We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and then 2 nights during our total trip. The hotel is beautiful with excellent friendly staff. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The rooms at the front can be noisy at weekends as the pedestrian area is very popluar. We stayed during festival time so was pretty noisy- second visit we were in a room at the rear which was fine with no noise.

The hotel is well placed for visiting the old town and squares.

Free water provided- remember to take a bottle for filling! Free wifi

Only had breakfast there, but this was good quality and plentiful.

Overall, definitely worth considering.

Room Tip: request rooms at the back if you are staying over weekends
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
There are newer reviews for La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 541 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

In November 2012 we traveled for 3 weeks in Ecuador and stayed at this Hotel 3 times durning our visit. What a clean, nice place to stay. The staff can't help enough, rooms are large and quiet. The breakfast is wonderful! The Hotel is located in Old town and the area has lots of charm, and a short walk to the plaza Grande. We would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Location
I spent 3 weeks in Ecuador in November 2012 and used this small, boutique hotel as my base whilst in Quito, between visiting the Galapagos, Termas de Papallacta and Bellavista. The hotel is located in the Old Town and is just a short walk from the Plaza Grande with all the main tourist attractions of La Compania, Palacio Municipal, Palacio Presidencial and San Francisco. It is also an easy walk to La Basilica and on to the Mariscal if you wish to visit the New Town, or you can take a taxi for a few dollars. It’s worth noting that the Old Town is safer than the New. It has a significant police presence, on almost every street corner, and it is very safe for tourists. The New Town is not as safe and, as a single traveller, this hotel was an excellent choice for me and meant I could go out and sightsee without worry. There is also excellent security at the hotel itself, with an intercom entry system so no parts of the hotel can be accessed by non-guests.

The hotel is located on Morales at Calle de la Ronda and this street is known as the place to go in the Old Town on a Friday and Saturday night. Whilst this street attracts many of Quito’s youngsters at the weekend, you will also see families with small children and older relatives, all enjoying the party atmosphere and the live music. The rest of the week this street is completely quiet and you wouldn’t know that there are cafes and bars behind the closed doors. If you don’t want to join the party and are staying at Hotel de la Ronda on a Friday or Saturday night, simply ask for a room at the back where you won’t be disturbed. I recommend walking out and people watching at the weekend, it is a fascinating experience – the traditional snack is Empanadas and the local drink is Canalazo, a warm cinnamon tea with alcohol. Very nice!

Quito is almost 3000 metres above sea level so the altitude can be a problem for some travellers. I found that resting for the first morning of arrival and taking it easy when walking meant I didn’t suffer. I also drank plenty of water, even during the night, to keep hydrated. Ginger chews worked for the nausea and a couple of headache tablets sorted out the rest. By day 2 I was fine.

The hotel
Casona de la Ronda was outstanding for me for many reasons. All the staff employed here are fantastic. I can’t mention each and every one but must comment on the excellent assistance I received from the receptionists. They were so helpful sorting out my rooms for such a varied itinerary as well as giving me sound sight-seeing advice and even helping pack my case when I’d over-shopped at Otavalo market! The Manager is very hands on and I was grateful to him for organising for the chocolate shop to be opened on my last evening just for me to make my last minute purchases.

The hotel itself is beautiful, filled with hand-made furniture by local artisans. The décor is simple but stylish and gives the place a traditional, hacienda feel. There are only 2 floors and the rooms are arranged around the central atrium which looks down into the reception area. There is a small dining area and a lovely sitting room near reception, where you can also use a PC and printer with internet although the hotel also has wi-fi. There is a small outside courtyard with a wall of orchids. Not everyone finds the upstairs sitting room so don’t miss it. Go up the spiral staircase on the second floor you will find a magical room with a huge window overlooking Quito and the Panecilla (the statue of the Angel on the hill). When Quito is lit up at night this sitting room is wonderful, a great place to share a bottle of wine with fellow travellers.

The bedrooms are large, often with 2 queen sized beds with good quality white linens. All have a table and chairs, bench, chest, side tables, reading lamps and windows with shutters. The bathrooms have twin sinks and large, walk in showers with ample toiletries, hair dryer and thick, white bath towels. Each room has a large flat screen TV and plenty of accessible plug points to recharge cameras, phones etc.

Food
There is a separate breakfast room off reception. Whilst it is self-service the waiters are attentive and bring your toast when it’s done and replenish your coffee etc. The breakfasts were excellent – cereals, fresh fruits, fruit juices, yogurt, teas, coffee, hot chocolate. Hot buffet – tamales, scrambled eggs, bacon, small sausages, warm croissants, selection of breads with marmalade and jam.

The hotel offers cheese and wine from 5pm every evening which consists of 2 glasses of your choice of wine and 5 local cheeses to try. Dinner is available until 10pm. I only had one snack at the hotel (which was good) but can’t really comment on the evening food as I never had a full meal there.

Try to remember to take a water bottle with you when travelling in Ecuador. The hotel has fresh filtered water coolers on each floor and you can fill your bottle up there. This saves on buying bottled water and the subsequent problem of disposing of plastics.

Overall
Casona de la Ronda has a lovely, welcoming feel and it’s staff make every effort to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible. As a single traveller I felt secure and well looked after in this hotel. I would definitely stay here again and will be recommending it to friends and family.

Room Tip: If you stay at a weekend, ask for a room at the back.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pumpernickelYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Spent 3 nights here at the end of our month in South America. It was absolutely amazing - the best hotel of our trip. For a small boutique hotel is could not be better. It is situated in the old pedestrian only area of the city, which in itself is very quaint. The service is absolutely first class and the staff go way beyond the call of duty to make sure that your stay is comfortable. Our room was beautiful, although we only had a standard room and it was spotlessly clean.
The building is an old colonial Spanish mansion and the rooms are on balconies above the main reception area. It is artistically decorated and has a warm and welcoming atmosphere throughout. The main door is on an entry system which is great as Quito does have a few problems with crime. There is also a viewing gallery on the top floor which has an amazing view of the Quito hillside at night.
The food in the evenings was delicious and beautifully served and the breakfasts were the best of our whole trip. I could not praise this hotel enough.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front might be a little noisy at night.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

What a fantastic experience, to walk through the sturdy double doors and find yourself in the Patio of a colonial Spanish mansion. Restored with care and artistic flourish, this really is a jewel in the heart of old Quito. Very reasonably priced, the staff are attentive and charming, the rooms are many and varied, all around the patio on the two upper balconies. Why would you want to spend your time in one of those soulless concrete clone hotels in the north of the city, when you can have this special authentic experience?

My only regret is the short time I had there, arriving late afternoon from the cloud forest, with an early morning flight to the Galápagos Islands the next day. I will certainly be looking up the lovely Jacqueline, on my next trip to Quito.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngleseyKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great location for seeing the old town, beautiful hotel and rooms and fantastic staff. I managed to book the wrong week and when we arrived the staff did everything they could to rectify this even though it was my fault. From the moment we arrived, where they helped us with a taxi driver who was trying to charge the wrong fare, to transferring us to another hotel as they were fully booked for the 2nd night (they acted as if my mistake in booking the wrong week was somehow something they had to rectify!), they went above and beyond the call of duty. I would definitely go back here not just for the service but it really is a beautiful hotel to stay in and great value for money when you look at comparably priced
hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWenban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We came here by taxi from Latacunga near the end of 2 weeks travel in Ecuador. It was a great and pleasant treat to stay in such a first rate place for a reasonable price. The rooms are beautiful and spacious, the bathroom a delight, the beds excellent, the breakfast a real feast. The staff is helpful and friendly and most speak English. Conveniently located in the Old Town this is a terrific place that we whole-heartedly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomcheetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#10 of 112 in Quito
1,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 112 in Quito
683 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.6 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 112 in Quito
285 reviews
1.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Morales (La Ronda) OE1- 160 Centro Historico de Quito | y Guayaquil, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: $136 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb location, easy access, in the heart of the Historic and Colonial Center, walking distance (5 minutes) to many main attractions such as Plaza Grande Main Square, Presidential Palace, La Companía (Golden Barroque Church), San Francisco Monastery, just to name a few.The hotel is located in “La Ronda” street; a narrow, lively pedestrian street full of character with many restaurants, bars and folk stores making it a unique neighborhood that is a ‘must do’ on your visit list. La Casona de la Ronda is a delightful, authentic Spanish Colonial style boutique hotel with a gentle, calming feel built in an old1738 Mansion. The rooms are attractively decorated beyond your expectations featuring hand carved furniture by local master craftsmen, polished fine wood flooring, spacious and comfortable with a deluge shower in the bathroom. Even though it is an old “La Casona” we offer modern services:• WiFi at no charge• Reception 24 hours, tour bookings available• Full service restaurant; buffet breakfast, a la carte lunch and dinner, room service available • Transportation to/from the airport upon request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing