We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful hotel; lacking in service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Ranked #10 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel; lacking in service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 10 days and I was a part of a large group of 340 people !
We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel, buffet style, served specifically for our group.
I was very disappointed with the food. Selection was poor. Food was almost always cold.
The attentiveness of the food service staff was really poor.
We had to hunt people down to get silverware or coffee or whatever was needed.
Day after day, same poor service.
The training of the food service staff was very poor.

The rooms were very nice and maintained very well.

I asked for an additional blanket one night and they sent an additional sheet.
When I inquired about it the next night, they told me they didn't have any extra blankets.

About a 25 minute brisk walk from the hotel is an amazing market where you can buy souvenirs. Don't miss this.
If you don't have time to walk, take a cab!

There is a crepes and waffles restaurant across the street from the hotel.
Don't miss this amazing place!!!!!!!

The Marriott will do laundry for you.
It is very expensive, BUT......
they do a good job and they return your clothing to you quickly.
The same day (later in the evening) for no extra fee.
I think the extra fee was to have the clothing delivered within two hours of calling them.

Bathrooms are very large! Separate little room for the toilet. Shower AND large tub!

Yes, I would recommend staying here.
But, if you are a group you might reconsider.
I have traveled with large groups numerous times, and this particular hotel handled this large group very poorly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceAlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    446
    118
    24
    11
See reviews for
280
556
73
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here a total of four nights as part of cruise trip to the Galapagos. Three of the nights were part of the cruise package and one night was booked directly to give us time to decompress prior to our tour.

Generally, one expects top level service at Marriott and we were not disappointed. Hotel shuttle from the airport should be arranged in advance through the contact section of the Marriott website (cost $10). Our first room had magnificent views of Quito and the Andes. Traffic noise was noticeable as it was located fifth floor on the front of the building. The second room was quieter in the rear of the building overlooking a parking lot/ business area. The bathrooms were huge with separate shower and soaking tubs. Marble covered all hard surfaces. Everything was clean and well maintained.

The best restaurant is Cafe Latino on the lower level. The breakfast buffet is excellent and the service is top notch.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hankski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

This trip was not so good.

No one answers the phone for room service.
Then the room service people call you and accuses you of calling the wrong number
after you hand carry the order to them because no one answers the phone.

Then at 10 PM a bouncer bangs on your door until you answer to inform you that you have no method of payment on file. Ends up the method of payment was lost by the front desk people.

They over charge by $80 USD a night compared to what Amex Travel indicated.

This trip was a train wreck.
In all fairness in the last year I have spent 2 other weeks here and they were fine.
No clue whats going on here but I don't like it.
The Radison down the road is like $120 USD a night. Marriott points be damned for next week at this rate.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreginSAtoolong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

JW Marriott is under some restriction as to the number of rooms they can let out and when my stay got extended they could not accommodate my request. Instead of facilitating a transfer to a Holiday Inn across the street, they directed me to the business center to make arraingements. This site charges separately for internet access. Except for the beautiful lobby, the accommodations were not that spectacular, unless you plan to make use of their spa.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FelixO58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

Great room. Excellent service. Loved the food in the breakfast room and the Argentinian Steak House.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
addtraveler10101
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed at the JW Quito mid-June and were thrilled with everything about it. The hotel and grounds are exquisite. The lobby is beautifully decorated. Flowers are everywhere. Don't miss the pool area at night. Spectacular! Rooms were well appointed, spacious, and sparkling clean.

Didn't try the reataurants in the hotel. Great service and wine at the lobby bar. The Executive Club is one of the best. All the usual snacks and breakfast fare you would find at any other Marriott property, but this hotel also has a chef for cook to breakfast if you chose.

The staff is just perfect. We checked in on a Sunday after midnight. The staff acted as if it were the middle of the afternoon. We were still greeted with a rose. The manager came out to meet us personally. We mentioned that we would have loved a glass of wine to unwind. There are restrictions on alcohol sales on Sunday in Ecuador and room service was the only way we could get it.. The manager made arrangements for us, and like magic the wine in our room. Everyone, front desk, bellmen, concierge, business center and Executive Club staff are efficient and friendly. The people running this hotel are absolutely beautiful inside and out.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room the view is fanatastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank addtraveler10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
508 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

This is an absolutely wonderful hotel for both business and pleasure. I stayed here twice in March and would not hesitate to stay here again on any future trip to Quito. I stayed on the Executive Level and took full use of the Executive Lounge. There is a wonderful atrium bar and flowers throughout the hotel. The front desk staff was excellent and extremely helpful. This is a great base hotel for exploring this part of Ecuador.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueMarlinDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.5 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Address: Av. Orellana 1172 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Quito
#4 Family Hotel in Quito
#4 Business Hotel in Quito
#5 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#11 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Quito, Ecuador in style when you stay in the JW Marriott Hotel Quito. Our luxury hotel is ideally located near the area's best dining, shopping, attractions and entertainment. Take advantage of our full service spa, decadent restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and gorgeous pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Quito
Marriott Hotel Quito
Marriott Quito
Quito Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing