We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to start or end a trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Ranked #9 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Monrovia, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place to start or end a trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This Marriott is a great choice for a Quito hotel- not too far from the airport, and in a nice neighborhood. Get a room on the executive level and you'll be happy- free internet, snacks, and a very nice breakfast. The decor is a little old-school, but in a fancy and refined way. The staff could not have been friendlier, from arranging a last-minute car service to upgrading our room. The room service, while expensive, was very tasty. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: Go for the executive floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllAboutAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    440
    117
    24
    11
See reviews for
274
547
73
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hotel is what you should expect from a J.W Marriott. good service, excellent quality, courtesy of staff, good location etc. The only objection is that it doesn't provide free internet access. You have to pay 10 or 14 dollars to get either 12 or 24 hour internet access period. You expect to have this service included when you are paying about $200 dollars per room per night, My friends stayed at more economical hotels and they do provide free internet access. Other than that excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the inner court. they tend to be noisy. Rooms at the end of the corridors have r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank so-many-alias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Amazing, amazing hotel. Many thanks to the concierge for answering all our questions patiently and giving us a lot of suggestions on places to sightsee and eat. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The server at the executive lounge was the highlight of my stay! He always pulled out a chair for me and quickly grabbed some coffee and juice as I sat down. He also gave us a recommendation on where to try cuy, a local Ecuadorian delicacy. That's roasted guinea pig, by the way.
This hotel definitely made my stay in Quito very enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soymilkcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here 4 nights before & after Galapagos cruise with access to executive lounge. The hotel and rooms are well designed and maintained ... a beautiful setting in the meyham of Quito. Rooms are spacious and great comforts. The executive lounge, front desk and bell staff are all eager to help. The only complaints are stinginess with the wine or beer allowance during the cocktail hour in the executive lounge, and the wait staff at our Celebrity Cruise group dinner was terrible, real amateurs acting like keystone cops ... and the food at that group meal was mediocre to terrible. Food in the cafe and executive lounge was very good. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holy_Innocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Frequently stay at this hotel when visiting Quito, and have never had a bad room or bad experience. Sophisticated style, reasonable price, rooms are very spacious, safe neighborhood. Prefer this modern style to the authentic local hotels with more storied heritage - this is the "typical upscale US experience", which is perfect if that is what you are aiming for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidJ99989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

The trip from the airport is quite awkward through busy ,overcrowded roads. Hotel is large and modern with nice rooms. We stayed there going to and from the Galapagos. On both occassions the rooms were on floors 4 and 6 . They appeared identical in every way.The staff were very helpful if a bit slow to get things done. On our first visit I complained about lack of bulb in bedside light and inability to close curtains fully. Neither problem resolved before we left.The food in 'the Exchange' restaurant was cold on arrival and a private dining meal had only one starter left and again not at correct temperature. We had an organised trip around the city and were surprised to discover a security guard with each group. Most of the better stores had armed guards at entrance. We arrived home to find that our luggage although still padlocked had been looted. No photos to share as they disappeared from luggage.

Room Tip: Above the pool has better outlook and the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I came to Quito on business and the staff at the JW Marriott in Quito is extremely friendly. They will go out of their way to help you. The only issue I had was attempting a collect call to Canada, I've learned, don't bother, but, that has nothing to do with the hotel.

The staff were happy to tell me where it was safe to go at any hour, and were more than happy to provide directions.

Most of the staff speak some degree of English, if there's communication problems, they will go find someone more able to communicate for you immediately.

The lobby and the stores are extremely clean, and the jewelry store actually has decent prices in it, which surprised me.

We decided to take a cab to Old Town, and the concierge found us a cab driver who spoke english as well, and that was also very reasonably priced at $15/hour.

I quite liked the fact that all of the water bottles are free, and housekeeping will leave as many as you like, i think I have 12 in my room as i write this.

The business center does charge for use of the internet over 15 minutes, but will not charge you to print up your itinerary, flight information, or anything related to travel.

The hotel is actually reasonably priced, I got an executive suite for $250/night, with access to the executive lounge, free internet, and an allowance of 2 pressed items.

I saw a couple of reviews mentioned that it was noisy, but i haven't noticed that at all. my room is facing the street, and while you can hear the traffic a bit, it's not bad at all. There's some sort of celebration starting next week, and people are gearing up for it, but i can't hear anything unless i'm standing next to the window.

I will be staying here on my next trip to Ecuador!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors facing the street have a great view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#19 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#6 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Address: Av. Orellana 1172 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Quito
#4 Family Hotel in Quito
#4 Business Hotel in Quito
#5 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#11 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Quito, Ecuador in style when you stay in the JW Marriott Hotel Quito. Our luxury hotel is ideally located near the area's best dining, shopping, attractions and entertainment. Take advantage of our full service spa, decadent restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and gorgeous pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Quito
Marriott Hotel Quito
Marriott Quito
Quito Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing