We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Ranked #9 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I stayed 2 nights here in April before a Galapagos trip. The room was large, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom had a huge spa bath. I ordered room service for dinner after a very long day trip and it was delivered promptly and piping hot. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ging466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    440
    117
    24
    11
See reviews for
274
547
73
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

They say, the Marriott is among the best. And that is true. While a number of boutique and very stylish hotels have opened more recently, mainly in the old town (UNESCO heritage), the Marriott is an excellent business hotel.

What I liked: a very large and well equipped Spa&Gym area. Spacioys pool are. The possibility to have breakfast near the pool. Large rooms, excellent and large TV screen with a large selection of channels. Nice attention by housekeeping (one evening bed was decorated with a nice rose; and that I like more than some chocolate on the pillow.
Very good, though not top notch breakfast buffet, including an "Asian corner".
Friendly service.

What I liked less: My room had no bathtub (only shower), windows do not open.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the lobby area. While the windows (they do not open) are very well sound proofed, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

One of the best stays I have ever had in South America. Best hotel, Best Service. Enjoyed 3 nights there and amazing Argentinian Steakhouse!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhmtkcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germanico B, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Guest :
Thank you so much for you feed back. As A J W Marriott hotel we work hard to keep our standards in a high level of quality that you deserve, we are focus on the service which has to be genuine. We care about our guest! We are truly committed to leave our guest completely satisfied in every single aspect.

We hope we have the opportunity to serve you in a near future!

Warm Regards,

Germánico Benalcázar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

My husband and I travel to Ecuador frequently and have stayed in many different hotels in Quito. That said, I will only stay in the J. W. My husband is originally from Ecuador and most of his family resides in Quito. The majority of the time we are there, we will either stay with his family or travel to other destinations within the country, staying at various hotels, etc. However, the night we arrive in Quito and the night before we depart for home (USA) we always stay at the JW.....it is comfortable, the staff is accommodating and we feel as if we have a "touch of home". I would like to add that we have also travelled extensively throughout Europe, always staying at a hotel within the Marriott Family and the JW in Quito is one of the nicest. Congratulations and keep up the good work! Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masstraveler2998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germanico B, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Guest :
Thank you so much for you feed back. As A J W Marriott hotel we work hard to keep our standards in a high level of quality that you deserve, we are focus on the service which has to be genuine. We care about our guest! We are truly committed to leave our guest completely satisfied in every single aspect.

We hope we have the opportunity to serve you in a near future!

Regards,
Germánico Benalcázar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stopped by the Mariott Mexican Restaurant for our Mexican 'fix' as it was highly acclaimed. It was a major disappointment. The service was so slow and poor, that we filed a written complaint. There should have been no reason as there were only our table of four, and a table with one individual in the entire place. The food was warm, not hot, and really nothing special - especially for the price. The hotel is lovely , but the restaurant experience was certainly below par.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germanico B, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us, we truly appreciate your comments
I will talk to the Director encharge, to give him the feedback, so we can make things better.
We look forward to serving you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Germánico Benalcázar
Manager on Duty and Quality
J W Marriott Quito-Ecuador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Have been there for weekend and used the option to have a massage and relaxing day. Good place in the centre of the city.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sven v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germanico B, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us, our goal is to leave our guest, nothing less than satisfied, we truly appreciate your comments, they compromise us, to keep on going the same way, and maintain our standards in the high level that you deserve.

Serving it's a privilege!

Germánico Benalcázar
Manager on Duty and Quality
JW Marriott Quito-Ecuador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Quito Marriott for 4 nights. It really had everything we wanted and needed, and were very happy with the experience. The hotel features a well-equipped 24-hour gym and health club, including a hot tub, showers, sauna, and steam room. There are about 4 on-site restaurants, all high quality in both food and service. We especially enjoyed the Mexican one, Don Porfirio, and the Argentine steak restaurant, La Hacienda.

We elected to upgrade to include the executive lounge in our stay, which included breakfast for two, wi-fi in the room, a room on the 9th floor, beverages and light snacks any time between 6a-11p, and hors d'ouvres/desserts every evening. This cost an additional $50 per day, which we believe paid for itself in the breakfasts and wi-fi easily. Though we were not there for business purposes and were not the most important or affluent guests at the hotel, the level of service we received from everyone in the hotel was impecable.

We also used the heated outdoor pool and the spa services. We had massages one evening, which we really enjoyed. The facilities are well maintained, and the staff goes above and beyond to help you in whatever way they can. Our trip was a good balance of sight-seeing and relaxing. I feel the prices of the rooms and restaurants were very reasonable and the value was excellent. I would highly recommend the Quito Marriott to someone traveling for the same purpose.

Also, my boyfriend wants to buy the pillows and mattress topper from shopmarriot.com as he absolutely loved the bed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chama6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germanico B, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Guest:
We are truly glad to hear these lovely comments, thank you so much for writing to us, we work hard and effectively, to keep our standards in the high quality level that you deserve.

We hope, we would have the pleasure to serve you in a near future!

Best Regards

Germánico Benalcázar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#19 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#6 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Address: Av. Orellana 1172 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Quito
#4 Family Hotel in Quito
#4 Business Hotel in Quito
#5 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#11 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Quito, Ecuador in style when you stay in the JW Marriott Hotel Quito. Our luxury hotel is ideally located near the area's best dining, shopping, attractions and entertainment. Take advantage of our full service spa, decadent restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and gorgeous pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Quito
Marriott Hotel Quito
Marriott Quito
Quito Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing