We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, no real Concierge service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Ranked #12 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed here for two nights before our trip to the Galapagos. It's a nice hotel. It's a little far from the old city and there's not a ton around the direct area, meaning you have to take taxis everywhere. This wouldn't be a problem, except the street right in front of the hotel gets very backed up.

Our main issue is the concierge service is very lacking. We asked for a map of Quito, and guess what -- they didn't have one! They told us to go to the business center, but the one person there looked surprised and said she didn't have maps. She directed us to the travel agency next door, and the woman there tried to sell us tours. But she didn't have any map of the city! It was a bit incredible -- a hotel full of tourists, but absolutely no map of Quito to be had.

The staff were very friendly and tried to give us a bunch of ideas of where to go. But they seemed utterly unprepared for basics like maps and restaurant reservations. (They told us we wouldn't need a reservation at a restaurant, for example, and when we showed up we found that wasn't the case.)

Still, this is a nice hotel and we enjoyed our stay. We just wish they were a little more "together."

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison R, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear guest, It has come to my attention that you have experienced problems during your stay with us. I am sorry that we have not met your needs in terms of information provided by the concierge.
Corrective actions have been taken to prevent this happen again.
I hope to serve you the way you deserve in the near future.
Thank you very much for your valuable information

sincerely

Edison Riofrío

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 1,673 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

Breakfast buffet over $25 for mediocre quality. $20 for a mixed drink and over $60 for a bottle of wine priced around $10 US. Beautiful accommodations but don't eat or drink anything at this hotel. Staff is very helpful, gym facilities nice.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Hula_monkey2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I can't believe that a JW Marriott has such a horrible breakfast buffet. I lifted each dish cover of the buffet to see what I preferred to eat, and I found the worst food quality that I remember of 20 years of business travel in Latin America. It's inexcusable. The bad quality that so obvious, míserly, and of such bad taste, that I decided never to stay at this hotel again.

No puedo creer que un hotel JW Marriott tenga un desayuno buffet tan horrible. Fui levantando las tapas de cada olla, para ver que prefería desayunar, y me encontré con la peor calidad en comida que recuerdo de todos los hoteles de 20 años de viajes de negocios por América Latina. Es imperdonable. La mala calidad era tan patente que me pareció mezquino, tacaño, y de muy mal gusto. No volveré jamás a ese hotel.

Stayed: March 2014
4  Thank Jordi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison_Riofrio, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado huésped, le agradecemos por sus comentarios, las medidas correctivas han sido tomadas. Me gustaría invitarle en su siguiente estadía para que deguste los productos gastronómicos que tenemos en nuestros bares y restaurantes. Será un gusto atenderle personalmente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Firstly, I have never been in a hotel before where the copper is so well polished, what a pleasure, it is like being on a well maintained old liner in that respect. Furthermore I would praise the friendliness of the staff, to mention especially Gabriel from the front office as well as Betty working in the breakfast restaurent. They both went out of their way.
the hotel is nice, great public areas, sumptuous breakfast buffet.
Rooms are big, great bathroom with seperate shower as well as big tub, and, not to be seen everywhere, a wc that can be closed of by a door. Convenient when you do not travel alone.
Roomservice was fast!
Finally, I attended a meeting in the "Library"conference room. Perfect ambiance, well controlled temperature!
So all in all a nice stay, living up to what one may expect from a JW marriott

Room Tip: high floor is always nice for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polarlys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I have stayed several times in this hotel and I have reviewed the rooms. This time I want to review just services:
FRONT DESK: WOW! The Front Desk would really do what ever it takes to make you feel appreciated and to be fully satisfied. I had some problems with connection to Wi-Fi. Not only Front Desk solved the problem but they also gave my extra-time voucher for an inconvenience is suffered.

LATIN BISTRO: My room does not include breakfast. I usually take just "continental breakfast" in Bistro ... but you have to watch out because they will try to charge you for full buffet breakfast.

CONCIERGE: when ever you need help and/or advise talk to concierge and he will solve your problem immediately.

Room Tip: I like rooms on 6th and 7th floor facing the inside court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NayiU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This attractive and well-kept hotel has larger-than-average well-appointed rooms with luxury bath and luxury linens on comfortable bed. The hotel is within walking distance to Mindalae - a nice handicraft museum and shop, Plaza Foch and an outdoor artisan market. We walked all the way to Central Bank Museum (now called the National Museum) one day and Olga Fisch fine handicrafts store/pre-Columbian museum another day. Fine dining restaurant Zazu is a 5-min taxi ride from hotel. Many other restaurants in the area. Variety of hotel dining choices also available. Prices in the hotel craft and jewelry shops are no higher than elsewhere; sometimes lower. Hotel staff is quite helpful with exception that concierges have very limited knowledgeable about dining, shopping and sightseeing. Our books were more reliable and informative.

Room Tip: Select a room in the front of the hotel to have a view of the city and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This hotel was was centrally located near to most tourist sites, restaurants and a mall. The hotel is priced well, clean and contains it's own little mall and a few restaurants. The cost of souvenirs is cheaper at the hotel shops than at the mall or airport. The quality of items is better as well. The staff is courteous and helpful. The only issue I had is that someone without a badge or uniform walked into my room when part of my group had left. He saw me and walked out. I reported it to the hotel staff and they claimed it was a member of their engineering staff. Regardless, I found this shady. Everything else at the hotel was great. The concierge lounge has a wait staff, and chef that will cook your breakfast/dinner entree for you when you get there. There is also a large variety of food items you can choose from. The juices are fresh squeezed. I recommend staying here, just lock your important things since you never know who may walk in!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farrah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 112 in Quito
706 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#21 of 112 in Quito
1,447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Quito
Swissotel Quito
#16 of 112 in Quito
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Quito
Sheraton Quito
#7 of 112 in Quito
1,164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#18 of 112 in Quito
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Address: Av. Orellana 1172 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Quito
#3 Family Hotel in Quito
#4 Business Hotel in Quito
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#11 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: $162 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Quito, Ecuador in style when you stay in the JW Marriott Hotel Quito. Our luxury hotel is ideally located near the area's best dining, shopping, attractions and entertainment. Take advantage of our full service spa, decadent restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and gorgeous pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Quito
Marriott Hotel Quito
Marriott Quito
Quito Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing