We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at La Casona twice over a week, on the way to the Galapagos and on the way back, and we enjoyed it a lot. You are only a short walk into the centre of Quito and La Ronda is a very interesting neighbourhood. The food in the restaurant was very good and the service very friendly. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and despite looking out into a "vertical garden" otherwise known as a light well, we felt the room was better than being at the front as it was very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete_Epsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    119
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
97
257
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Very original hotel in smartened up part of the old town. Room was great with huge bed. Couldn't open window but hey!
Arrived late but were fixed a meal. Dining room a little unprepossessing but staff were helpful.
Great lounge areas including a 'living wall!'
The central stair area was colourful with indigenous craft work displayed and free water dispensers.
The shower took us by surprise as it was on a short timer but we understand the eco friendly credentials!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed 4 nights before Galapagos. A lovely hotel with a traditional, calm feel, directly off La Ronda. The room was clean and comfortable with a huge bed, deluge shower and decent wi-fi. On the first floor landing and set back from the road in room 6 we had no problems with noise on Fri and Sat nights. Easy access to the Old Town and short taxi ride further north to the New Town and the tourist area of La Mariscal. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Choose a room off the street front if you like it quieter, especially at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 16Joolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

One of my favorite hotels in Quito now after trying several. The staff were far above average in friendliness and attentiveness. Local beers on demand in that lovely sitting room. Definitely check out the high observatory room as well. Have coffee there and photograph the city. Note that this is a three story plus stay and the stairs can be daunting. Request lower levels if needed. Breakfast very good and access to town excellent. Just a block from the city museum. I have no idea what 'street noise' another reviewer was talking about. Traffic access is limited around most sides of the Casona. The children at a nearby school were louder. And definitely eat some of your meals here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herschel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mijas
Level Contributor
226 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Lovely boutique hotel based around an internal courtyard that is glassed over to keep out the weather. Rooms very good, but be sure to request a room at the back if you want to escape noise from the road, especially on a Friday and a Saturday. Staff very friendly and service good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Our stay was from the 4 - 9th May. We found the hotel to be clean, welcoming & very comfortable. We were greeted with cups of Coca tea for the altitude as Quito is at 9000ft The beds were huge & comfy. Bathroom was large with an excellent rain shower. Soap, shampoo & conditioner supplied. Hairdrier & safe provided too. Tea & coffee facilities not provided in the room, refreshments are available from reception. The room was large with 2 case stands so we didn't feel cluttered. There is no heating in the rooms, so it can feel a little chilly in the evenings. The Breakfasts were excellent, cooked & continental self service style. They did run out of black tea bags though. Be aware that security in the area of La Ronda is high. There are police everywhere, giving a good sense of security. On the down side this means that access to the hotel is through a security barrier, the area is pedestrianised. This can sometimes be problematic taxi / driver access. Evening meals are available in the hotel from 7pm, we ate in several times & found the quality to be good if a little expensive. There are other restaurants close by. Noise was the only real downside. There was music playing outside in the evenings, and this is a capital city, so do expect noise late into the night. Our room was at the front of the hotel where we understand it is noisier, however we did not complain & made full use of our ear plugs. If you don't have any, the hotel will provide them.
On the top floor up a spiral staircase, there is a reading room. It has great views across the Old town - worth a look!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleRayofYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

La Casona de la Ronda was our last hotel after a 3 week trip through Peru and Ecuador (May 2013) and was a luxurious 2 night stay before a long journey home. This was the kind of hotel you just want to lounge around in, as there are so many beautiful spaces to enjoy.

Location: You couldn't ask for a better location to explore La Ronda as the picturesque pedestrian street is right outside. Plenty of other sites are nearby as well.

Rooms: The pictures I've seen on Tripadvisor don't really do it justice. The hotel is beautiful and has an old classic Spanish air about it. The open atrium in the middle with the light flooding through is just lovely, as are the public lofts upstairs that overlook Quito. The bathroom was a dream after staying in the Galapagos - plenty of hot water, great products, spacious shower. Great bed, lots of space in the room. We slept perfectly well and didn't have any noise troubles even though we were on the second floor overlooking the Ronda. I don't believe there was an elevator, so if you have troubles with stairs, you may want to book on the second floor.

Service: The staff are attentive and helpful. I was in correspondence with Maria at the front desk, who was warm and lovely from the beginning. She made it quite easy for me to book even when I had a lot of troubles sending money by Western Union. Breakfast was plentiful buffet style with both hot and cold items, lots of teas to choose from. There are purified water coolers for guests. Good wifi. If you are hungry and don't want to leave, the hotel restaurant serves pretty elegant food.

Once you arrive, you really feel like you can drop everything and relax. I definitely recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hykwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
1.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
3.6 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel

Property: La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Morales (La Ronda) OE1- 160 Centro Historico de Quito | y Guayaquil, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb location, easy access, in the heart of the Historic and Colonial Center, walking distance (5 minutes) to many main attractions such as Plaza Grande Main Square, Presidential Palace, La Companía (Golden Barroque Church), San Francisco Monastery, just to name a few.The hotel is located in “La Ronda” street; a narrow, lively pedestrian street full of character with many restaurants, bars and folk stores making it a unique neighborhood that is a ‘must do’ on your visit list. La Casona de la Ronda is a delightful, authentic Spanish Colonial style boutique hotel with a gentle, calming feel built in an old1738 Mansion. The rooms are attractively decorated beyond your expectations featuring hand carved furniture by local master craftsmen, polished fine wood flooring, spacious and comfortable with a deluge shower in the bathroom. Even though it is an old “La Casona” we offer modern services:• WiFi at no charge• Reception 24 hours, tour bookings available• Full service restaurant; buffet breakfast, a la carte lunch and dinner, room service available • Transportation to/from the airport upon request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing