We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy Quito” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Ranked #9 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Classy Quito”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We spent two days at the JW Marriott Hotel Quito. We arrived late at night and were greeted warmly and checked in efficiently. We were lucky to have access to the Executive lounge and enjoyed the snacks and drinks as well as the views of Quito. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Hotel rooms and grounds were wi-fi equipped with strong signal strength. The grounds were also quite lovely, but outside and inside.

The concierge desk was very helpful in arranging tours and transportation as needed. It was a good place to start off our trip to Ecuador.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 30_by_thirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    440
    117
    24
    11
See reviews for
274
547
73
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed at the hotel several times over the period between mid June and mid July as part of our summer holiday to Ecuador. Having stayed at Marriott's around the world I can say that this is a truly excellent hotel from it's location to the helpfulness of the staff.

At then end of our originally planned stay I became ill and was hospitalised, and my wife needed to stay in the hotel for 5 extra days. We cannot thank the hotel staff enough for their help and support during that period it was exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melvyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germanico B, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest:
I am delighted to hear, that you have experimented such a nice staying, we are committed to satisfy our guest expectations. Hospitality means care and genuine quality for us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us.
I hope we would have the opportunity to serve you in a near future!

Best Regards,

Germánico Benalcázar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
125 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights and used it as a base for exploring not just Quito but the surrounding areas. Nice size room, paid a bit more to stay on club level which was worth it when traveling with a 7 year old. Service was good and they had a nice pool which was great after a long day sight seeing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattycakes15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germanico B, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest:
I am delighted to hear, that you have experimented such a nice staying, we are committed to satisfy our guest expectations. Hospitality means care and genuine quality for us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us.
I hope we would have the opportunity to serve you in a near future!

Best Regards,

Germánico Benalcázar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is by far the best hotel around Quito! Eloquent and luxurious in appearance and matches the Marriott style through-out. If you like roses this hotel has many of them laden throughout. Definitely worth a try if you can find a reasonable rate. Centrally located near a lot of bars / local disco's. The hotel did have some minor service issues (slow to respond to special requests, and intermittent daily paper delivery) which was a bit iritating for a five star hotel but not enough to keep me away! A thumbs up for me....:o)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmarutiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germanico B, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us, our goal is to leave our guest, nothing less than satisfied, we truly appreciate your comments, they compromise us, to keep on going the same way, and maintain our standards in the high level that you deserve.About your comments I will talk to the Director encharge to make the proper feedback!!

Serving it's a privilege!

Regards

Germánico Benalcázar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Comfortable rooms and walking distance to many restaurants and a shopping center. Nice break after touring the historic area. However, the service (in terms of giving accurate information or following up on requests) was poor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kamoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germanico B, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us, our goal is to leave our guest, nothing less than satisfied, we truly appreciate your comments, they compromise us, to keep on going the same way, and maintain our standards in the high level that you deserve.About your comments I will make the Feedback in all the areas involved!

Serving it's a privilege!

Regards

Germánico Benalcázar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinzhou, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed in JW Marriott hotel 5 nights (27th June to 1st of July). It is a 5 star hotel with excellent lobby, and rose everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jiacheng N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for one night in transit to the Galapagos. It was okay......I was suprised it had the JW brand. Its a huge property - I didn't feel the "luxury" associated with this normal hotel brand.

There is a workout room and a spa. They are pretty nice...and older. The wet sauna room was really not in top condition and smelled moldy. I mentioned it to the attendant who was very apologetic.

Service was nice and the people friendly. The room was large.

My son ordered a hamburger from room service and it was really over cooked. They were nice enough to take it off the bill and explained that because of the meat...hotel policy is to cook hamburger this way.

It's fine really.....just not the usual JW standard.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmmlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germanico B, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest:
We are truly glad to hear these lovely comments, thank you so much for writing to us, we work hard and effectively, to keep our standards in the high quality level that you deserve.
About your comments I will talk to the Director encharged to fix things up!

We hope, we would have the pleasure to serve you again soon!

Best Regards

Germánico Benalcázar
JW Marriott Quito-Ecuador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#19 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#6 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Address: Av. Orellana 1172 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Quito
#4 Family Hotel in Quito
#4 Business Hotel in Quito
#5 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#11 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Quito, Ecuador in style when you stay in the JW Marriott Hotel Quito. Our luxury hotel is ideally located near the area's best dining, shopping, attractions and entertainment. Take advantage of our full service spa, decadent restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and gorgeous pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Quito
Marriott Hotel Quito
Marriott Quito
Quito Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing