We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gran Quitumbe
Ranked #95 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here for an early start from bus station, it is a $1 taxi ride or walk. Very friendly staff but tiny rooms, well ours was, room 17, and agree with another reviewer, the towels were hand towels not bath towels. Bed was also tiny. No breakfast so we walked again to cafe around the corner where we had a good breakfast as was dinner the previous night. Renovations going on so breakfast may restart soon. All in all for $35 it was very good for a one night stay.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Hunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byron2204, Propietario at Hotel Gran Quitumbe, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Dear georgemacl

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hotel Gran Quitumbe community of Trip Advisor, I was honored to host you and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to this, his home in the future fencing.

Have a very good life

Atte

Byron Suntaxi
Hotel Gran Quitumbe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 42 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

Pros: Close to the Quitumbe bus terminal. Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Very very affordable. Free Wifi. Breakfast was very good. (Scrambled eggs, ham sandwich and fresh juice)

We needed 2 rooms and for $80 that's what we got. One was a single and the other one was a single.

Cons: Really loud if you have a room facing the street. No elevator.(it wasn't too bad, we were on the 3rd floor. I think they only have 4 floors) The towels are super tiny. (half the size of regular bath towels)

Overall a great value. Just get a room away from the street and get extra towels.

Room Tip: Romm 27 had 2 beds but faced the street. Very loud. Room 22 was single and no street noise:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haybro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byron2204, Propietario at Hotel Gran Quitumbe, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Dear mandinga2013.

We appreciate your time to contact us and leave us your opinion, we grieve much so that event have already taken up the matter for this emerging situation not happen again.

The Hotel Gran Quitumbe made ​​a large investment in soundproof windows which
allow it to retain its wonderful views and large windows are now the nicest rooms we have.

Glad to know that the rest of your stay was enjoyable.

Best wishes

Byron Suntaxi
Hotel Gran Quitumbe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great hotel near southern bus terminal Quitumbe. Staff very friendly and helpful. Arrived late night and they were there to assist me. Warm showers were great. Only $1.50 to the new Quitumbe bus terminal 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank georgemacl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byron2204, Propietario at Hotel Gran Quitumbe, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Dear latebloomer2443

We appreciate your time to contact us and leave us your opinion, we grieve much so that event have already taken up the matter for this emerging situation not happen again.

You ought to order the DVD at the reception of the hotel as there operation thereof and its proper use is indicated, the Hotel Gran Quitumbe currently has rooms with a desk

Glad to know that the rest of your stay was enjoyable.
Best wishes

Byron Suntaxi
Hotel Gran Quitumbe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights - clean, comfortable and staff is so friendly and helpful. Would stay here again in a heart beat. Restaurant about 200 yards away has lunch menu with huge portions and amazing prices.

Room Tip: We had a room on 2nd floor, towards street. Lots of traffic noise, which does not bother us. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clydesdale1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byron2204, Propietario at Hotel Gran Quitumbe, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Dear Clydesdale1957

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hotel Gran Quitumbe community of Trip Advisor, I was honored to host you and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to this, his home in the future fencing.

Have a very good life
Atte

Byron Suntaxi
Hotel Gran Quitumbe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Long taxi ride from Quito International but worth it depending on your itinerary. There was only two of us. Restaurant was closed temporarily but within 200 yards are many restaurants. Hotels.com website said there was DVD in room. Another web site said there was desk in the room. We checked in at midnight and the room (we wanted a quiet room away from the street noise) we were given had the minibar but no DVD player and no desk. Just a double bed, night stand, TV, and minibar. Next time will ask about the desk so we don't have to use the double bed as a desk. Still, the room was very clean but the only hot water is from the shower. Also, no heater or air conditioner in our room.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are to the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank latebloomer2443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byron2204, Propietario at Hotel Gran Quitumbe, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Dear latebloomer2443

We appreciate your time to contact us and leave us your opinion, we grieve much so that event have already taken up the matter for this emerging situation not happen again.

You ought to order the DVD at the reception of the hotel as there operation thereof and its proper use is indicated, the Hotel Gran Quitumbe currently has rooms with a desk

Glad to know that the rest of your stay was enjoyable.
Best wishes

Byron Suntaxi
Hotel Gran Quitumbe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed here for one night in May, 2012. Excellent hotel. Very clean. Room was quiet. Minibar very reasonably priced for a hotel. Staff very helpful. They speak some broken English. Hotel is across the street from the new Quitumbe (south) bus terminal. Very convienent. Long taxi ride from airport. But one would have to make the ride anyway if using this terminal. The only negative thing was the shower was only luke warm at best. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: My room was very small. May want to ask for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank georgemacl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byron2204, Propietario at Hotel Gran Quitumbe, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Dear georgemacl

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hotel Gran Quitumbe community of Trip Advisor, I was honored to host you and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to this, his home in the future fencing.

Have a very good life

Atte

Byron Suntaxi
Hotel Gran Quitumbe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: habitación con ventanas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gingerbravoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
20.3 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#101 of 112 in Quito
10 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Interamericano
Hotel Interamericano
#54 of 112 in Quito
55 reviews
7.8 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#33 of 112 in Quito
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Cumanda
Hotel Cumanda
#78 of 112 in Quito
14 reviews
7.6 mi away
Alston Inn Hotel
Alston Inn Hotel
#66 of 112 in Quito
44 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Quitumbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Quitumbe

Address: Avenue Mariscal Sucre y Condor Nan (Corner) | In Front of the Bus Terminal Quitumbe, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: $28 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Quitumbe 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In his new and modern facilities Quitumbe Gran Hotel, located in the south of the city of Quito, at Av. Mariscal Sucre and Condor Nan corner, Waterfront Bus Terminal Quitumbe strategic area for the movement of travelers. For the terminal goes all public transport in the city and bus lines to travel to all potential destinations as the Cotopaxi National Park, the Ilinisas, Banos, Equator, Otavalo, Ecuador's rainforest and coast . 2 Minutes from the hotel is that of Quito "Quicentro South" and the convention center Quitumbe largest shopping center. The Great Quitumbe hotel has easy access to all parts of the city by the great Simon Bolivar motorway, 40 minutes from Mariscal Sucre Airport. At an appropriate place to rest, its 40 rooms have beautiful panoramic views of Volcan Cotopaxi, Pichincha Volcano entire south of the city, equipped with twin beds 2 1/4, hot water 24 hours, cable TV, WIFI high speed and minibar with different types of snacks. Our hotel features 24 hour reception, restaurant / cafe, disabled access rooms, phone rental, parking lots, and under agreement shuttle service from the airport.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gran Quitumbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing