We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic”
Review of Community Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Community Hostel
Ranked #1 of 255 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Community Hostel was the first place that we stayed on our trip to South America. The driver came to pick us up from the airport and was not only really friendly, but took us on the scenic route with a beautiful view over the city.

We stayed at the hostel for our first week in one of their private rooms. It is well located for exploring the old town and right near a bus stop where you can catch a bus to the new town. It is also right by a market where all of your food needs can be met! We ate dinner and breakfast in the hostel most of the tim and the meals were great, especially the breakfasts which always included fruit, eggs and some sort of bread.

We went off to explore the area for a week or so and then came back to the hostel for a few more days. Having visited other hostels in the area during that time we came to really appreciate the hot water, clean facilities and comfy beds of the Community Hostel all the more!

As I told one of the staff there, I fear that you have raised our expectations too high and everywhere else will be rubbish in comparison!

Room Tip: Quito is a nosiy city. Whatever hostel you choose take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani-Elizabeth86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco_FQuito, Owner at Community Hostel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much to you both! It was a pleasure having you at the hostel and we hope you come back again since you will be in Ecuador for a while!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    90
    18
    10
    3
See reviews for
19
122
289
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

The Community Hostel is run by a small group of young, friendly, ambitious and enthusiastic American/Ecuadorian guys who have put a lot of thought into getting things right.

My boyfriend and I stayed in one of the private rooms, which was by far the most luxurious of any of the rooms in the other hostels we've experienced during our journey through central and south America. The room was very spacious, the bed was extraordinarily comfortable (there was a lovely thick blanket to keep us toasty warm during the cold Quito nights, and the pillows are just the right level of softness) and there was plenty of closet space, which is wonderful if you've been living out of your backpack for months. The plush towels are on a par with any 5 star hotel (also great when you've been travelling for a while). The showers always have very hot water and the communal spaces (the bathrooms, kitchens and living rooms) are kept spotlessly clean.

I thought they had achieved the perfect balance of communal living and privacy- there's always the opportunity to hang out with others, but there are quiet spots too- and there's always someone on hand to assist with your questions. The hostel is perfectly located- it's just a few minutes walk into the very centre of Old Town Quito (where most of what you'll want to see is located) so we only needed a taxi a couple of times during our stay there.

Overall, I'd say the Community Hostel is an upmarket hostel- perfect for anyone who wants the hostel experience without having to rough it. We had a great time and wish them every success in future :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roshani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco_FQuito, Owner at Community Hostel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thanks so much Roshani! We hope that you were able to make it the coast, Banos, and Cuenca in time to catch your fight!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I'm quite tired right now, so I can't be bothered to write a long review. However...
Seriously, this place is great! I couldn't quite believe all the positive reviews - but they were spot on. It's like living in a really comfy house, with lots of friendly people. We wanted to stay for longer, but had a flight to catch. Anyway, to summarise: you should stay here, it's amazing!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tominwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco_FQuito, Owner at Community Hostel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Tom! Ju Jitsu for life! thanks for the review and hopefully some day we can train together. (obviously when I get to your level)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We arrived at the airport around 11pm and were promptly picked up as we pre-arranged by email.
Never having been to Quito this was a wise choice.

Our room was clean and large - so was the shared bathroom. The staff was very friendly and informative.

We are in our 60's; 30-40 years older than most of the guests, but this was never a problem.

Good access to Old Town and Central Market.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco_FQuito, Owner at Community Hostel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The people that run this recently established hostel are well tuned in how to give you a very enjoyable and stay, cool and helpful people. The dinners and breakfasts were affordable, delicious and they always had a great atmosphere with all the guests sharing their journeys - I think that is key for a great hostel. Excellent modern facilities, super comfy beds. They have a water filter, so you can refill. You also have the option of cooking for yourself, in another spacious kitchen.

Location is the best if you want to check the colonial side of Quito, to get to the party central area (La Mariscal) you give the taxi driver a few pennies, or dollars if you want to stay on his good side.

Also, one of the guys says he will start composting soon. Food scraps that is, not the guy. Only the second place in an 8 month trip that would have this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubenDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco_FQuito, Owner at Community Hostel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Ruben!
you crack me up! Thanks for the review and remember my hostel es tu casa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was a great place to land in Ecuador to start our journey from. Speaking no Spanish, the staff was extremely helpful in answering questions and helping us figure out how to deal with some of the differences we were about to experience in Ecuador.
They translated, arranged taxis, gave us ideas of where to go, helped us with our visa needs and were friendly and fun.
They cook great breakfasts and dinners; everything is fresh, picked from the local food vendors daily and turned into fabulous meals.
There is a second kitchen that we used regularly and they helped us translate the food items we wanted to pick up and told us where to shop for the best and freshest foods.
The bathrooms are clean ... The whole place is clean! New mattresses on the beds and thick towels just like any major hotel made it a really comfortable stay.
The area is in old Quito and has lots of character. They gave us great suggestions for local food places and told us how to get around safely. They arranged for taxis on several occasions to get us to specific places, but we never had a problem hailing one down in front of the hostel either.
We loved that there were fresh food vendors right outside the hostel doors and found the locals to be very friendly there. When we went to the newer parts of Quito we found it to be too built up so really enjoyed the atmosphere around the hostel. We walked to so many places; the Plaza Grande, the plaza Teatro where they told us about a great Chinese restaurant that we really loved, and found the shopping in the area to have great prices.
The atmosphere at the hostel was really inspiring as well. We met travellers from around the world and listening to their stories of their home countries and their travels was fabulous entertainment that wrapped up each day with a smile.
The noise was understandable for the area ... In Quito the kids start school by 6:30am and the mercado opens by 6 am, but by 8 pm everyone is done for the day and goes to their families ...their days start early. Watching from the balcony everyday was better than any TV show I've ever seen.
Glad to hear black out curtains have been ordered, but it didn't stop me from sleeping well every night as the beds were so comfy...
I highly recommend this hostel as a great place to stay if you're visiting Quito and looking for friendly, clean accommodation that you can rely on.

Room Tip: Reserve for a guaranteed room ... They fill up fast and often!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happygringos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hostel was absolutely, hands down our favorite hostel out of our entire trip through South America! The Community Hostel is located right in Quito's beautiful and historic Old Town. From the hostel you can easily walk to the mind blowing Basilica (a must see), as well as to a local market and a trolley stop. The hostel itself has really nice hot showers, incredibly comfy beds (the best beds we'd had all trip!), large, spacious common rooms, multiple balconies boasting gorgeous views of Quito (especially at night), clothes lines to hang your laundry, filtered/potable water, WiFi, laptops with internet, and a giant map of Quito hanging in the family-style dinning room. The staff are incredibly welcoming, knowledgeable, compassionate, informative, helpful, multilingual and FUN. This level of professionalism, combined with some impressive cooking skills (save money by signing up to eat their amazing breakfasts and dinners!) make you feel like you're truly at HOME. After a long day of exploring, we would looked forward to relaxing in our new Home with all of the wonderful friends we'd met at the Community Hostel. We originally picked the Community Hostel because we loved that they donate a portion of their funds to the local community. However, we stayed there almost an entire week because of the great atmosphere created by the staff. We will DEFINITELY stay at the Community Hostel when we return to Quito, and we recommend that you do so as well! ♥

Room Tip: Every room here is a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corymaria13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.7 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 112 in Quito
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 112 in Quito
1,142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#3 of 255 in Quito
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Revolution
Hostel Revolution
#8 of 255 in Quito
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Community Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Community Hostel

Property: Community Hostel
Address: Pedro Fermin Cevallos n6-78 Olmedo, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 255 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Community Hostel located in Old town Quito! Come and enjoy our FREE walking tour! our hostel offers several styles of accommodation to fulfill the needs of every traveler, including dormitory, private, and single gender rooms (female only). Our beds are the most comfortable in Quito, handmade by a local artisan carpenter. Sip on some tea or coffee from one of our two seated balconies and take in the beauty of an Ecuadorian sunrise or sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Community Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing