We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location & great room size”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Alameda
Ranked #15 of 110 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location & great room size”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Mercure is a good, solid hotel close to shops, restaurants and a park.
I was travelling with a group & stayed there 3-times over a 3-week period & was given very large suites which was an unexpected bonus. Facilities were clean & reliable, bed comfortable & a good selection of TV channels. Decent breakfast selection although scrambled eggs were always very runny and it would have been nice to have had a better cereal selection & perhaps a choice of toast.
The only negative was that the Concierge on duty, when asked, had no idea for a local restaurant recommendation?!

Room Tip: There is constant traffic noise and always seemed to be persistent car alarms - not sure if room loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    357
    81
    24
    9
See reviews for
88
237
78
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here 3 times during our time in Ecuador. All the rooms we had were very clean and modern with huge comfortable beds. The first room was on a lower floor the window didn't seem to close tightly, and we had quite a lot of street noise. The second time we asked for a room on a higher floor, which was fine. The third time we were given a "Privilage Suite", which was lovely.
All the rooms had a modern bathroom with a good shower and toiletries, better quality in the suite! Each room had a mini-bar and tea/coffee tray, but, as usual for S America, no milk.

The welcome drink was a choice of two alcoholic drinks or fruit juice, except on Sundays, when no alcohol was served in the bar.

Breakfasts were good with an excellent choice of food, but sometimes a little busy with tour groups.

We ate in the restaurant each evening, there was a good choice of tasty food, and service was good.

We had intended to go into the Old Town one evening to eat, but it was raining very hard so didn't, however we were advised to ask the hotel to get us a taxi into town, then ask the restaurant to order one to take us back rather than trying to find a properly registered one ourselves.

We used wi-fi for an hour on two occaisions, but weren't charged.

All staff were very pleasant and obliging, any requests were promptly dealt with, and our luggage was stored on two occaisions whilst we were away on trips.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kings1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I read other reviews and they mentioned free wifi, free airport shuttle, etc. We were booked for a total of 3 nights through Overseas Adventure Travel. Wifi was expensive. $3 for a continuous hour (you couldn't,t break it up into partial hours) or $15 per day. The welcome drink was non alcoholic. No free airport shuttle, but the taxi was only $5. Comfortable beds. We were in room 510 which was not facing Calle Rio Amazones and it was very quiet. However. Wifi signal was weak and after two tech guys tried to get the signal for me, I gave up and went to the lobby. Very substantial choices included in buffet breakfast. Would definitely stay again, but would test out wifi signal in room if that is important to you.

Room Tip: True to get a room that does not face Calle Rio Amazonas
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was located in a room at the corner of the building, so I managed to get an all-round good view of the mountains to my left and the city to my right.
The room was huge. The bed was 3 pillows wide...but a little firm for my liking.
Coffee & Team making facilities, standard over priced mini-bar.
A nice touch was the free bottle of water left for me each day.That was well needed.
The wifi was ok, but not great and you had to pay $14 per night for the priviledge.
The hotel bar was small tidy. Reasonable selection of drinks. Great hotel if you like to try different wines and cocktails.
Breakfast options were very good, self service and the food was always replenished with fresh replacements/refills regularly.
Location was ok and not too far a walk from the lively area with all the restaurants and bars.
Traffic is constant and heavy, so always leave plenty of time for travelling. Taxi travel is very cheap as well. A 45 minute drive from the office to the airport was only US$8. Helpful staff will call you cab if required.
You can get a room rate with Wifi included. Not sure if works out cheaper (it should) but ask for the options when booking.
I would stay here again, but I think I would request a better rate on wifi.

Room Tip: As usual, higher floors have less traffic noise. The lifts require contact room card/key to be used...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPerryQuedgeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The location of this hotel is very good to walk around the city, and to the artisanal Market ( 2 streets behind)
Room was comfortable bedding, and nice bathroom, associated to suite.
But outside of the comfort of the room, missing a lot of amenities that we could find in lower class hotel.
I had to request toilet paper, and tissue paper, as box was empty on my arrival. All the minibar was empty, neither was boiling machine, and small bags of tea/coffee, such as done in this tpe of hotel.
Internet was expensive additional to cost of room (3 USD for an hour), and was not even working. Staff was not very welcoming. Quite arrogant providing information. Maybe because we were part of a group, and room are reserved in advance by travel agent.
Also due to big city used to a lot of tourist and less careful of customer satisfaction.
The worst was breakfast : crowded, noisy, and room too small for so many guests and so big hotel.
We finished our visit of Ecuador by Quito, and had been more impressed by the other hotel we stayed in, even with less star than this Mercure.

Room Tip: If you need to use internet, try to book room with internet included. It cost less to reserve it in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mayimei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Mercure Alameda is a nice, modern hotel. Overall my experience was positive, but had a few incidents. I arrived late at night and apparently the hotel was experiencing a plumbing problem and had to put me up in a different hotel. This was rather inconvenient as I was scheduled to stay for three nights prior to heading out to the Galapagoes, and was going on a tour early the next morning, so was unable to unpack anything. The temporary hotel, although was rather quaint, was not up to the Mercure's standards. The night manager was very apologetic though. I was able to move back to the Mercure the following day and they retrieved my luggage.
We also stayed one night after the Galapagoes tour. The rooms were quite nice, modern, clean. My only complaint for the final night was that one of the front desk people was rather rude and not helpful at all. We asked for directions to a restaurant and he claimed he'd never heard of it and refused to provide change for smaller bills. But this particular person was the only one we encountered that was not nice.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms toward the back of the hotel and both were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lfthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

It's good hotel! The rooms are clean and good beds. the rates are fare!

I recommend to stay here. it's few blocks from the bars and restaurants. its a little bit far from the business center, but its a good option!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuca_orlandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 110 in Quito
750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#19 of 110 in Quito
1,377 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
1.8 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 110 in Quito
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Alameda

Property: Mercure Hotel Alameda
Address: Ramon Roca E 4-122 | Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Quito
#22 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Hotel Alameda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure ALAMEDA Hotel, located in the heart of Quito, is the best place to stay and discover the wonders offered by this city, which is a World Heritage center. We have a variety of rooms for family and corporate events to satisfy all your needs. They are equipped with the latest in technology, which will ensure that your meeting is a success. We have now available the new Cipreses Mercure Ballroom Theater, the only one of its kind in Quito, with a capacity for 320 people. At the Spicy Bistro restaurant, you will find a world that will surprise you with an exquisite national and international cuisine. And to enjoy a delicious cocktail or glass of wine, we offer the GlobeWalker & Winebar, with a wine list selected by an exclusive tasting that the MERCURE Hotel Alameda. holds every year. We also offer our informal hanging-out spaces such as the Alameda Q, where a good coffee or a delicious appetizer are always available. Of course, our Bakery serves you the best cakes and pastries, which are ideal for take-out. At ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, you will always have the guarantee of good service and excellent quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Alameda Quito
Mercure Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing