We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor Quality” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Hotel Alameda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Alameda
Ranked #15 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very poor Quality”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

After arriving at the hotel and feeling not welcome I had to wait 30 mins after a 18 hour flight to receive a room key. I had booked a room on the privelage floor and was then sent to the 9th floor into a room that was not well aired and had dampness on the ceiling. The hotel is situated directly in the city centre and as the rooms are not insulated the nights tend to be very loud. The bedroom door was not possible to dead-lock and the balcony door was not able to close tightly allowing for noise to enter the room. As a foreigner who does not speak spanish I was made to feel very unwelcome and in the way despite a room charge of 132 Dollars per night. The breakfast buffet is poor and very seldom refilled. And this at an additonal cost of 15 Dollars. Take care ordering the scrambled egg - you will need to additonally order a straw to consume the eggs. Please think twice before bookng at this hotel.

Room Tip: The Hilton Hotel around the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craigk2047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    340
    80
    21
    9
See reviews for
83
216
75
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel as part of a tour package we booked to the Galapagos Islands. The room was clean and spacious and the breakfast was very good. It is close to a nice crafts market and to many bars and restaurants, but not to most of the main tourist sites in the old part of the city. My only complaint is that they charged an extra $15 for internet access, which always seems ridiculous to me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank br0wner56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Staying at the Mercure for the second time. I arrived the first time with a confirmed pre-paid(I thought) reservation, to find they had no reservation for me. I had made my reservation through the Accor hotels own system! The second time I arrived the roon seemed hot and stuffy and the windows don't open so I called the desk to find out where to find the thermostat. "If you are cold we will send a heater. If you are too warm we will send a fan."

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GloberoamerCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
216 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed on a tour and this was the best hotel of the trip. Rooms were large and nice. Service was great. Happy hour at the bar in the lobby a great deal. Two drinks for $6! Walking distance to the craft market. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Handywoman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
152 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent three nights on two visits to the Mercure Grand Hotel in May, as part of an Overseas Adventure Travel tour to Machu Picchu and the Galapagos. The Mercure Grand is very nice, with a beautiful lobby and restaurant, and clean, well-appointed rooms. We had two different rooms over our two stays, and both were very nice - spacious, clean, and everything worked as intended. Internet is available at a cost in lobby computers, but it really wasn't very expensive. The breakfast buffet was very good. Staff were helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColumbiaTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I just returned from 5 days in Ecuador for an anniversary celebration. We were extremely pleased with the Mercure Grand Hotel Alameda in Quito. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I cannot understand how previous people reviewed them to be rude. Perhaps the fact I speak Spanish helped, but my husband does not and he was able to communicate with everyone just fine. The front desk helped us arrange for day trips to the Mitad del Mundo and Cotopaxi. The were very helpful in making dinner reservations, recommending places to eat, getting taxis.

The facilities were above expectations. I was concerned that we may have been in store for a rough experience since this was not an *expensive* hotel, however we found the lobby to be well appointed. The rooms were not fancy but they were spacious, clean, well decorated. The beds were super comfortable and they had an abundance of pillows. I requested a room to the back of the hotel to avoid street noise and our room on the 4th floor was perfect. Not a great view or balcony, but that was not an issue for us. The elevators worked fine. The bathroom was adequate, but the shower could use updating. Most importantly, there was plenty of hot water, so the low pressure/small shower head could be overlooked.

We had dinner in the restaurant Spicy! and the food was fine. The service was excellant. The prices were higher than other places in Quito but not as high as you would expect for a hotel restaurant. We did not have breakfast in the hotel, but got coffee and pastries each day at the adjacent coffee shop. Cafe con leche was good. Pan du chocolate and chocolate brioche were DIVINE. Prices were cheap.

We loved the location. Being within walking distance of the Ejido park was fantastic, especially on Sunday. We enjoyed walking down to The Coffee Tree and being close to several ATM's. Getting a taxi was never an issue. Walking to Plaza Foch during the day and a short taxi ride at night suited us fine.

The only reason for deducting one star was the spotty Wi-Fi. It worked fine in the lobby and in the hallway. It was definitely hit-miss in our room. Perhaps that was due to the fact that our room was at the end of the hall and tucked around a little corner. The hotel did send a staff member up to try to work it out. He spend considerable time working on our issue to no avail. Regardless, I appreciated how promptly they *tried* to address the issue. As I said, it worked fine in the lobby, so for FaceTime chats with family or important things, we could just access from downstairs.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about street noise, ask for a room to the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the Mercure twice for two days on our trip to Ecuador. The rooms were spacious and very clean, the furnishings up to date, and the service was terrific. Every question, like the best ATM, best pharmacy and best restaurant was answered with a smile. The local handicraft mercado was two blocks away in a district with very good shopping. It was quiet at night. They kept our luggage when we went to Galapagos with no extra charge.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the street fifth floor and away from the street seventh floor--both were quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#20 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
1.8 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#6 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Alameda

Property: Mercure Hotel Alameda
Address: Ramon Roca E 4-122 | Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Quito
#22 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Hotel Alameda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure ALAMEDA Hotel, located in the heart of Quito, is the best place to stay and discover the wonders offered by this city, which is a World Heritage center. We have a variety of rooms for family and corporate events to satisfy all your needs. They are equipped with the latest in technology, which will ensure that your meeting is a success. We have now available the new Cipreses Mercure Ballroom Theater, the only one of its kind in Quito, with a capacity for 320 people. At the Spicy Bistro restaurant, you will find a world that will surprise you with an exquisite national and international cuisine. And to enjoy a delicious cocktail or glass of wine, we offer the GlobeWalker & Winebar, with a wine list selected by an exclusive tasting that the MERCURE Hotel Alameda. holds every year. We also offer our informal hanging-out spaces such as the Alameda Q, where a good coffee or a delicious appetizer are always available. Of course, our Bakery serves you the best cakes and pastries, which are ideal for take-out. At ALAMEDA Hotel Mercure, you will always have the guarantee of good service and excellent quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Mercure Hotel Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Alameda Quito
Mercure Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing