We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel. Very expensive.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Ranked #9 of 110 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good hotel. Very expensive.”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I've stayed here for 12 hours only, as I had to escape back to the States due to flight cancellation.

During my brief stay I quite enjoyed staying at Marriott. Being both GOLD with Marriott and platinum with IHG I couldn't work out from the reception team if I was upgraded or downgraded etc.... However, it is worth saying that I have arrived early and was promptly checked in without the need to wait until 15.00 which was excellent.

The quality of my daytime sleep was excellent.

The pool (dec 2013) was a little cold, but at these altitudes I wasn't surprised!

Hotel taxis might seem expensive, however, you can haggle and the hotel might be able to match yellow taxi prices, which was quite a pleasant surprise. The concierge team will help you to get the best value rate anyhow. Great guys.

The room was nice, but a little too old fashioned for me. The Internet was fast and reliable in all areas of the hotel.

Bathroom is very nice and includes a separate shower.

I'd recommend this hotel to any traveller, however, the rate could bite you just a little bit

TIP: no doubt you will head to the elevator to the hill /extinct volcano, however, I've been to high altitudes before (Hawaii), so please, allow yourself a day to relax and acclimatise to the normal city altitude ( 8000ft?) and then next day go to the hill (14.500ft?). Getting tipsy on/off the aircraft, checking in and jumping off to the 14,500ft mountain straight away is not exactly easy. Taxi to the elevator from hotel $5.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank German L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    471
    120
    25
    11
See reviews for
298
585
75
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are standard Marriott. Well appointed but slightly outdated. Important to note that when requesting an executive room with two beds, they are not on the executive floor. There was also a hole in the shower wall next to the faucet. Little details that would not be expected as the standard for a JW. However, we did have access to the executive lounge 4 floors up and enjoyed the breakfast there. The executive lounge staff was very friendly. We had some problems with transportation. The hotel arranged return transport to the airport for us and it was confirmed. However when we showed up at the designated time, we were told that there were no cars available, regardless of our "confirmed" reservation. We ended up having to negotiate with a yellow taxi and had one of the most harrowing drives we have ever experienced. Although the staff at the front desk was friendly and helpful, no one was very knowledgable about restaurants or activities that were open or not on New Years. We ended up having to find out information using the Internet and guidebooks. The best thing to do for guided activities is to use an outside agency.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chulmleigh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the Marriott before and after our Celebrity Cruise round the Galapagos Islands.
The hotel is well presented and spacious. Concierge and reception staff were courteous and efficient.
I have criticized the breakfast as it was a moderate quality buffet but when the party had to leave for the cruise early we were all waiting in the restaurant and no staff turned up for half an hour!
I would not regard Quito as either charming or safe. We were advised only to go out by taxi and although I did go for a wander and experienced no problems I would not recommend this. There are however a couple of beautiful shopping malls within a few minutes drive which are clean, safe and worth a visit but prices are high.
We ate as a cruise party once in the main restaurant and had a fixed meal which was average.
However the bar/restaurant is superb and I strongly recommend the sushi and chicken wings.
You cannot purchase alcohol in the public areas on Sundays! Room minibar or nothing!
Finally Quito decided to build a new airport in the middle of nowhere. Until new roads into Quito are completed the drive is an absolute nightmare. Allow at least 11/2 to 2 hours to get there!
Personally the only reason for going to Quito is en route to the Galapagos. As yet there is no airport hotel which would save the miserable drive and stay in Quito.

Room Tip: As we were staying on for 3 further days after the cruise we upgraded to a suite for very little. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights after a Cotopaxi hike and while the in-room giant tub was great for sore legs, I was expecting far more for the amount paid. Room was clean as is all Marriott rooms. But......
- No microwave in the room was a huge disappointment. We had a lot of frozen stuff that we couldn't use thanks to lack of a microwave. Even regular Courtyards have this facility.
- No free wifi in-room and free wifi available in lobby only for 4hr a day.
- No complimentary breakfast. While there was a huge paid buffet spread available, it also costed 20$ per person.
- The front desk staff also gave us some misleading information to get us to avail of the Marriott hourly vehicle while heading to Pinchincha teleferico. We didn't appreciate this.
- And, worst of all, there was no free water available to fill one's water bottles!

The hotel gives you a taxi for $50 to the airport but it only costs $22$ in a regular yellow cab. It is a great room in a great location but a little too snooty.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SKLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here in total before and after a celebrity cruise to the Galapagos. The hotel was very impressive although our first room was a bit tired with noisy AC. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. What let them down on our last night was the awful meal that was served to the Celebrity guests. Not one of our table enjoyed it at all and we left with a poor opinion of the hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TomandaliUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This Marriott was beautiful this Christmas. Stayed here a couple of nights before and after a trip to the Galapagos and the service and comfort was outstanding. The staff is very helpful and there is always someone there who can speak English. The hotel is very clean and rooms are large. Ate at both restaurants - Bistro Latino and the Argentinian steakhouse and enjoyed excellent meals. The steakhouse had a romantic atmosphere and the food was extremely tasty! Got some lovely, tasteful, and reasonably priced souvenirs at the stores in the hotel. Lovely sterling jewelry and handmade ornaments and nativity scenes. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to everyone. The only drawback is that it's located an hour's drive from the Quito airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

After a long flight from the US it was wonderful to check in to a familiar place. Stayed 3 nights total on the executive level. The executive lounge was really nice and convenient. Excellent staff and excellent service. Look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Any room will be a nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRWAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#1 of 110 in Quito
675 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#19 of 110 in Quito
1,377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 110 in Quito
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 110 in Quito
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Quito
Sheraton Quito
#4 of 110 in Quito
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Address: Av. Orellana 1172 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Quito
#4 Family Hotel in Quito
#4 Business Hotel in Quito
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#11 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Quito, Ecuador in style when you stay in the JW Marriott Hotel Quito. Our luxury hotel is ideally located near the area's best dining, shopping, attractions and entertainment. Take advantage of our full service spa, decadent restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and gorgeous pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Quito
Marriott Hotel Quito
Marriott Quito
Quito Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing