We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“safe choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Ranked #10 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“safe choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2008

We stayed in Quito for three nights pre and post a Galapagos cruise and wanted somewhere that was central, close to the airport, comfortable and with a nice swimming pool. The JW Marriott fitted the bill. It is the most modern of the international chain hotels in Quito. The rooms are big, well kitted out and comfortable, with vast marble bathrooms including separate shower and toilet cubicle, and a vast bath. The shower had a variable power head . A tea and coffee maker was also provided.

The outdoor swimming pool was wonderful and kept at a constant 90 degrees - the steam could be seen rising off it, and was open from 6am until 11 pm. Perfect for relaxation after a day touring. A good spa too.

There was a choice of restaurants, but the public areas were rather soulful and the coffee shop only adequate for snack type meals with little variety. However, the breakfast buffet was superb.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank Apuleius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    446
    118
    24
    11
See reviews for
280
556
73
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2007

This was my second stay at the J.W. Marriott Hotel in Quito. The hotel lobby is beautiful, and the rooms are large and tastefully decorated.

We booked our sightseeing for Quito and the Equator Monument through the Business Center in the hotel. I had done this before, and they are very helpful and efficient. Everyone speaks fluent English, with the possible exception of a couple of waiters in the dining room on the bottom floor. But what they lack in linguistic skills, they more than make up for with big smiles and eager service. The food is a little bit expensive (as in most chain hotels), but much cheaper than a hotel of it's equal in New York City.

The staff there can recommend good places to eat, make sure your taxi driver is approved to ferry their hotel guests around; AND that the drivers know exactly how to get to your destination. If not, they wave them away.

This was my second stay here, and I will definitely stay there again when I return to Quito. I highly recommend it for anyone willing to pay the price for top-notch accommodations, amenities and service.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank RoundtheWorldGirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2007

Very Nice Hotel. Rooms very well appointed although beds on the soft side.

Low point is food service. Food at the cafeteria is bad and very slow if ordered from the menu. Staff unattentive and only received adequate attention after complaints. Lack of good management in the facilities is evident.

On the other hand staff in reception and concierge are exceptionally nice. So is the hotel transportation system which is also very reasonably priced.

Recommend but hotel management needs to pay more attention to bring it to real top level.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank iqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2007

We chose The JW Marriott for a 3-day wind down before setting off for home after a wonderful and somewhat hectic week in the Galapagos.
We booked a suite and as you would expect the space, refinement and decor were all first class and just what was needed to wind down.
Reception staff and the staff in the executive floor business lounge were attentive and efficient - so what didn't come up to scratch then?
The Restaurants and Bars sadly, as the Marriott is a bit of a way from the main new town area where there are numerous restaurants etc., you would like to be able to eat in the hotel.
Unfortunately for both nights over the weekend the main restaurant The Hacienda was closed so we had to eat in the Latino Bistro, which was frankly fairly dreadful. It only serves relatively simple fare and they weren't busy but still managed to leave my burger and chips on the counter for 10 minutes so it was cold when they finally delivered it, and when i complained they must have stuck it in a microwave for a couple of minutes as the bun was then hard and the chips soggy - how difficault is a burger. our travelling companions fared little better so I suggest you make the effort and cab it to one of the better restaurants in town.
....and the bar, well it is vast and when we entered, our party of four and 2 old gentlemen were the only people in the bar which had 4 bar staff; they did serve us reasonably promptly but having dropped a bar food menu on the table no-one returned to ask if we actually wanted anything, and the music was awful and incredibly loud, so after a quick drink we left.
Disappointing in a hotel of this standard.

  • Liked — The Room
  • Disliked — The Restaurants
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Grifo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2007

After all the great reviews, we were really looking forward to staying here. The highlights for us were: a comfortable bed, quiet rooms, divine massages, all the amenities one would need, deep bathtub, and the typical sterility of this American hotel chain that makes the place predictable.

Downside? You couldn't tell that you were in a different country from any Mariott anywhere in the world apart from the staff greeting you in Spanish, AND THAT is sad. When we travel we want to experience the "vibe" of a different culture. So, like anywhere else, with this Marriott you get the typical overpriced meals and services. This is made more painful by the fact that Quito delivers more for much less!

We stayed here for 6 nights, can you believe that for 3 nights our room was full of exhaust fumes?! C'mon! And management suggested opening a window but the windows couldn't open. Eventually engineering fixed it only for the problem to recur the next night and the night after that.

  • Liked — Massages, bed, cleanliness, bathtub
  • Disliked — sterility, no character, exhaust fumes in our room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FlySafeHaveFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2007

The staff at the hotel are great, and if you can get a good rate with breakfast (wonderful, expansive) included, it is well worth it. The breakfast buffet will keep you going through mid-afternoon. As to the rooms: The bathrooms are large and quite nicely appointed, but the room itself (other than the great bed) is quite bland—very corporate and boring Americana; dark green and rose tones. I felt like I was on a golf course. And why the plastic wastebaskets in the otherwise lovely marble and tiled bathroom? So, to sum up, if you get a good deal and want a dose of America (which may just what you need whilst in Ecuador), go for it. Otherwise, there are more interesting options available.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank marty1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2007

We spent nearly a week at this Marriott. It's an absolutely standard upscale business hotel in the city - a Rotary Club convention was there while we were. If you want a place transportable to any major urban center in the world, this is it. All the amenities, including exorbitant prices ($20 breakfasts, the usual rip-off mini-bar, and steep internet charges) with the feel of a reliable, stock franchise. Nice pool, great health club and massages, pleasant staff, lots of "suits" walking around being very important, and flush tourists feeling secure and chatting away in English - very predictable with little imagination required.

Our room was #630. Avoid it. The windows don't open. For two nights the air handling pumped fumes (the ubiquitous Quito diesel exhaust) from the parking garage into the room; it was disgusting. Eventually the engineers figured out the problem, but not until after two nights of nausea and burning eyes in a sealed box. We like fresh air, and this room didn't provide it - yuk. Thus we only give a *** experience to a hotel with potentially ***** facilities.

The location is good - plenty to do and lots of services within a short cab ride or an easy walk for those willing to venture out afoot. We had no problems, though the staff expressed concern about street crime and warned us away from a couple of routes. The hotel's car service charged all of $2 to take us to the wonderful Santa Clara market; it was only $3 to get back.

We'd spent 5 days previously at the Hotel Quito before doing a conference at the Marriott. While the Hotel Quito is feeling its 1960's vintage and needs some refurbishment, it had character rather than cookie-cutter predictability aimed to please international business travelers. We liked it, and the experience.

The views from our sixth floor corner room at HQ were great. (We'd avoid the low-rise rooms - more like a motel.) You feel more part of city life and less like a visitor hiding away in a stock business hotel. The hilltop location gives a spectacular view of both city and countryside as clouds roll around the Andes; the staff is equally pleasant and helpful; and there's a bit of unpredictability. Even if you don't stay there, visit the 7th floor restaurant for the vistas.

The comparable breakfast buffet at HQ was $5.50. As another reviewer pointed out, it's noisier than the Marriott with neighborhood car alarms, street life, and the sound of jets passing over during peak hours. You don't get a rose at night (not a big stretch since roses cost $1.50 for 50 in Quito!), and the Marriott wins for sound-proofing. It is quiet. But we had a little balcony at HQ, and walls of windows.

Overall, the Marriott's kitchen is better; but you pay for the difference - modest meals for two consistently ran $30-40. They could have been much, much more had we "dined" instead of merely eaten. But walk two blocks and the locals' "executive lunch" is $2.50, a big shawarma platter $4, and a superb steak $9. Food bargains abound.

So base at the Marriott if you have money to spend and want a guaranteed experience with few surprises; it will be about like Dallas or Atlanta, only at a breath-defying 10,000 feet. Try someplace else - like Hotel Quito or one of the other smaller venues - if you want to experience a little more of the charm of Ecuador and a little less of an easy mega-chain.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank anemonefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Address: Av. Orellana 1172 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Quito
#4 Family Hotel in Quito
#4 Business Hotel in Quito
#5 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#11 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Quito, Ecuador in style when you stay in the JW Marriott Hotel Quito. Our luxury hotel is ideally located near the area's best dining, shopping, attractions and entertainment. Take advantage of our full service spa, decadent restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and gorgeous pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Quito
Marriott Hotel Quito
Marriott Quito
Quito Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing