We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Transplantable Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Ranked #10 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Transplantable Business Hotel”
Reviewed October 23, 2007

We spent nearly a week at this Marriott. It's an absolutely standard upscale business hotel in the city - a Rotary Club convention was there while we were. If you want a place transportable to any major urban center in the world, this is it. All the amenities, including exorbitant prices ($20 breakfasts, the usual rip-off mini-bar, and steep internet charges) with the feel of a reliable, stock franchise. Nice pool, great health club and massages, pleasant staff, lots of "suits" walking around being very important, and flush tourists feeling secure and chatting away in English - very predictable with little imagination required.

Our room was #630. Avoid it. The windows don't open. For two nights the air handling pumped fumes (the ubiquitous Quito diesel exhaust) from the parking garage into the room; it was disgusting. Eventually the engineers figured out the problem, but not until after two nights of nausea and burning eyes in a sealed box. We like fresh air, and this room didn't provide it - yuk. Thus we only give a *** experience to a hotel with potentially ***** facilities.

The location is good - plenty to do and lots of services within a short cab ride or an easy walk for those willing to venture out afoot. We had no problems, though the staff expressed concern about street crime and warned us away from a couple of routes. The hotel's car service charged all of $2 to take us to the wonderful Santa Clara market; it was only $3 to get back.

We'd spent 5 days previously at the Hotel Quito before doing a conference at the Marriott. While the Hotel Quito is feeling its 1960's vintage and needs some refurbishment, it had character rather than cookie-cutter predictability aimed to please international business travelers. We liked it, and the experience.

The views from our sixth floor corner room at HQ were great. (We'd avoid the low-rise rooms - more like a motel.) You feel more part of city life and less like a visitor hiding away in a stock business hotel. The hilltop location gives a spectacular view of both city and countryside as clouds roll around the Andes; the staff is equally pleasant and helpful; and there's a bit of unpredictability. Even if you don't stay there, visit the 7th floor restaurant for the vistas.

The comparable breakfast buffet at HQ was $5.50. As another reviewer pointed out, it's noisier than the Marriott with neighborhood car alarms, street life, and the sound of jets passing over during peak hours. You don't get a rose at night (not a big stretch since roses cost $1.50 for 50 in Quito!), and the Marriott wins for sound-proofing. It is quiet. But we had a little balcony at HQ, and walls of windows.

Overall, the Marriott's kitchen is better; but you pay for the difference - modest meals for two consistently ran $30-40. They could have been much, much more had we "dined" instead of merely eaten. But walk two blocks and the locals' "executive lunch" is $2.50, a big shawarma platter $4, and a superb steak $9. Food bargains abound.

So base at the Marriott if you have money to spend and want a guaranteed experience with few surprises; it will be about like Dallas or Atlanta, only at a breath-defying 10,000 feet. Try someplace else - like Hotel Quito or one of the other smaller venues - if you want to experience a little more of the charm of Ecuador and a little less of an easy mega-chain.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank anemonefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    954
    461
    118
    25
    11
See reviews for
292
575
74
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2007

Stayed here for 4 nights business.

The hotel is well situation beside a park and a short walk to upmarket shopping centres and the tourist district.

The hotel is a new standalone building with rooms and service that you would expect from a JW Marriott.

No complaints about the rooms; service or cleanliness.

Whilst there I did observe the Manager dealing with a unreasonable guest in the executive lounge (she expected a la carte meals free of charge in the exec lounge). I thought the Service Manager was very accomodating in the circumstances. Top marks.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesterinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

The hotel has very convenient location: 15 minutes by taxi to airport, 10 minutes to Centro Historico. If you take a yellow cab it will cost you twice cheaper than if you take a Marriott car, but Marriott's driver provide really great service and if you ask them they will pick you up from any place in town. Hotel has a great swimming pool and it was very enjoyable to relax in it after walking in the city.
We took a trip to Otovalo market with Julio from Marriott. Ask for him in the hotel. He is really good and friendly and speaks English VERY well. He took us to Calderon on the local fruit market and explained all about exotic fruits. we tried all of them. He also took us to Condor park ( to see real Andean Condor) and some other places. It costs $120 ( plus tip to him).
Old Town is a great place with excellent plazas, walking streets. try to go on Sunday. There are a lot of street performance and you will feel like a local. We feel really safe in Quito.
Go to Salsa club ( 5 min from hotel) - ask the concierge in the hotel. It's a great experience and atmosphere. Go to cafe Libre( 5 min from hotel) to see real tango dancers - amazing place.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romusik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2007

Over the past two months stayed here a total of 10 nights and each time was not disappointed. Yes, it is a chain but the Quito branch does seem a bit special. Beginning with their vast glass covered entrance. I love the lay out of their rooms, specially the bathrooms The shower stalls are nicely sized, the tubs are perfect. Outside the pool is heated though when the sun is hot it seems cool. The poolside staff could be a bit more attentive.

My only niggle is the price they charge for internet access in the room - about $17 for 24 hours, OK this isn't much for the convenience, but elsewhere it is often free. Breakfasts were the best meal - lovely array of fruits. Other meals were what one expects in a hotel of this kind and could have been served anywhere in the world.

  • Liked — cleanliness, comfort, predictability
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rowanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2007

nice hotel with all the usuals covered well. also satyed in the sheraton in quito for a night during the same week. for 80 dollars less we got the same (even better) service. one drawback was that that everything was at least twice as expensive as sheraton (mini bar etc,) and the $12/hour for the internet is extortionet. advise to stay in the sheraton for a lot less money and get the same top level service.

  • Disliked — overpriced for what u are getting
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lmoloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenwich, ct
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

Chked in expecting the 'usual' Marriott fare and was pleasantly surprised to find a wonderful welcome and a staff that couldn't do enough for us. A very helpful concierge and business office made the trip even more pleasant.

  • Liked — Clean, easy and safe
  • Disliked — could try to change the "Marriott' formula a bit and make each hotel a bit special
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Greenwich_CtLcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2007

Date August 19,2007
We stayed at the Marriott 3 days before Galaopagos and 4 days after.
Hotel was excellent,like being in US. Everyone spoke very good english, hotel is very secure, rooms are first class.
They now charge $5 per person for airport shuttle, which is not bad, however cabs are about $ 7 total from airport. We took the shuttle the first time and used cabs all other times.
Ontraveling around city, we felt very confortable using the hotels grey cabs. They might be a buck or two more but we used them when leaving the hotel to see the city or to the airport. Yellow cab drivers were not so good at speaking english, we carried a picture of hotel out of a magazine and the address and it was very helpful.
Pool has a warm,cold and very warm section. It is beautiful
The spa: Massage $35,Manacure $10....wife had hair done $10.....very reasonable and good!
Hacienda goumet type resturant: although entrance not very noticable( it's entrance is next to check in desk) it is very reasonable, perfect service, (excellent steak dinner,$18, Rack of Lamb $29 were the two expensive items on menu all other items about $ 12 ). Next to this resturant is a very cosy cocktail room with very good topas(appitizers).
Coffee Shop: In the coffee shop they assume you will get the buffet, however we asked for a menu and ordered waffles and eggs for breakfast or pizza for lunch/dinner at a reasonable price. There also is an expresso type coffee bar located by the shopping area which opens at 6 AM ( way off the lobby,and out of the way, not so easy to find) that has coffee/expresso and a small selection of fresh buns ( 60 cents each....really cheap but good). We are not big breakfast eaters but it was a great way to start the day. They also have great desert cakes for lunch and dinner time.
Concege did a great job of planning guided tours,( we planned some tours as late as 7:30 PM for the next day). They know safe places to eat local foods ,etc......very helpful staff.
The money used is US dollars...however outside of hotel you need to use nothing over a 20 dollar bill...on one will accept bigger bills. Travel checks are hard to cash, someone on our trip spent three hours trying to cash $200. at a bank! They did not stay at our hotel...I am pretty sure the Marriott will accept travel checks.
We used the laundry service. Out by 10 back by 7:30 PM. for extra charge they have an express service.
We are couple the like to travel, and like to stay at nice places. The staff, resturants and spa made us very happy without asking for anything. Although there are less expensive hotels in Quito we would stay here if we go back.Do not hesitate to stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — service/cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LLAHAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 112 in Quito
668 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#4 of 112 in Quito
452 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#20 of 112 in Quito
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
10.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.5 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 112 in Quito
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Address: Av. Orellana 1172 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Quito
#4 Family Hotel in Quito
#4 Business Hotel in Quito
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#11 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Quito, Ecuador in style when you stay in the JW Marriott Hotel Quito. Our luxury hotel is ideally located near the area's best dining, shopping, attractions and entertainment. Take advantage of our full service spa, decadent restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and gorgeous pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Quito
Marriott Hotel Quito
Marriott Quito
Quito Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing