We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (792)
Filter reviews
792 results
Traveler rating
718
53
16
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
718
53
16
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea beautiful hotel mashpi lodge the plaza san francisco old town marble bathroom restored mansion luxury hotel local fruit roof terrace turn down service fresh flowers three nights ceviche third floor family home loved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 792 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely 2-night stay at Casa Gangotena - ideal location to explore the Old Town, also with nice views from the terrace. The rooms were well appointed and very comfortable, the service was top-notch (and friendly) and the breakfast is really good. Great stay, would not change anything!

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Tanguy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanDavidE19, Gerente at Casa Gangotena, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Tanguy M
Thank you very much for sharing your experience here in trip advisor. Sorry for not getting back to you earlier. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to be your hosts again in the near future.
All the best
Juan David Echeverria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Family owned, old mansion over looking the beautiful San Francisco square!! Simple yet luxurious. Staff greets you like royalty, rooms are beautiful and spacious. Best are the ones with the view to the square. I was only there on a short business trip so didn't enjoy all the hotel offerings however will definitely be back. Quito is an amazingly beautiful city!!

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank thetraveller923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanDavidE19, Gerente at Casa Gangotena, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear thetraveller923
Thank you very much for your kind review, certainly Quito is an amazingly beautiful city, please let us know if you are coming back to Quito, we looking forward to welcome you to Casa Gangotena.
All the best
Juan David Echeverria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018

We've stayed at a number of hotels in Quito and without a doubt - Casa Gangotena is our favorite.

Last month, my wife and I stayed there with our two children (ages 7 and 8). From the moment we arrived, the hotel's staff was gracious and professional. Our children loved the room overlooking Plaza San Francisco and the flexibility the location offered to explore the Old Town.

We had the opportunity to have both breakfast and dinner at the hotel. All the meals were well prepared and memorable. We also very much enjoyed the roof terrace as a lovely way to relax after a long day.

I'd also like to express my appreciation to the front desk staff and porter who helped me track down a memory card for our GoPro rather late in the evening. We wouldn't have been able to do it without you!

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianT3380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanDavidE19, Gerente at Casa Gangotena, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear BrianT3380
Thank you very much for your warm review, I’m pleased to know that you and your family enjoyed your time with us; especially the little ones. We truly hope to have the opportunity to be your hosts again.
All the best
Juan David Echeverria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018

Just to enter the hotel and be received by the hotel staff leaves an indelible impression. The hotel, family owned, is quite spectacular: the staff, pristine in their dress and demeanour, the decor quite astounding and the rooms lack nothing. The bar/cafe is well appointed, the dining room light and airy with tables set apart to provide a discreet experience for a quiet and high standard of gastronomy. All the staff provided an excellent service and for anyone visiting Quito this hotel is located perfectly within the Old Town. I am only sad that I stayed here for just 2 nights.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Plaza offer great views
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanDavidE19, Gerente at Casa Gangotena, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Keith P
Thank you very much for your feedback, I’m delighted to know that you had a wonderful time at Casa Gangotena, hope we had a chance to welcome you again in the near future.
All the best
Juan David Echeverria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018

The hotel Gangotena on the San Francisco square is very luxurious with a welcoming, friendly and efficient staff. We had room number 204 in this old elegant mansion, had two double beds and a wonderful view out onto San Francisco Square so we could watch the happenings in the Square and see the beautiful church of San Francisco. It’s very quiet on the Square at night, as there are no cafés and restaurants around the square. Every evening in our room at turndown, we are served a lovely end of the day treat such as a chocolate bonbon or a cookie covered in chocolate. In the room was tea and coffee making facilities including a coffee press, but there is no mini bar. A lovely plate of tropical fruit is in the room was periodically refreshed, and there was plenty of bottled still and sparkling water. The beds were very comfortable with crisp linens. The marble bathroom was well appointed with plush and fluffy towels, separate shower and tub with plenty of hot water, excellent L'Occitane products. The only flaw was that there was only one sink. Breakfast in the morning consisted of a small buffet with fruit cereal and yogurt and fruit juices. You were then able to order off the menu for the main part of the meal. The breakfast offered traditional items plus several local specialties. The servings as were on the small side, but you could order multiple things and the quality and taste was excellent. This is simply the finest accommodation in Quito and is full of traditional charm, class and luxury.

Room Tip: Room 204 for an excellent view of the San Francisco Church and Square
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ono O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroP5526, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Casa Gangotena, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We’re so happy to hear that your stay at Casa Gangotena met every expectation you had. Our main goal is that, when you stay with us, you get to feel what Quito is all about. We couldn’t be happier to know that our staff gave you a taste of true Ecuadorian hospitality! At the end of the day, it’s the small details that turn a regular experience into something superb! We’ll take your generous review into consideration to keep improving!
Once again, thank you so much for your feedback!
We hope to see you again very soon!


Kind regards,

Casa Gangotena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews