We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real professional service”
Review of Casa Gangotena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Gangotena
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We also stayed between Cloud Forest and Galapagos trips, and felt sad not to have experienced the hotel fully. It lived up to its reputation, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, even making a backup disc for our many photos so far.
It was strange but delightful to have an afternoon tea in beautiful surroundings in a lovely atmospheric part of the old town.
The fresh flowers were stunning, and the fruit in the room delicious, even with instructions!
Breakfast was an absolute trea, with champagne available for the brave.

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms, both spacious and well equipped.It was good overlooking the inner courtyard.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katrinamc322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
There are newer reviews for Casa Gangotena
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 412 of 683 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

Many reviewers have described how stunningly beautiful Casa Gangotena is and how lovely the setting on colonial San Francisco Plaza. All true; the restoration of this historic villa is perfect in every detail and each comfortable corner is filled with roses, orchids and gorgeous views of the city. And it's hard to leave the marble bathrooms. But what makes staying here extraordinary is the gracious hospitality and the warmth evident in every encounter with the people who work here. You can arrive bedraggled and late from the Quito airport as I did and be welcomed like family. The hotel has anticipated everything you might want. From the first greeting with a refreshing herbal drink, to the Ecuadorian fruits in your room, to the wonderful breakfasts, and even the loan of a cell phone while you explore Quito, Caso Gangotena is a marvel; the hotel deserves very accolade it has received.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel prior to our Galapagos cruise. It is a really fine hotel. Great staff and food. It is a ways from airport but everything is in Quito. You will love this place. The location is in the historic area which makes hotel very interesting.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This has to be one of the best service hotels we have ever stayed in anywhere in the world. We arrived very late in the evening, 11 PM and the hotel had sandwiches waiting for us as soon as we walked into the hotel. Our room was absolutely gorgeous and on the top terrace floor with a view of the winged Mary on the hill. Just a few steps away from our room was a terrace with seating where one could enjoy the view of San Francisco Plaza, beautiful at night with the lighted domes in view. With some communications before our arrival, the hotel arranged our private guide, with our desired itinerary, for our stay. The concierge also scored hard to get reservations at restaurants that we requested and dealt with our airline reservations as well. The included breakfast was outstanding every morning and they had a huge selection of food to choose from. Honestly, we cannot say more about this incredible hotel, except we cannot wait to go back for another visit and we know we will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DayDreamer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

A lovely hotel situated right off a central historic square. Everything looks brand new and is very clean. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. The rainfall shower in the white marble bathroom is something to look forward to every morning-I didn't want to get out! Lots of little touches that make this place special- the fresh fruit in the room on arrival, the handwritten welcome note from the concierge, the chocolates and cookies left by the turn down staff in the evening were all apprciated. We didn't eat dinner here but the buffet breakfast was wonderful- lots of local cheeses and fruits guaranteed a healthy start to the day!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

On our recent trip to South America we stayed at this hotel in Quito. It was booked by the tour company we were travelling with - lucky us! We had three consecutive stays and each one was as good as the other. The staff in all areas were helpful and friendly and put up with our lack of Spanish. Each time we returned we were allocated the same room and welcomed "home". We all agreed that we would not hesitate to recommend this property to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We thought everything about this hotel was wonderful (had there been a pool we would have been in paradise) but the fascinating town of Old Quito gave us plenty of other distractions. The buffet breakfast was wiothout doubt the most amazing we have ever experienced anywhere in the world - including 5 star resorts in Bali.

Room Tip: WE were in Terrace 1 - spacious and luxurious with a huge terrace which although accessible to other...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deverard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
2.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#10 of 111 in Quito
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.3 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
3.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#7 of 111 in Quito
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gangotena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gangotena

Address: Bolivar OE6-41 | and Cuenca St., Quito 170401, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: $547 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Gangotena 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a newly-restored historic mansion overlooking Plaza San Francisco, the three-story Casa Gangotena harbours 31 rooms, a showcase of eye-catching style, contemporary design, antiques, fine furnishings, modern technologies and quintessential comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Gangotena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing