We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Community Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Community Hostel
Ranked #1 of 254 Specialty Lodging in Quito
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

This place lacks a little bit socially, I've found it easier to meet people elsewhere, however, it is so comfortable, really comfy beds, clean rooms, the bathrooms are better than mine at home and they serve excellent breakfasts. Staff helpful and friendly.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Little_alice-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    87
    17
    10
    3
See reviews for
17
116
284
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

If you are looking for a party hostel than this isn't for you. If you are looking for a group of friends that is always looking for another friend then climb up the two flights of stairs and welcome. Friendly and knowledgeable staff can give you some pointers on where to explore. the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable and the nightly dinners are pretty tasty too if you feel like staying in for the night. Good location right in the middle of the old colonial district puts you in the thick of it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

This hostel has a real home feel about it. The beds are amazingly comfy and the pillows are so soft! I really relaxed here, great Wifi, communal laptop and a projecter to enjoy films. The bathrooms are amazing, very clean and both include baths, however I stayed here for a few days and only ever managed to get 1 minute of hot water each time (followed by ice cold, no exaggerations!) Plus in the morning you have to wait ages to use them. The hostel staff were friendly and there were lots of tours available, including the free city tour of the old town-a must! This included local information and ideas on where to visit. The hostel has 2 kitchens, 1 for staff the other for travellers. Its well stocked and clean. Free tea and coffee and water!
I would stay here again if they sorted the cold water situation!

This place would benefit from 1 more toilet and to heat their water better.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, the beds are wide and super comfy. Treat yourself with the private double (m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss-well-travelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Community hostels dorm rooms are extremely comfortable. The room itself is a little small. However the beds are large and super comfortable. The bathroom is big and has a REAL shower. The was water is HOT. You can ask for a towel and they are big, nice, and new. The breakfast is delicious for only $2.50. The hostel feels like your staying at a friends apartment.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
296 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is a good located hostal and the staff very helpful up to a point. This point being check-in time at 2pm. I arrived here at 6am in the morning and the guy on duty ... ah you have come up from the coast...... indeed I have says I. Well I waited until 3.15pm to be given my dorm bed. It seems that the policy here is to get all the beds made and then issue them accordingly, doesnt matter if its 2pm or 6pm......they wait. A funny thing though, the following day an american arrived at the same time as I did though far younger than me but loud and crass. The girl on duty at reception stripped his bed (with my help) and had it made for him. he went to bed at 8.15am. So why did I have to wait until 3.15pm. Bad bad never again. They like loud and crass american and australians here. Another thing there is anly two toilet/shower rooms to service the whole hostal

Room Tip: a room nearest the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadnerb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco_FQuito, Owner at Community Hostel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hello!
We are very sorry you had to wait for your bed, We try to do our best to accomodate people as soon as we can. As with any hotel or hostel we have a time period when we have to clean the hostel and make beds to provide a good experience to our clients. And our check in begins at 2 pm. Sometimes because clients remain in there beds until they have to check out we are not able to turn over a bed to the next client immediately, and we apologize for that.

We are though working another bathroom and this should be ready very very soon!

We also like people from all parts of the world and love sharing a good meal with them and having a fun time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hostel was amazing. It my first experience of a hostel in Ecuador and we were spoilt! The staff were very friendly (and spoke english) and the free walking tour and food tour were great ways to get to know the city. Breakfast was different each day (and we stayed for 6)- very tasty and good portion sizes.
The only (small) negative that it is very close to the market- great for cheap lunches but not so good if you like to sleep late due to cars using their horns excessively at 6am.
There were also only 2 bathrooms and for a hostel that size they probably need at least one more. However, I believe they are trying to rectify that.
The location is amazing. Only a couple of blocks from old town, but if you didn't know you would have assumed differently.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco_FQuito, Owner at Community Hostel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! We are going to start working on a third bathroom, that should help us provide our guests with an even better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

In September, I spend my time in Quito with community hostel.
The staffs were really nice and the hostel was REALLY clean !
And they gave us free-city tour and was really nice! Thx OB :)
I hope u enjoy ur trip in Quito with this nice hostel :)

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ahreum H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco_FQuito, Owner at Community Hostel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review and the referral! Come back anytime, it was a pleasure having you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.5 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#3 of 254 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Rosario
La Rosario
#3 of 228 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Community Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Community Hostel

Property: Community Hostel
Address: Pedro Fermin Cevallos n6-78 Olmedo, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 254 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Community Hostel located in Old town Quito! Come and enjoy our FREE walking tour! our hostel offers several styles of accommodation to fulfill the needs of every traveler, including dormitory, private, and single gender rooms (female only). Our beds are the most comfortable in Quito, handmade by a local artisan carpenter. Sip on some tea or coffee from one of our two seated balconies and take in the beauty of an Ecuadorian sunrise or sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Community Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing