We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Ranked #10 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I came to Quito on business and the staff at the JW Marriott in Quito is extremely friendly. They will go out of their way to help you. The only issue I had was attempting a collect call to Canada, I've learned, don't bother, but, that has nothing to do with the hotel.

The staff were happy to tell me where it was safe to go at any hour, and were more than happy to provide directions.

Most of the staff speak some degree of English, if there's communication problems, they will go find someone more able to communicate for you immediately.

The lobby and the stores are extremely clean, and the jewelry store actually has decent prices in it, which surprised me.

We decided to take a cab to Old Town, and the concierge found us a cab driver who spoke english as well, and that was also very reasonably priced at $15/hour.

I quite liked the fact that all of the water bottles are free, and housekeeping will leave as many as you like, i think I have 12 in my room as i write this.

The business center does charge for use of the internet over 15 minutes, but will not charge you to print up your itinerary, flight information, or anything related to travel.

The hotel is actually reasonably priced, I got an executive suite for $250/night, with access to the executive lounge, free internet, and an allowance of 2 pressed items.

I saw a couple of reviews mentioned that it was noisy, but i haven't noticed that at all. my room is facing the street, and while you can hear the traffic a bit, it's not bad at all. There's some sort of celebration starting next week, and people are gearing up for it, but i can't hear anything unless i'm standing next to the window.

I will be staying here on my next trip to Ecuador!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors facing the street have a great view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    451
    118
    24
    11
See reviews for
284
566
74
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was part of a pre/post Galapagos Cruise with Celebrity. It's a beautiful Hotel. the lobby is beautiful, and the rose arrangements are breathtaking. The shops are cute - lots of choices for dinner and the food was good. Room service was speedy. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and quickly addressed every request we made.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank love2seeNewPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronado
Level Contributor
173 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The choices on Tripadvisor's rankings are average or very good--this hotel was good enough, at least for a 4 star. It is large and imposing, like an Inca monument, but glass and concrete. The glass is not a good idea for two reasons: the climate is hot and humid so that the lobby is oppressive, and the glass gets dirty but there is nobody, seemingly, to clean it. The rooms and bathroom are large. We stayed for 2 nights before, and 1 night after a Galapagos cruise on the Celebrity Xpedition. The first two nights our room was next to the maid's closet and the elevator, therefore noisy. We asked to be in a room away from these for the return night, and our request was honored; our room was on the 4th floor away from the elevator, maid's closet, and ice maker. It was good to be on the 4th floor because there IS an icemaker on that floor. On the 3rd floor, where we stayed before, there was no icemaker and no access to the 4th floor, and we had to send for ice from room service. Mysteriously, there was only one robe in the room on each of the occasions we stayed.
The hotel staff and Celebrity staff were very good. The breakfast buffet has many choices, and the last-night Celebrity dinner for we cruisers was very good. The live music at that dinner--a keyboard, violin, and bass--was a wonderful touch. The beds, particularly in the 4th floor room, were mushy and uncomfortable. I don't know what the cost of the rooms were since they were included in our package. Friends of ours said that they were quoted over $600 a night for a room--a price which represents highway robbery. At somewhere around or under $200 a night this hotel would be OK for value.

Getting to and from Quito was not nice. The arrivals area of the airport was confusing and dirty. We had to fill out the usual customs forms prior to arrival. What we did not know is that we also had to fill out more forms on the way out of the airport, just prior to yet another X-ray machine. What happened: everyone went to the X-ray machine but did not notice the table of forms just before the machine. Everyone then had to go back and fill out the forms. Remember how we are always told to hydrate before flying? Well, we have to give up our water, and in the Quito departure area early in the morning there was NO source of water--no water fountains, no water for sale, nothing. Be warned, also: there was no toilet paper in at least one ladies' room at the airport, and none at about half the ladies' rooms we stopped at while touring in Quito. So, ladies, bring tissue with you if you visit Quito.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor away from the ice maker, maid's closet, and elevator--that is, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoronadoCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here on our way to the Galapagos. Overall, the hotel had a very nice, modern, and clean feel to it. The rooms were nice, and the bathrooms were especially nice.and spacious. The free water bottles in the bathrooms and the coffeemaker were nice touches. The people at the front desk were professional and courteous. The bellmen were eager to help with the luggage, and very attentive. They waited with your luggage until you checked in, then brought it up with you right away which I appreciated.


We upgraded to the concierge floor to get the snacks and breakfast, as well as the dessert hour which was at 8:00pm. We were disappointed by the desserts, there really wasn't much. When my kids aren't interested in trying anything (there were only a few things they put out) then you know it's not good. At least we got Wi-Fi with the upgrade. Breakfast the next morning was very good though, so that kind of made up for it.

Cons? I would say not much, other than a surly young lady who was the hostess at the overpriced Hacienda restaurant. When I asked to see the menu, she wordlessly shoved it at me without smiling. I looked at it, then said I would check back after looking at the mexican restaurant at the hotel. She didn't respond, and when she saw we weren't sure how to find the mexican restaurant she didn't offer to help us find it. What we found out later was that it was ATTACHED to the Hacienda restaurant, and all we had to do was walk through it to get to the other restaurant. What a witch!

However, while we were looking for the Mexican restaurant we stumbled into the sushi bar. A very nice host there saw that we looked lost and nicely offered to walk us to the mexican restaurant. Imagine our surprise when we saw Ms. Surly and Unhelpful Hostess standing there, she had walked to the other side and appeared to be the hostess of both restaurants. And she did not apologize to us for not informing us the restaurants were connected.

The only other con is my PET PEEVE! Why charge for Wi-Fi? Is it bad enough to charge $3 for a $.25 candy bar? You could get it for "free" if you paid the $50 upgrade to the concierge floor. Grrrrr.....

Overall, the rooms were very nice and clean, and the employees were all very eager to help (with the exception of that hostess). I would recommend this hotel if you have to stay in Quito.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingfivefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The room was spacious and nicely appointed. The staff were very helpful and courteous. I highly recommend the Executive Suite. It's a very comfortable place to unwind and the complementary e mail is a nice plus. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBarry346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The JW Marriott was a typical hotel of this type with all the expected amenities.  Multiple restaurants, gym, pool, business center, large atrium lobby and lounges.  Hotel is located at the Nothern edge of the Mariscal neighborhood, which is great for strolling and night life.  Service staff is very friendly, but not very attentive and one experience of poor behavior.  Having a late lunch in a nearly empty dinning room, servers were busy chatting at the back and not service oriented ( had to flag them down for salt and pepper, missing side from the plate, and to obtain the check), never checked on us once. I had presented the concierge with a small notebook opened to a page with the name and number of the restaurant that I was asking him to confirm.  While on hold with the restaurant he decided to rifle through the pages and read what else what was written, extremely rude!  Their private taxi to the airport was a nice option.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tryingfor100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Quito is a very interesting city with lots around. The equator is about 45 minutes away and well worth the trip to the equator museum. The old town of Quito is beautiful! This hotel is close to the business district and not far from the old town. It's a first class hotel with amazing floral arrangements throughout, not discounting the huge and fantastic roses by the front desk and special rose in your room each night. Several restaurants offer lots of choices and the couple we went in served great food! The ambiance in the lobby makes you want to spend all your days there, except the rooms are large and relaxing too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethofFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#4 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Address: Av. Orellana 1172 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Quito
#4 Business Hotel in Quito
#4 Family Hotel in Quito
#5 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#11 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Quito, Ecuador in style when you stay in the JW Marriott Hotel Quito. Our luxury hotel is ideally located near the area's best dining, shopping, attractions and entertainment. Take advantage of our full service spa, decadent restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and gorgeous pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Quito
Marriott Hotel Quito
Marriott Quito
Quito Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing