We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
692 results
Traveler rating
498
160
23
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
498
160
23
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town chocolate shop pedestrian street lovely hotel no lift spiral staircase on friday and saturday nights breakfasts were excellent purified water boxed breakfast reading room lounge area historic district inner courtyard potato soup top floor the hotel manager
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 692 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2018

We stayed three nights in La Casona de La Ronda either side of a trip to Mindo and to Galápagos in June. Having been travelling the world for ten months with my husband and daughter, this was a very special trip to meet up with my mum. La Casona made it even more special ... tea, coffee and biscuits in the cosy lounge on my mum’s arrival was just the best welcome for her after an incredibly long journey from Ireland.

The rooms are beautifully fitted with wooden furniture, truly gigantic comfortable beds, gorgeous toiletries and amply sized bathrooms with fabulous hot showers - just perfect after months in budget hostels or indeed after a salty sandy week at sea! The restaurant serves the most delicious breakfasts with lots of choice to suit every possible taste. We also tried out the dinner menu which was also very good, including both Ecuadorian and more international flavours.

Every member of staff we encountered in our three separate stays was friendly, welcoming and very helpful ... and something I always appreciate, indulged me in replying to my dreadful Spanish ... in Spanish; I always think this is very kind when you are genuinely tying to learn and use a language - even if poorly!

The location is perfect for exploring the old city and for stunning views (especially at night from the top floor mirador) of the Virgen del Panecillo, and there is a wealth of restaurants, bars and cafes nearby.

All in all, a wonderful place to stay - we would love to have the chance to stay again one day.

Room tip: Rooms with windows facing the inner courtyard are warmest & quietest. Avoid those with adjoining doors as noise travels through them.
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank LondonSuzeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Gerente at La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2018

Dear Guest,

The onlty thing I can say is THANK YOU on behalf of all the staff for such wonderful, thoughtful and detail review.

It was certainly our pleasure to be choosen by your family to be the meeting place.

Yours truly, Maria Salem / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at La Casona while touring the Quito area prior to a tour of the Galapagos. Never having been in South America, it was comforting to stay at this small, historic hotel. The staff was quick to assist, advise, call cabs, etc. The hotel was itself was unique and visually interesting (in contrast to internationally known brands). Breakfasts were delicious and the perfect start for a day of touring. The location is great for touring the old part of the city and it's many historic sites. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank mariemysz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Gerente at La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a descirptive and wonderful comment.

It was certainly a pleasure having you stay with us.

Yours truly, Maria Salem / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2018

We stayed at this hotel for two nights on our way through Quito to the Galapagos. The room was clean, well-appointed, and the staff helpful and attentive. The location was excellent for walking to the center of the old city, and it was close to many dining options. The included breakfast was very good, and the coffee was great! I would recommend this hotel for both short or longer stays in Quito.

Room tip: Our room had a window onto an interior air shaft, so we did not get any city noise.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John2018-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Gerente at La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Dear John,

Thank you for recommending us for short and long stays.

We did enjoy having you stay at the hotel.

Yours truly, Maria Salem / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2018 via mobile

We visited the Galapagos in June, and stayed here when we returned to the mainland. I felt very safe here - we arrived at night and there was a guard at the door to buzz us in. Once inside, we had everything we needed. The restaurant was excellent and the staff was very accommodating. They stored our luggage the day we checked out of the hotel, secured us a driver to take us to the airport, and served coffee and cookies while we waited. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Gerente at La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

Dear Julie,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay at the hotel.

We certainly hope you will stay again in a future.

Yours sincerely, Maria Salem / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018 via mobile

The Casona de la Ronda is a gem of a hotel in an fascinating but underappreciated city and country. Rooms, service, restaurant, historic location, value, and even the hotel’s driver, were A+. Can’t recommend it too highly.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank walter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Gerente at La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Dear Walter,

Thank you for sayinw wer are a Gem in Quito.

It was certainly a pleasure having you stay at the hotel.

Yours truly, Maria Salem / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews