We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (619)
Filter reviews
619 results
Traveler rating
440
147
22
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
147
22
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townchocolate shoppedestrian streetlovely hotelspiral staircaseon friday and saturday nightsno liftfiltered waterboxed breakfastinside roomreading roombreakfasts were excellenthistoric districtcentral atriumlounge areapotato soupmain sights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
480 - 485 of 619 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a beautiful boutique hotel in the old city on La Ronda. Step outside the front door and immerse yourself in Ecuadorian culture and music. The hospitality, staff and service are 5 star. The rooms and bathrooms are beautifully done and have every modern convenience. Spotlessly clean. Beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is included and is buffet or cooked to order. Excellent. We highly recommend. Maria, the owner, is a most gratuitous host.

Room Tip: On Thursday or Friday get a room away from the street noise.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDiegoWolfpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in March 2013.

The La Ronda neighborhood of Old Town Quito is unique and fun, as described by many other Trip Advisor reviewers. There are old-fashioned games on the street for tourists and locals to play, the foosball table that was constantly in use being the closest to the hotel. As the weekend draws near more artisan workshops and restaurants open and the activity picks up on the street. On our last day in La Ronda (a Thursday) we saw local school kids marching with instruments, some sort of Indian procession in native costume, an outdoor photography exhibit, street vendors and a variety of different street performers.

The hotel is an oasis and we loved stepping through the big wooden doors at the end of every day. It’s quiet and beautifully decorated. The rooms are spacious. Ours overlooked the street and had a lovely view of El Panecillo (and the only cat in Quito which suns itself everyday on the rooftops across the street from the hotel). There is a lovely sitting area in the lobby and a beautiful sunroom on the top floor overlooking El Panecillo. The hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating.

While the core of the hotel is quiet, your room may not be if the window opens onto the street. If you need peace and quiet and you like sleeping with an open window you may want to request a room whose window faces the courtyard in the interior of the hotel. However this is not recommended because you may miss the goings on of La Ronda, much of which can be viewed from your window!

The hotel arranged several day tours for us (of Old Town Quito, the equatorial line, Cotopaxi and Otavalo). We had three different tour guides over the course of our stay and all were extremely nice, professional and knowledgeable and spoke very good English. These tours were arranged the first day of our stay.

The hotel provides a filtered water station on every floor and a pitcher in your room. The staff speaks varying amounts of English, however with our limited Spanish we were able to communicate easily with everyone. They also store luggage, which is recommended if you are traveling to the Galapagos Islands. There is no elevator so be prepared for stairs (and altitude adjustment) if your room is not on the first floor. We arrived very late on a Saturday night (midnight) and had no problem checking in. They even carried our luggage up the stairs to our 3rd floor room.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of many Old Town sites. Go out on a Sunday when the streets of Old Town are closed to cars and there are street musicians and vendors and local families out enjoying the day on foot and bicycle.

Although there are lots of places to eat in Old Town, the immediate La Ronda neighborhood has many good restaurants to choose from. Because you're so close you don't have to worry about walking home after dark. For sweets, hot chocolate and coffee try Khipus right down the street from the hotel. To see and learn about cocoa and the ingredients it can be mixed with visit Chocolateria Chez Tiff located on one of the other La Ronda streets. In this building you can also visit a man that restores pianos. You can watch him work, hear him play, and if you're spanish is good he'll explain what he's doing.

We were very well taken care of by everyone in Ecuador and would not hesitate to visit the country or La Casona de la Ronda again.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows that open onto the street will be nosy, especially if you sleep with the window open. There is no elevator and it's a 3 story hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bryx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A rather quirky little hotel but great place to stay. It's in the heart if the o,d town so lots of restaurants to choose from in the area and within good walking distance of many of the sights. But we definitely recommend eating in the hotel restaurant as the food is delicious. The staff are great and will come and chat to you like old friends. Nothing is too much trouble for them. There is also a great view from the rooftop room where you can see over the town. We found the rooms themselves a little dark but they are fine as long as you don't intend spending all day in them.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank short_scuba_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here on 3 separate occasions for 5 nights in total, in March. The hotel rooms are set around a central courtyard. We had asked for a room at the back and were given room 9 and we were asked if we would like this room again on our return. They thought that the rooms overlooking La Ronda were nicer but as we are light sleepers , we prefer to have a quiet room. On our last visit we had room 6 which was slightly smaller but we found it even quieter.

The staff are lovely, they are very friendly and helpful and go out of their way to assist.
We ate dinner at the hotel on two occasions and the food was very good.There was a good selection for breakfast and the staff there were very attentive and friendly. On one occasion we were being picked up at 6am and we had been told that breakfast was served from 6am so thought that we wouldn't be able to have anything. When they knew the time we were leaving they said that we would be able to have breakfast from 5.30am.

We felt as though we were treated as family not as guests.

Room Tip: Room 9 was at the back so quieter. Room 6 was even quiter but a bit smaller than room 9
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afaj27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We arrived at 1 o'clock in the morning after spending an hour and a half navigating immigration at the new airport - and then the drive to the city. It was a friday night and the street was stil full of people and music when our guide rang the bell beside the large wooden door. Stepping inside was we found a peaceful, quiet indoor courtyard and a friendly welcome - and, of course, we got to bed as soon as we could. Despite the noise outside it was quiet in the room and we slept well in their comfortable bed. In the day-time the street was interesting, with little shops. At night the restaurants opened and there were more people about.
The area is closed to traffic for most of the time and there is a large presence of police and security guards that ensure that you feel safe. This is also true of much of the surrounding area of the city. While the streets are closed there are a number of traditional games placed there for people to play.
Our itinerary took us in and out of Quito and we had three separate, short stays at the hotel. All of the rooms were good, but our favourite (No 2, I think) was on the first floor at the front. That was a weekday, so there was not much noise from the street after about 21:30. Because of our busy itinerary we had little time to explore the city on our own and, because we were having lunches out we did not want a large evening meal, so we chose to have a light snack in the hotel - quite adequate and just what we needed.
The staff were excellent and very attentive - they had the knack of knowing when they were needed and being in the right place. Not all of them had much English (and our Spanish was poor) but we managed pretty well. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews