We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel to stay at for business or pleasure!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Alameda Quito
Ranked #17 of 116 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I brought my tour group here in January - had stayed here twice before - and was very pleased with the stay here. Check in was fast and friendly. Great lobby area and newly renovated so very pleasing to the eye especially with the water feature and cool new furniture. Staying on the higher floors is a good idea for noise but it is around offices so in the evening it is usually nice and quiet.

They were really accomodating to our group and I know I will stay there again.

Rooms have all you could need and I could not hear anyone else while in my room, very good soundproofing.

Buffet breakfast good and opens at 5 a.m. There is also a bakery and coffee shop.

They have a really nice shop with some beautiful souvenirs there as well.

I was on the top floor and had a lovely large room with separate bedroom. Desk was right by the windo so I could sit and work and look out onto the balcony.

On each of the floors there were lovely floral arrangements and when you are there on a garden tour it is nice to see.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ICanTravelPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamedaHotelMercure, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Alameda Quito, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us. We will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.
Thanks for preferring us!

Best Regards,

Carlos Mazzeo
General Director
ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 789 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in this hotel a total of 4 nights. First, March 6 to 9 then again on March 16, Saturday night. The service, food, accommodations were all excellent. One issue we had was as a result of having to leave the hotel at 3:15 AM to catch a 6:05 United flight to Houston, Texas. We had the breakfast included in our hotel rate. We asked if a small cold boxed breakfast could be prepared for us to take to the airport. We were told that if that was done we would be charged and that it was not needed as they had coffee and pasties in the lobby starting at 1 AM. In fact you did have coffee and croissants in the lobby. It was better then nothing but it was not adequate. My wife and I have visited 30 countries around the world and have never before been refused a boxed breakfast in a situation like this. Their approach ruined what would otherwise been an excellent stay. To suggest that a croissant and coffee should be enough is not in keeping with a hotel of their quality. Early flights out of Quito seem to be common and as such they should strive to accommodate the needs of their guests.

Room Tip: One recommendation is that you should ask for a back room since it might get noisy in the street at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexansOnTheGo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very nice hotel in the heart of the city. Some rooms are better, refurbished, than others. Those have also a very good soundproofing. Restaurants are good and service i globally efficient and courteous. Very good value for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PascaLDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We like this hotel and have stayed here four times. We have stayed in the penthouse suites which are really big and have a balcony and separate living room and bedroom, and in standard king rooms on the 4th or 7th floors. I would not reccommend staying on the lower floors due to street noise. The breakfast buffed had lots of choices, the restaurant on site has a good menu and is convenient for dinner, there is s bar where you can get a free welcome drink, and a bakey and coffee shop next door. Good location to shops, banks,and the Culttural Museum, which is worth s visit.
The one downside is that this hotel is now an hour and fifteen minutes drive from the new airport, so you have to get up really early to get to the airport two hours before your flight. For this reason, we would probably choose s hotel closer to the airport next time if we were only staying one night. But if you are staying in Quito for a few days, then this is a nice hotel and a good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floors, and ask if you can be upgraded to a penthouse suite. We did and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenLakeReener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamedaHotelMercure, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Alameda Quito, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Ms.:
On behalf of all of us at the ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, we thank you for taking some time to share your valuable comments with us. Please use the Guest Comment card, which we will use to continue improving our services to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests and clients.
Following your experience in our hotel, we thank you for recommending your contacts to us. In return, we offer you a complementary purchase in the area of the hotel that you choose.

Thanks for preferring us!

Warm Regards,

AHM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and 2 boys staying here for 2 nights prior to our trip to the Galapagos Islands and one night after the trip. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and fluent in English. The rooms were large and spacious and the televisions received multiple channels in English. Breakfast in the attached restaurant was more than adequate. At nighttime the area is kind of deserted but it didn't feel unsafe to me. We were about a 10 or 15 min. walk to an area that had many more restaurants and shops. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

..well actually 1/3 - 1/2 of the rooms are even 2 rooms suites. At reasonable prices.
Most rooms are very quiet. Rooms well kept if you think good middle class/lower first class.
No aircon (which may be OK) and no heating (which was't OK even for a Scandinavian this Feb).
Breakfast is semi international buffet (eggs, but no bacon etc) - some cheeses and ham, fruits, cereals etc. - bread not very good.
At rush hour 7:00-7:30 am the restaturant is both too small and understaffed (buffets runs dry for coffee, juice, bread,..., tables not cleared) - recovers before 8:00
Of course there is free WiFi all over (get a 24hour code at reception)- speed sufficient for mails and surfing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BjoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed two nights in this mediocre hotel. The room was exceptionally noisy making it difficult to get a good night's sleep. The room had been converted into twin share, the headboard did not sit over the bed, the light was in an awkward position where you hit your head on it every time you sat up in bed. There was no air conditioning in our room.

One staff member in Reception was very rude, not interested in helping when asked for information about good places to eat or to help, sort out an issue with a tour company. Cleaning staff seem to use two way radios to communicate at all hours of the night which combined with traffic noise made sleeping impossible.

This hotel does not live up to it's four star rating and we would definitely look for an alternative place to stay when visiting Quito.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street, with air conditioning and away from the cleaning service area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burchie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#18 of 116 in Quito
801 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
0.2 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#22 of 116 in Quito
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Quito
Wyndham Garden Quito
#9 of 116 in Quito
420 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Alameda Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Alameda Quito

Address: Ramon Roca E 4-122 | Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Quito
#22 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: $98 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Hotel Alameda Quito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure ALAMEDA Hotel, located in the heart of Quito, is the best place to stay and discover the wonders offered by this city, which is a World Heritage center. We have a variety of rooms for family and corporate events to satisfy all your needs. They are equipped with the latest in technology, which will ensure that your meeting is a success. We have now available the new Cipreses Mercure Ballroom Theater, the only one of its kind in Quito, with a capacity for 320 people. At the Spicy Bistro restaurant, you will find a world that will surprise you with an exquisite national and international cuisine. And to enjoy a delicious cocktail or glass of wine, we offer the GlobeWalker & Winebar, with a wine list selected by an exclusive tasting that the MERCURE Hotel Alameda. holds every year. We also offer our informal hanging-out spaces such as the Alameda Q, where a good coffee or a delicious appetizer are always available. Of course, our Bakery serves you the best cakes and pastries, which are ideal for take-out. At ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, you will always have the guarantee of good service and excellent quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Hotel Alameda Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Alameda Quito
Mercure Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing