We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could want”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna
Ranked #7 of 253 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed one night in this lovely hotel, and wished we could have booked again later in our trip. Owned by an Ecuadorian family who all spoke excellent English it was a comfortable home form home 10000 feet up into the skies. The location was superb in the Old Town, the hotel extremely comfortable and all at an excellent price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anned0_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 421 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

Feels very safe, down an alley off the main road. Owners are friendly, helpful and speak good english. the building itself is very interesting, with a stained glass roof, a beautiful courtyard and colonial charm. It is family owned and downstairs the restaurant does good evening meals as well as breakfast. When we were there it was quiet, despite it's central location in the historic centre.

Room Tip: We asked for a quieter room and got one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Little_Beret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This small local hotel is lovely, and so are the family who own it. It is in a great location very close to San Franciso square in the old town, which is a much more atmospheric place to stay (and quieter) than in Mariscal. I stayed here for 3 nights during August/September, and found it to be comforable, clean and tasteful. There were no issues with hot water or water pressure. The included breakfast was great, I ate at the restaurant once and the food was delicious. The owners couldn't have been more helpful. Many thanks to Sonia, Bernando and all the staff.

Room Tip: The rooms which have windows facing the entrance to the hotel are a little noisy early in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneSolofemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

If you like small authentic local hotels then this is for you. It's like being transported in time to this old colonial house tastefully renovated. All services are excellent in a perfect location. The personal touch of the host family put the final seal on our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Recently stayed 5 nights at the Portal de Cantuna and it was a highlight of our trip to Quito. Conveniently located in Old Town, the family that runs the hotel could not do enough for us. Our rooms were large and neat, the bathrooms clean and the showers had great water pressure and hot water. They recommended their friend Dante, who has a new tour company called Latin Adventures, and he took us on a wonderful private day trip to the Quilotoa Loop. The included breakfast was delicious and bountiful. We ate at the new restaurant for dinner twice and the garlic shrimp is to die for. Thank you Sofia, Bernando and everyone at Portal de Cantuna for making us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Su2116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My cousin and I just finished a 6 week trip through South America and visited Ecuador and Peru. We were so incredibly thankful to have stayed our first 6 days in Quito at Portal de Cantuna. My cousin heard of this hotel through trip advisor and booked it based on its awesome reviews and after staying there its no surprise. The hotel is in Old Town which is such a beautiful and historical part of Quito. Although it is somewhat touristy it is not as populated as Mariscal which seems to have potential but doesn't have as much culture and character and is more americanized than Old Town. It is walking distance from many of the attractions, the San Francisco, Basilica, Compania de Jesus, Parliament, the market etc...It was also very easy to find cabs and restaurant and being a first timer traveling overseas felt very safe.
The hotel itself was beautifull and it has so much character, it is clean and very comfortable and very reasonably priced. The family that runs the hotel is so incredibly kind and helpful and made our stay there so enjoyable. They helped us book day trips, make recommendations, give us directions, hail cabs, and even took us out one night! We learned that the hotel was actually their Grandfathers and has been in their family for years. The artwork, furniture, decorations, and even the dining and living room are all still in original and good condition making it feel very warm and comfortable. It's obvious how much hard work and effort they put into maintaining the character and feel of the home while renovating it. They serve a good breakfast each morning and are just very loving and helpful people. Bernardo and Kayatano are the two sons who pretty much manage the day to day business and although they are busy they always are easy to get ahold of and very helpful if you have any questions. If you are in Quito whether your a backpacker or family vacationing I would strongly recommend staying at Portal de Cantuna. PS if you do any day trips while your there ask for Dante he was a great guide and person to get to know!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amorgan9786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Amazing find in the old town. The rooms were great, modern bathrooms, comfortable beds and spacious. The location is perfect for exploring the old town on foot and the staff will help when wanting to venture further afar. The restaurant downstairs serves great fresh food of western and local influence. Bernardo is a great host and will make sure you have a good time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roaming1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
714 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 113 in Quito
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#5 of 113 in Quito
546 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.3 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna

Address: Bolivar Oe 6-105 | Centro Historico, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 253 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: $56 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing