We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Ranked #10 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic!”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

From the moment I arrived to the moment I left I felt relaxed and pampered. The concierge helped me with a taxi ride to the Equator monument and the driver ended up taking me on a mini-tour of the city! The restaurants, the ambience, the room, the service, all first rate and not over the top. Highly recommended and I will stay here anytime I return to Quito!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewM2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    468
    120
    25
    11
See reviews for
296
578
74
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel and a great place to stay when in Quito. It is not really walking distance to a lot of things, but cabs are super cheap so I don't think the location is a problem. Our room was great and the staff is very friendly. The one problem I had was they essentially gouge you when you need anything. If you walk outside the hotel and flag a cab, it is about $2. If the hotel calls you one, it is $15. I know you pay more for convenience but that is crazy. We wanted to rent a cab for a day to drive us to a number of places, and our guide book said it would be around $50 at the most. They charged us $150. They also charge a lot for things like phone calls.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Family of 5 we stayed here for 4 days prior to a trip to the Galapagos Islands. The hotel and grounds are well maintained. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. There is a very good breakfast buffet that you can purchase as part of a room package and I would recommend that.

What sets this hotel part is the staff. Throughout my stay the staff was gracious and accommodating and went out of their way to make sure we were happy. One example, we had booked a city tour on the wrong date. The hotel was unable to arrange a substitute tour for us on short notice.However, one of their managers drove us around the city in his SUV for an afternoon so we were able to see old town, the winged virgin, and several other sites. So we did not lose any of our travel experience.

There are restaurants around the Hotel within walking distance-but it is generally advised to take a taxi even for short distances. The hotel restaurants are of good quality as well.

There is an ATM and a small but expensive shopping arcade directly attached to the hotel.

The spa services were good and reasonably priced.

The pool and exercise facilities were well-maintained and staffed.

For part of our stay there was a large youth religious group at the hotel. Except for the fact that this slowed the elevators down somewhat their presence was not a distraction.

The staff at the front desk and the concierge desk all speak excellent English and are very helpful.

Some of the other staff are less fluent but always make a best effort.

For those who want to save a little money there is a convenience store just across the street to the left of the hotel on Calle Juan Leon Mera where you can buy bottled water, snacks, phone cards, small breads and pastries, and ice cream at local prices which are far lower than the hotel prices -except for the phone cards.

The area surrounding the hotel is not very interesting but I did walk two or three blocks in every direction and felt safe during the daytime.

I would recommend this hotel to any traveler to Quito for either business or vacation.

Traffic is a real issue in the city of Quito during rush hour and you should expect that this will slow you down when traveling around the city. Allow additional time when planning excursions.

We also hired a private driver for day trips in and around Ecuador. His name was Lincoln. He was excellent and trustworthy and took us to some interesting sites that we would not have thought to go to on our own. He has a seven passenger Hyundai SUV which could comfortably accommodate three or four adults and one or two children in the third row. He can be reached at lincolnjabra@yahoo.com

I will also put in a recommendation for ColumbusTravel with whom we arranged all of our travel. They're a local travel agency located in Quito and were very accommodating.

Room Tip: ask for an upper floor room to diminish street noise and ask for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtlantaBusTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed at the JW Marriott in Quito one night before our Galapagos cruise and two nights after. The hotel is beautiful, rooms are large and well appointed, and the restaurants are quite good. Beautiful flower arrangements in the lobby - huge sprays of roses of every hue. Really, the only downside is the neighborhood - the hotel is quite isolated in terms of things to do or places to eat in the surrounding area, and the hotel staff indicated that it is not safe to be out at night. If not so isolated I would give it a 5.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank reptileenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This hotel has nice big rooms. The hotel staff is very nice, friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean. They do have an executive lounge which is nice. The can for a price provide taxi service to and from the airport which I wish I would have known before I arrived in Quito. I had a excellent massage by Patty at the spa. After traveling for 10days it was the perfect thing. I just wish I would have had time to lay out at the pool which looked beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lor13149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Likes:
- Location - right next to the business district and near Qutio's main going out spots. Traffic to the hotel is also better than if you stay in the old town
- Rooms - standard Marriott fare nothing to get excited about. One thing though is the towels look like they haven't been refreshed since the 1970s. Threads coming out of them and hardly "fluffy white" poor show
- Pool and Gym - nice heated pool (although more regular cleaning given the wind and amount of foliage surrounding it wouldn't go amiss). Very large gym area with modern equipment.
- Restaurants - I only tried the steak restaurant but was impressed by the food and waiters service.

Dislikes
- WIFI - when will hotel chains like this get the joke and understand that charging for Wifi is so 1990s. If small boutique hotels can have a free wifi so can you. (its 20 USD for 24 hours in case you wondered)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thekyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Very good hotel, close to the airport. Great cafeteria in the ground floor is nice. The building architecture is quite strange... Not to die for, but a very good choice for Quito.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelSpy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 111 in Quito
669 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#20 of 111 in Quito
1,359 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#4 of 111 in Quito
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 111 in Quito
740 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Address: Av. Orellana 1172 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Quito
#4 Family Hotel in Quito
#4 Business Hotel in Quito
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#11 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Quito, Ecuador in style when you stay in the JW Marriott Hotel Quito. Our luxury hotel is ideally located near the area's best dining, shopping, attractions and entertainment. Take advantage of our full service spa, decadent restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and gorgeous pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Quito
Marriott Hotel Quito
Marriott Quito
Quito Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing