We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in Quito - you get what you expect from a Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Ranked #10 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in Quito - you get what you expect from a Marriott”
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Nice hotel with the typical Marriott consistency and quality. We arrived quite late from a delayed connection in Atlanta and the hotel staff was very friendly and got us right in. The rooms were spacious but unremarkable. We had good light but the view was really pretty ugly outside - you arent in a particularly nice area of Quito.

We had breakfast in the Exec area and it was excellent. Fast friendly service and good food. We ate at the cafe one night and the food was fine but the service slow. We Americans can be impatient . . .

Overall a nice stay - nothing special but just fine.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    468
    120
    25
    11
See reviews for
296
578
74
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

The Hotel is very nice. The Lobby area is beatiful. Rooms are big and well furnished. Very nice Hotel

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LunaAtMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

I had a conference in Quito and Marriott was recommended. The hotel is clean and nice, especially considering its age of 10-20 years. I liked everything about it and would stay again. The only thing was is that the water pressure in the shower and sink was low. They seemed to have put in aerators to diminish the amount of water that flows out. I am all for conserving water but I missed the exhilarating feeling of strong water hitting my back. I might try another chain hotel before going back.

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank travelspud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We stayed at this Marriott as part of our Galapagos Cruise Package with Celebrity Cruises. Given that we extended our trip on our own, we also chose to stay with this hotel for a couple of additional nights.

The hotel has all the amenities that would be expected at a JW Marriott. A lovely pool, nice gym and spa facilities, various restaurant choices. We upgraded to the concierge lounge floor and we absolutely delighted with the extensive breakfast and outstanding service in the lounge.

The rooms were very nice and the beds were extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CampVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

I stayed here on a recent business trip at the recommendation of my contact in Quito, I was very pleased at his recommendation and the friendly service after such a long and uncomfortable flight was a welcome boost.

Having opted for an Executive Room it offered access to the Executive Lounge where you could have a wonderful breakfast as well as a quick evening snack and unlimited soft drinks and gave you an alternative option to the main bar, it was well worth the additional dollars.

My room was well equiped, clean and most comfortable but my favourite part was the wonderfully heated outdoor pool which was delightful for either an early morning or evening swim. Despite the chilly air temperatures at those times the pool was warm and welcoming.

Having visited a couple of other hotels in Quito for Seminars and business meetings I can say they weren't as good or as friendly and welcoming as the Marriot.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulT73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

I stayed at the JW Marriott in Quito following a cruise to the Galapagos Islands. While the boat was great, it was wonderful to get back on dry land and the Marriott was a perfect way to do it. The rooms were spacious and while the beds were a bit too soft for my liking, the facilities were more than fine. Breakfast was good and plentiful. The health facilites and the pool where really nice. The lobby bar is well stocked and although not cheap is also not more than I would have expected at this type of hotel. Internet service was $15 for 24 hours and $10 for 12 hours. Also OK. There is a night-life area not too far away although the hotel is not really in the center of town. It is a 15 minute taxi ride ($6-10) to the old town that also has a quaint area called La Ronda Street that is the place to go at night. Although I am not a gambler there is a casino not far from the hotel. Two other nearby attractions - both within walking distance - are the La Jardin Shopping Mall (Pricey) and the Quito Botanical Garden. As I was in a group most of my touring was organized but things not to miss are the entire old city (Cathedral, Palace, Central Square, churches) and statue of the Virgin overlooking the city.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PharmaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Excellent staff, very clean hotel. The lobby is mostly marble and clean enough to eat from... The staff is ALWAYS very professional and a pleasure to be around. Plenty of the staff speak English, but I enjoy practicing my (rough) Spanish with the doormen. They are all fun, professional and patient. The spa is fantastic (ask for Patrica), and the pool is out of this world. The climate is relatively cool, but the pool is heated and very comfortable. If you like sushi, you'll be surprised to find out how good the chef is in the hotel bar! I would be neglecting my duties not to mention Fabian, who works the main entrance as well as the parking garage. He speaks English very well and can be a fantastic guide for the nightlife in Quito. He knows many of the great bars that Americans like as well as the great hole-in-the-wall restaurants. One of the friendliest staff you'll find!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff_c130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 111 in Quito
669 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#20 of 111 in Quito
1,360 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#4 of 111 in Quito
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 111 in Quito
740 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Address: Av. Orellana 1172 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Quito
#4 Business Hotel in Quito
#4 Family Hotel in Quito
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#11 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Quito, Ecuador in style when you stay in the JW Marriott Hotel Quito. Our luxury hotel is ideally located near the area's best dining, shopping, attractions and entertainment. Take advantage of our full service spa, decadent restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and gorgeous pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Quito
Marriott Hotel Quito
Marriott Quito
Quito Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing