We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate for a stay prior to the Galapagos” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Ranked #9 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Adequate for a stay prior to the Galapagos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

We recently stayed there for 2 nights prior to our trip to the Galapagos. We used Marriott points for our rooms, which were clean, but dated. There was an additional charge of $60 a day/per room to use the Executive Lounge, which included wireless internet and a computer you could use. Otherwise, the wireless fee was $15 per day. The Executive Lounge was only for 2 adults, and when we brought our two daughers in, they charged us additional fees.
There was a continental breakfast in the lounge, but then only drinks throughout the rest of the day. At check-in they told us there were going to be several food services throughout the day in the lounge, but when we got there, there was little food available, just drinks. The location is not the best in Quito, but if you are getting picked up by tour buses, it doesn't matter.
The Waffles and Crepes restaurant across the street is a good place for lunch (about $12 pp). The people who work in the hotel were very friendly. Taxis are very cheap in Quito, so the location is fine, unless you are planning on walking around on foot outside the hotel, then i'd stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShariNyc_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    440
    117
    24
    11
See reviews for
274
547
73
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

Fabulous room, bed, staff, food - everything surpassed expectations - just what was needed after 3 months travelling - made missing Xmas at home a lot easier. Used to stay in Marriott hotels in UK with work but this was another level altogher. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

Just fine, expect the same as any other Marriott worldwide, great location, just 2 min walk from the bar & pubs area (gringolandia) and 5 min taxi ride to city financial center.
Don´t pay more than $3 to a cab to anywhere in the city.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeerLocator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
127 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2010

We stayed here on our way to and from The Galapagos so had no choice in the matter.

It is just another big Marriott in a not so pretty city. Nothing special about it, you could have been anywhere in the world when inside.

When we stayed there before leaving for The Galapagos the service in the bar was soooo slow. Bar Manager was very nice but needed to focus.

On the way back the room was the same, a Marriott room, don't need to spell that out but OMG, room service was horrendous! Took one hour and 3 different wines to finally get what we wanted which obviously arrived after we had eaten our average dinner! They did comp. it to be fair but it was a pathetic state of affairs!

It was also a struggle to move around as a Kiddy Band was staying there and they were mobbed by screaming kids!

Breakfast was probably the best event of all!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank croakies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

Despite the cold pool in late October, the service (especially by doorman Raoul) and breaksfast included in Celebrity's pre- Galapagos package were Marriott level nice. But I agree with others we should have been credited our rewards points. We paid for that fine room in our pricey tour, after all!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rvig50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

Three day's in November 2010 before and after Galapagos adventure. Great hotel to stay in Quito but hit and miss in several areas such as overpriced breakfast buffett, sporatic housekeeping. The one problem is that the hotel did not honor Marriott reward points for our three day stay claiming Celebrity Cruises made the reservations, wonder who do they think paid for the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachwander4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

Nice hotel with the typical Marriott consistency and quality. We arrived quite late from a delayed connection in Atlanta and the hotel staff was very friendly and got us right in. The rooms were spacious but unremarkable. We had good light but the view was really pretty ugly outside - you arent in a particularly nice area of Quito.

We had breakfast in the Exec area and it was excellent. Fast friendly service and good food. We ate at the cafe one night and the food was fine but the service slow. We Americans can be impatient . . .

Overall a nice stay - nothing special but just fine.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#19 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#6 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Address: Av. Orellana 1172 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Quito
#4 Business Hotel in Quito
#4 Family Hotel in Quito
#5 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#11 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Quito, Ecuador in style when you stay in the JW Marriott Hotel Quito. Our luxury hotel is ideally located near the area's best dining, shopping, attractions and entertainment. Take advantage of our full service spa, decadent restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and gorgeous pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Quito
Marriott Hotel Quito
Marriott Quito
Quito Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing