We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quito Gem”
Review of Casa Gangotena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Gangotena
Ranked #3 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

A gem of a property in a great location in Old Town Quito. The staff provided service with a gentle elegance that made for comfortable luxury. The property is beautiful - spotlessly clean, well decorated rooms of a good size. The bathrooms are quite nice! The provided free bottled water which is key at the elevation of Quito. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sassytraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FDelgadoV, General Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Sassytraveler1,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in Casa Gangotena with the Trip Advisor community, and we hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again in the future.

Wishing you all the best

Fernando Delgado V.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 409 of 706 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Casa Gangotena is a gem. A restored colonial home now a gorgeous boutique hotel . The service was exceptional and the rooms equipped with all the necessary luxuries. A room overlooking Plaza San Francisco is a must. The view from the terrace is breathtaking! The breakfast buffet and a la carte menu was great. We had valentines's dinner which was romantic (of course) though the quality of the fixed meal didn't meet our expectations. I also think that more can be done to create the ideal intimate ambience through lighting and decor. I congratulate the owners and wish them continuous improvement!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank markypao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FDelgadoV, General Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Markypao,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, here on TripAdvisor.
It means so much for us to hear what you say about our service and the hotel as a whole. I appreciate your feedback regarding the dinner at Valentine´s I shared your comment with our Chef I am sorry if we could not meet your expectations in this aspect. I am also happy to tell you that a remodelling of the restaurant is planed for this coming September, and your comments will be used for sure in the planning of the new décor and mood of the place .
Once again thank you very much for all your feedback

Yours truly,

Fernando Delgado V.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Three nights of sheer luxury while exploring the beautiful city of Quito and Amazon rain forest. Great service and quiet comfortable large rooms. Afternoon tea with a tower of cakes etc was a special treat for a British couple! The best hotel we've stayed in and will recommend it highly to friends and our travel agent.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FDelgadoV, General Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Andrew F,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of Casa Gangotena, I am very pleased to know how much you enjoyed your time with us, and that we were able to deliver a proper afternoon tea that met your British standards :-).
There is not greater accolade for us all than knowing that guests think of us as the best hotel that they have experienced.

With my very best regards and gratitude

Fernando Delgado V.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is an elegant hotel with well trained, attentive staff. We enjoyed it so much that we were tempted to relax in our comfortable room rather than explore the town. Breakfast is included and elaborate. There is also an afternoon tea for hotel guests (included). In addition to all this delicious food, there was a lovely fruit tray and platter of pastries in our room. We reserved the standard room and it was spacious and elegant. The bathroom was large with all the amenities. The hotel is located right in the center of the older, historic area so much of what we wanted to visit was within easy walking distance. Be sure to visit the terrace on the top floor for a beautiful view of the city at night.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank lsaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FDelgadoV, General Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Isaron,

Your kind review of our hotel is very much appreciated. We are very proud of the product we provide to all of our guests , but. most importantly, we take pride in the experiences that you have with our team that leave you with lasting impressions. An of course we love to know that you enjoyed stay-in in the hotel as much as you did.

With warmest regards

Fernando Delgado V.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I was looking for a hotel for a group to stay in for the 36 hours (and 2 nights) before departing for the Galapagos. 10 of us all had a wonderful time and loved the hotel, as brief as our stay was. The United flight into Quito from Houston arrives at midnight. So with bags, immigration, and the long drive in from the airport (over an hour) we did not get to the hotel until 1:30 am. We were warmly greeted by the staff as well as a tray of tea and sandwiches plus fresh cookies and fruit in our room. A much welcome treat. The rooms are all quite unique (though those on the church square side might be considered a bit noisy due to the street noise). Regardless, our room was very comfortable and the others in our group reported the same. At tea time after our city tour, we had another round of very excellent hors d'oeuvres, sweets and snacks on the top floor veranda which offered a great view of the city. We did not dine in the restaurant, but those in our party who did reported it to be excellent. Further, the breakfast buffet was more than ample. This is a great hotel, as all the reviews have indicated, and well worth the stay if you can swing it.

Room Tip: If concerned about street noise, you might want an interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PWS312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is one of the best hotels I ever visited. Very nice situated in the centre of Quito, kind atmosphere and perfect service. I was here for an assignment as travel journalist on my way to the Galapagos. I was impressed by the way chef Andrés Dávila of the restaurant works with authentic product, bought on the near by town market. I felt comfortable and welcome in this very cosy, luxurious and well organised hotel. Really worth a detour!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrianus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Best place to stay in Quito, you don't need a car, you can walk to know old downtown, people are so kind and warm, you must visit "Plaza Grande" on mondays and taste natural and fresh food at markets, don't forget your smile and say thank you. I would like to repeat my good experience in this beautiful country I hope to visit Cuenca, Galapagos and the most important city called Guayaquil.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jairo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.5 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 112 in Quito
300 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#11 of 112 in Quito
1,219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Grande
Hotel Plaza Grande
#29 of 112 in Quito
302 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gangotena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gangotena

Address: Bolivar OE6-41 | and Cuenca St., Quito 170401, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: $437 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Gangotena 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a newly-restored historic mansion overlooking Plaza San Francisco, the three-story Casa Gangotena harbours 31 rooms, a showcase of eye-catching style, contemporary design, antiques, fine furnishings, modern technologies and quintessential comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Gangotena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing