We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel”
Review of Community Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Community Hostel
Ranked #1 of 297 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great hostel with great people and a good way to stay comfortably in Quito and meet other travellers. Dinners and breakfasts are delicious.

In a noisy location being close to the early morning markets.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 667 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

great place to get into the swing of Ecuador particularly if you are about to start on your Spanish (and do try to learn Spanish while you're in Ecuador). Real community vibe, shared meals and kitchen make it very sociable and easy to meet people and hear about the options in Ecuador. Head to the park on the top of the hill behind to hostel for a view of the city. Old town is much more interesting than gringoland. Didn't seem as dangerous to me at all as some people make out. Great fruit and veg literally next door. They really care about the place, improving it all the time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JakeJaguarPrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Community Hostel. Nice hosts, great beds, kitchen for guests, and common room(s), WiFi better than the Hilton's, and they cook dinner ($5) and breakfast ($2.50) if you wish to partake. The dinners are especially fun as everyone hangs out after, while the hosts bring out the guitars. It was tons of fun. While most of the guests are fairly young travelers, everyone made us "olds" feel very welcome. Also, the hosts organize various daytime activities and invite all who are interested to come along.

Close to the historic district and next to the old mercado, the neighborhood tends to be quiet and a bit dark at night. Most of the guests have their adventures in the daytime and enjoy the camaraderie of the group in the evening. There are plenty of services in the area -- chemist, bakery, the mercado, and other stores. It was a good value for us. We paid $30 for a private room with a shared and very clean bath.

Note: The hostel is on the 1st (not ground) floor and is up some major steps; the dining room is one flight up beyond that. Keeping that in mind, I have knee and back issues and walk with a cane and as long as I only took the stairs once a day, I was good. I thought it was worth the extra effort.

Room Tip: Note: The hostel is on the 1st (not ground) floor and is up some major steps; the dining room is one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My sisters and I made the Community Hostel our home-base for our 18 day trip to Ecuador. We took several smaller trips around the country, which we loved, but coming back to the Hostel really felt like coming home. It was an absolute delight to sit around the table with the staff and guests at breakfast and dinner every night. Most nights after dinner we simply stayed at the hostel. Hanging out, talking, drinking wine, playing guitar, laughing, playing cards and enjoying each other’s company was the perfect way to chill out after a long day of traveling and seeing the sights.

As we visited with both staff and guests, we got travel suggestions and invitations to join others in their plans. Many of our trip highlights were spur of the moment plans made around the hostel table. It is no exaggeration to say that our entire trip to Ecuador would have been entirely different (and, I believe, less perfect) had we picked a different hostel in Quito.

The location may be slightly off the beaten path, but we always felt very safe in the historical district. The area is home to many shops, restaurants and markets, all of which provided great services at a very good price. Taxi rides to other parts of the city are reasonable, and there is a bus stop within a block of the hostel, so getting around to experience the rest of Quito is simple.

The beds were very comfortable and I slept well- on occasion the city sounds would keep me up, but the Hostel provides free ear-plugs for those who need quiet to sleep. The bathrooms, kitchens and common areas were kept very clean. The staff is beyond helpful with any additional needs or requests you may have.

The food provided by the hostel staff for breakfast and dinner was always delicious. The meal plan for dinner is posted early in the day, and if it is not something you care for, you can easily make other dinner plans. For those with special dietary needs, I would highly recommend this hostel! The market located, literally, right outside of the hostel and the communal kitchen make meal prep very easy!

We cannot praise the Community Hostel or its staff enough for our stay. They made us feel like part of the family, and I know we will never forget our experience there! In fact, as soon as we got home we started scheming to get back….

-Rosa & Emma Palumbo

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rypalumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My sisters and I spent several weeks in Ecuador and Community Hostel quickly became our home base in Quito. Not only is the hostel affordable, very safe and comfortable (we loved the hot water, WIFI and free coffee), but the staff and volunteers are absolutely wonderful! There is a very communal feeling with delicious shared meals, movie nights and activities around the city. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had a great experience both in the hostel and on all of our travels. Our trip to Ecuador would not have been the same without Community Hostel and I cannot recommend it enough. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggiehp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed in Community Hostel almost a week in February, first in 4-bed dorm and then in double. I selected this hostel following the nice recommendations on Trip Advisor...and can only confirm the great reviews!
Comfortable bed, clean rooms, great breakfast, hot water, wifi...and above all, a very welcoming staff that makes you feel at home away from home. In particular, i loved the opportunity to have dinner all together, which helps to connect with other people. I wish Marco and his team all the best and strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneburgues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Community is not just a word at this place. Having Breakfast all together on a huge table is part of staying at this hostel as well as visiting the local soccer team all together.

The stuff is really doing an outstanding job - all are very happy to support you with your plannings to discover Ecuador. This is not it, they also prepare good breakfast (2,5$) and dinner (5$).

The hostel offers Wifi, free filtered water, free notebook usage, free kitchen, free towels, free dvd player (including DVDs) in the social area,...
They are also happy to arrange airport pick up for you.

There are different kind of rooms, I stayed multiple times in a private room. These are large and clean. The bed is comfortable and the room offers large windows.

I have traveled Southeast Asia intensively, Australia multiple times, all Europe, parts of Africa and several countries in North and South America, the experience of staying at this hostel is absolutely unique.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.5 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#3 of 297 in Quito
277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hump Day Hostel
Hump Day Hostel
#2 of 297 in Quito
118 reviews
2.4 mi away
El Hostelito
El Hostelito
#6 of 297 in Quito
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Secret Garden Quito
The Secret Garden Quito
#21 of 297 in Quito
433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Revolution
Hostel Revolution
#9 of 297 in Quito
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Huasi Lodge - Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Community Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Community Hostel

Address: Pedro Fermin Cevallos n6-78 Olmedo, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 297 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range: $16 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Community Hostel located in Old town Quito! Come and enjoy our FREE walking tour! our hostel offers several styles of accommodation to fulfill the needs of every traveler, including dormitory, private, and single gender rooms (female only). Our beds are the most comfortable in Quito, handmade by a local artisan carpenter. Sip on some tea or coffee from one of our two seated balconies and take in the beauty of an Ecuadorian sunrise or sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Community Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing