We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice common space, but rooms need some work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna
Ranked #7 of 232 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Nice common space, but rooms need some work”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I read the reviews on tripadvisor, so maybe my expectations were too high? We stayed here for our last night in Quito, before heading out on a three day cycling trip. We'd stayed at an airbnb apartment previously in Quito, so wanted to stay in old town again. I booked the room on bookings.com, and they only had a triple room listed, so I took it. When we arrived we were shown to the room, which had 3 single beds(which was my fault for booking a triple) and no window in the room. We were paying $95 for one night, I was kinda hoping for a window. I asked the woman if she had a room with a window and she said yes, since we were only staying one night. We were given a room with a queen bed, which was much better as we were traveling as a couple. The woman mentioned that we would be given a lower rate as we were not 3 people, but when we checked out we paid the same price as I was quoted on bookings.com. Ok, fine and at least they managed to give us a room with a window. The room was a good size and the bed was comfortable. The room could use some work though, the handle was broken on the bathroom door, which meant it could not be closed. The bathroom was fine, a little tired, but fine.
We were in the room above the kitchen downstairs, so if you're a light sleeper this would not be ideal, as it was quite noisy. The room was nicely decorated and the hotel common areas were gorgeous. The common areas really make this place special, as do the very friendly staff. The breakfast should be skipped, bun, jam and under ripe fruit, best to get breakfast out.
The hotel was nice enough to let us store our luggage during our 3 day cycling trip, which was great. Unfortunately when we picked it up, we discovered the hat box with our hats in it, must have fallen open and our lovely panama hats were crushed. This was really disappointing as we had specifically left them at the hotel for safe keeping.
I can't compare this hotel to other places in Quito, as we stayed in a private apartment previously, but compared to our stay in Cuenca in a similar hotel, it's just not good value. I think it could be lovely, if repairs were done to the rooms and the breakfast was vastly improved.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heathermg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardo S, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest: your view and opinions are important to us we try to improve the things that are wrong, and we want to see you in another time and demonstrate the work for you. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    112
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
66
193
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I have just recently been reminiscing over previous trips and am overjoyed to see Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna is receiving some great reviews on Tripadvisor! My stay here was in January 2012 and apart from it being an amazing building (very clean rooms and a beautiful internal courtyard) in the perfect location to explore the old town of Quito, the one thing that stood out for me the most was the friendliness of the staff and the owners. Having been very fortunate over the years to have travelled to a number of countries, i have to say that i have never been made to feel more welcome than when i stayed here. From the moment i arrived, i was treated like family and nothing was ever too much, no matter what time of day or night it was. If this wasn't enough, i was also taken on a guided tour around the old town and also invited to have dinner with the hotel owners and family members which was a truly memorable and humbling experience that still lives with me today! If you ever find yourself in Quito, don't hesitate to stay here... you will be in for a very warm welcome! Gracias Bernado! Gracias Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoMoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardo S, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Nice to hear about you, tnaks for your review, we want to see you again... Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The lady owner of this Hotel was so sweet and caring and spoke very good English. My daughter got a bad cold and didn't want to leave the room and they brought her chicken soup and bread as I was dining in their small restaurant. They also brought her breakfast as I ate mine in their restaurant. Just so caring people and the room was very adequate!

Room Tip: Ask for an outside courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimfromhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardo S, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest: Thanks for your opinion, our goal is that you feel at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We arrived in Quito shortly before Christmas, and the teeming congestion of people and cars in the historic district was pretty overwhelming to me. This hotel, however, manages to be in the heart of the historic district's action while still providing a retreat--you go through a quiet courtyard to get it and you feel pretty well sheltered from the street.
The interior decor is highly unusual and picturesque--antique furnishings, plants, and amazing details abound. The room itself was spacious and clean, although the bed, bedding and bathroom were pretty basic, not luxurious. (However the price of the room was also NOT a luxury price. And yes, you can't throw your toilet paper in the toilet there--something that is true most places we visited in Ecuador) I appreciated having a tea room upstairs we could hang out in.
I thought the breakfasts were wonderful--served graciously in a cozy atmosphere with fresh cooked eggs to order, local breads and jams, nice local fruits. If I had it to do over I would try to have a dinner at the hotel as well--I was not really thrilled with most of the restaurants I tried in Quito but felt very comfortable eating at the hotel.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Because of changes in our travel plans, we had to cancel our 2nd reservation to return to this hotel later in our stay, and we did so 11 days in advance. We originally made our reservation through booking.com, and with them if you cancel less than 15 days in advance, you pay a substantial penalty--it was going to be $70.
I complained to booking.com about this, and they said they had to ask the hotel for permission not to charge us $70 for the cancellation. The staff at this hotel told booking.com not to charge us anything for the cancellation, even though they were still going to have to pay a fee to booking.com for setting up those reservations. That was very gracious of the the people at the hotel, and was typical of how we were treated by them.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardo S, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest: We are very glad to read your nice review. We will certainly love to have you back with us, Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Right around the corner from Plaza San Francisco, down a quiet alley, there couldn't be a better location for a hotel in Quito. The indoor courtyard is very pretty and the hotel is clean and well-kept. The one knock would be the lack of a good food option and a pretty poor breakfast, but there are a number of good cafes and restaurants just outside the hotel (like the incredible one at Casa Gangotena!)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larsonbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardo S, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest: Thank you for your comment we are glad that you enjoyed your visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The entrance off the street may not be inviting, but stepping through the doors gives you a sense you've entered a quiet, charming sanctuary off the busy streets of Old Town. The hotel is ideally located within walking distance of the major sights. The room & beds were comfortable, everything worked, and the breakfast was fabulous. We would stay here again...our only regret is that we were passing through & only stayed 1 night here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardo S, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest: Thank you for your nice review, for us was a pleasure to serve you. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

a converted double-storey family home with inner courtyard and period furniture, with lots of lovely decorations and plants. There is a reading room, a dining/now common room with tea making and great (free) Wifi. The breakfast in the attached restaurant is very good. You can buy dinner there as well. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

The downside is the service. We needed to ask to have the bathroom cleaned (remember, in Ecuador used toilet paper cannot be flushed away....), then we had no towels, and the small safe in the room is not fixed, so anyone could just take the whole lot! Leave valuables with staff. The room is adequate, a bit old and basic, the bed and pillows hard.

Location is great, in the middle of the historic quarter. Walk to lots of small eateries and interesting shops - but you need Spanish! Also buses go everywhere from here.
Also be careful about directions, nobody seems to get their East and West right....and there is confusion about the old and the new airport. It took our taxi 75 mins from airport to hotel, though it only cost $26 (in reverse it's dearer). Keep this in mind if you have a very early flight out! The new airport is near the suburb of Tababela, and there is no direct quick road to it from the historic quarter..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardo S, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest: Thank you for your review. Your comments are very valuable to us, we are always willing to improve and provide better service. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 115 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
1.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna

Property: Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna
Address: Bolivar Oe 6-105 | Centro Historico, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing