was delivered.

Room Tip: high room at the back of the hotel ,our corner room was bigger than our other room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mainelytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamedaHotelMercure, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest:
On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us. Please use the Guest Comment card, which we will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.
Thanks for preferring us!

Best Regards,

Carlos Mazzeo
General Director
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

we spent 3 nights at the Hoel Mercure Alameda in Quito. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The staff were all very friendly. We had the breakfast buffet which was a good size and very tasty. We were able to walk to a very nice museum, shops and restaurants. There were clean cabs in a constant line in front of the hotel so that was convenient when we wanted to go a further distance. When we were headed to the airport we asked the bellman for our stored luggage and he checked out the cab driver and cab before letting us go with him. His thumbs up on our transportation made us feel more comfortable.
The only negative we found was that the wifi signal was weak in our room. better in the lobby.

Room Tip: I would ask if there are rooms where the wifi signal is stronger and get one of those if that is imp...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goroatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamedaHotelMercure, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest:

On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us. Please use the Guest Comment card, which we will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.
Thanks for preferring us!

Best Regards,

Carlos Mazzeo
General Director
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A pleasant hotel in a fair location. Room service and restaurant was adequate. Sushi bar was good. A bit noisy at night both outside and inside and the school group of noisy teenagers who checked in as we left would have spoilt the stay if we had overlapped!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Fiona-Hotstonmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#16 of 112 in Quito
767 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#21 of 112 in Quito
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
0.6 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#9 of 112 in Quito
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Alameda

Address: Ramon Roca E 4-122 | Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Quito
#22 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: $91 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Hotel Alameda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure ALAMEDA Hotel, located in the heart of Quito, is the best place to stay and discover the wonders offered by this city, which is a World Heritage center. We have a variety of rooms for family and corporate events to satisfy all your needs. They are equipped with the latest in technology, which will ensure that your meeting is a success. We have now available the new Cipreses Mercure Ballroom Theater, the only one of its kind in Quito, with a capacity for 320 people. At the Spicy Bistro restaurant, you will find a world that will surprise you with an exquisite national and international cuisine. And to enjoy a delicious cocktail or glass of wine, we offer the GlobeWalker & Winebar, with a wine list selected by an exclusive tasting that the MERCURE Hotel Alameda. holds every year. We also offer our informal hanging-out spaces such as the Alameda Q, where a good coffee or a delicious appetizer are always available. Of course, our Bakery serves you the best cakes and pastries, which are ideal for take-out. At ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, you will always have the guarantee of good service and excellent quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Alameda Quito
Mercure Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing