We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, personalized service and nice ambiance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed at La Casona for 3 nights during our honeymoon in September 2012. The staff really made us feel welcome, always giving tips and asking about our day, without being too intrusive.

La ronda is the cutest street of Quito. We heard that it had been pretty run down and dangerous a few years ago, of which you could see nothing today. We never felt unsafe.

The hotel had neat, tidy rooms which seems to have been renovated recently with a spacious, clean, bathroom.

The only negative thing about the hotel was their recommendation of bike tour guide, a Dutchman called Aires, who was outright rude pretty much the whole tour.

I warmly recommend this cozy, well run hotel.


  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PierreLiljefeldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
There are newer reviews for La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 541 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

We heard from fellow travelers what a wonderful hotel this was and that the building was beautiful and had historical signifcance. We stopped by and were let in and given a tour and found the rooms to be charming and spacious. The manager, Gisella Petrilli, insisted that we sit down and served us a free sampling of Ecuadorian sweets and a fire was built in the sitting area just for us. We were extremely fortunate to have been let in as it started to hail without a couple of minutes of our entry into the hotel. When it was time to leave, a cab was called and one of the staff waited with us until it arrived and ensured that the cab driver charged us the correct amount. If the management is this nice to non- guests, we can only imagine how hospitable they are to their guests.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed in this hotel with a small group from NZ and Australia, May 2012. The facilities are wonderful. You have the feeling of staying in a very grand and welcoming stately home rather than a city hotel. The location is very central and the area around interesting to explore. We will definitely recomment this location to our local travel agents and friends.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Gael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Not only was this hotel a great value in an amazing area (much better than the Mariscal Sucre/New Town) the staff were incredibly helpful and the hotel amenities were wonderful! Room 21 was perfect with the view of the wall garden and when the wood stove was lit the smoke gently wafted up through the window reminding you to take advantage of the lovely lounge and internet. They remembered that it was our anniversary and even gave us a bottle of wine! Make sure that you do the fine local cheese and wine sampling and perhaps go up to the mirador at the top of the spiral staircase! Toast 'salud' to the winged virgin for me!

Room Tip: This can be a lively area on Friday and Saturday. Ask for a room in the back if possible.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We used La Casona de la Ronda as our base during our holiday to Ecuador in August 2012, spending 5 nights there in total in between travelling to the Galapagos and the rainforest. Everything about La Casona was excellent. It is located in the centre of the historic old town. The hotel was beautifully furnished and typically Ecuadorian in style. The rooms, bathrooms and communal areas were all spotlessly clean and extremely well appointed. Breakfasts were excellent and ample and the food available during the day was superb. However, despite all of this what really made La Ronda stand out was the amazing service. Nothing was too much trouble and we always felt that the staff genuinely wanted to help (rather than merely doing their job) to make our stay in their hotel and city the best it could be. The icing on the cake came on our last day when only 3 hours before we were due to leave for the airport to come home one of our sons was taken ill. Within 20 minutes a doctor had been called and had arrived at the hotel - and medicine prescribed, which one of the hotel staff went and got for us - we were able to make our flight. The owners of this hotel have created a jewel in the capital of Ecuador - I'd recommend La Casona de la Ronda to anyone thinking of visiting Quito.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter as do not overlook the street
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

we visited Ecuador in August this year (2012) and stayed in 'La Casona'. The whole experience was really good, the staff could not have been more welcoming and their pride in 'their' Hotel was a real change from the bored smiles that have become common-place in Hotel chains around the world. we had early starts and we were greeted at 'stupid O'Clock' by breakfast and coffee as if it was the regular time.
the presentation of the Hotel was really good with staff taking us to the top of the Hotel to proudly show us the view towards the 'Angel of Quito' that looks after all the inhabitants , the history of the town was sketched in and we were made aware of the history of the building from the 17th century.
a refreshing change from the usual international 'same old, same old' .
well done!!!
could not have been more helpful!!!

Room Tip: just stay here,, its great
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foamdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I fell in love with this place the moment I step inside. Located on the pedestrian street of La Ronda, it has quaint shops and restaurants all within very close walking distance. The food in the hotel was excellent too, from breakfast to a late night meal. The rooms were spotless and the hotel staff extremely helpful in helping to book taxis and providing maps for exploring this wonderful city. I truly recommend this hotel if you are staying for a night, week or longer. You will find yourself right at home in no time!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#10 of 112 in Quito
1,178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 112 in Quito
683 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
1.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
11.3 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Morales (La Ronda) OE1- 160 Centro Historico de Quito | y Guayaquil, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: $141 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb location, easy access, in the heart of the Historic and Colonial Center, walking distance (5 minutes) to many main attractions such as Plaza Grande Main Square, Presidential Palace, La Companía (Golden Barroque Church), San Francisco Monastery, just to name a few.The hotel is located in “La Ronda” street; a narrow, lively pedestrian street full of character with many restaurants, bars and folk stores making it a unique neighborhood that is a ‘must do’ on your visit list. La Casona de la Ronda is a delightful, authentic Spanish Colonial style boutique hotel with a gentle, calming feel built in an old1738 Mansion. The rooms are attractively decorated beyond your expectations featuring hand carved furniture by local master craftsmen, polished fine wood flooring, spacious and comfortable with a deluge shower in the bathroom. Even though it is an old “La Casona” we offer modern services:• WiFi at no charge• Reception 24 hours, tour bookings available• Full service restaurant; buffet breakfast, a la carte lunch and dinner, room service available • Transportation to/from the airport upon request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing