We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Community Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Community Hostel
Ranked #1 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Great quality establishment complimented by excellent staff

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Comway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    90
    18
    10
    3
See reviews for
19
122
293
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Community hostel is so new it's not in the guide books. We found it through a friend of a friend of a friend who knows the owner and they spoke so highly of it we had to check it out. We planned on only staying a couple of days, but we loved it so much we stayed a week and only left reluctantly when we couldn't put it off anymore. This place is seriously awesome. Community Hostel is not just a name - they have managed to create something really special. Home cooked meals, super comfy beds, clean bathrooms, and unforgettable company in both the guys who work there and the travellers you will meet over dinner and subsequently spend your days wandering around Quito with.The location is amazing, within walking distance of just about everything (though every cab driver ever will tell you it's in a bad part of town) and you can see an amazing view of the Panecillo and Basilica at night from the balcony. Rumour has it they are working on the roof to convert it to a garden and extra showers... keep your eye on this place, it is bound to become one of the best hostels Quito has to offer.

And don't bother booking through a booking website, just e-mail them directly. They'll reply super fast!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Analyze37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Community Hostel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Hey! thanks so much for the review! come back, I know you like Quito better than Guayaquil!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Our hosts were nothing but kind, helpful and friendly. The hostel has 2 beautiful floors with multiple sleeping rooms. The bathrooms were spotless and they even offered us towels. I felt like I was staying with friends. Better than most hotels in the Galapagos! The staff offers meals which are awesome :) I'll definitely be coming back here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Most hostels are good, a couple stand out, and then there are a choice few where you actually feel like you're in a spotless version of your own home. Community Hostel is one of those rare places.

It's not really a hostel, but two floors of converted apartments with brand-new everything, and they didn't skimp on quality -- beds are solid, the shower is awesome, dishes are restaurant-grade and even the molding and lighting fixtures are reminiscent of a much more expensive hotel.

Service, too, is top-notch: Nathan, Dan, and Marco were all very welcoming and use their obvious culinary training to whip up great meals each night at outstanding value. On certain nights, they will also bring you into town to take in the scene, hanging out like old friends and bringing you to and from at no charge.

For all these material comforts, however, the best thing about this place is that it truly lives up to its name...one lives in COMMUNITY with other guests. Within a day, I knew everyone by name and didn't think twice about leaving my laptop or other belongings unattended in the "living room". The hostel also supports the wider community around them, pledging 10% of all profits to local charities.

This place might not be for everyone -- you need to exercise a little caution in the neighborhood at night, and those who want complete privacy should probably check out a hotel instead. For everyone else, Eureka!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yeahrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2012

It was really nice stay with this hostel, which made my first backpack travel felt even perfect. The owner, and all staffs are super helpful and just like families. It is true home away from home. I really had wonderful 5 days in Quito because of those nice guys from this hostel.

这家青年旅舍,给了我三十岁人生中第一次的背包旅游一个完美的开始,热情的服务团队,完善的设施,给您他乡遇故知的感觉。感谢你们,希望有机会再在基多相遇。

Simon, the lonely traveller prove above message.

Room Tip: Just contact hostel stuff, they will be very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lonelytraveller1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

New hostel, that is spotlessly clean! Great find in busy Quito, with the Old Town just a couple of minutes walk away. Bus station is very close as well. Staff speak English and are very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank topshotmx8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Clean, comfortable, and inviting. Everybody was extremely friendly, meals were inexpensive and delicious, and the accommodations (beds, bathroom, kitchen) are well-furnished, VERY clean, and comfortable. Also, not too far of a walk away from Plaza Grande or other sights to see in Quito. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.7 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#1 of 110 in Quito
675 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#2 of 262 in Quito
247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Revolution
Hostel Revolution
#9 of 262 in Quito
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Huasi Lodge - Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Community Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Community Hostel

Property: Community Hostel
Address: Pedro Fermin Cevallos n6-78 Olmedo, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Community Hostel located in Old town Quito! Come and enjoy our FREE walking tour! our hostel offers several styles of accommodation to fulfill the needs of every traveler, including dormitory, private, and single gender rooms (female only). Our beds are the most comfortable in Quito, handmade by a local artisan carpenter. Sip on some tea or coffee from one of our two seated balconies and take in the beauty of an Ecuadorian sunrise or sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Community Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing