We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$136
$109
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$78
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $84/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$136
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Reina Isabel(Quito)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$383
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $246/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveler rating
700
52
16
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
700
52
16
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teabeautiful hotelmashpi lodgethe plaza san franciscoold townrestored mansionluxury hotellocal fruitroof terraceturn down servicefresh flowersthree nightscevichefamily homeloved this hotellatin americagalapagos islands
Filter
Updating list...
489 - 494 of 773 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I just spent 4 nights in Quito at Casa Gangotena and can't complain about a thing! The staff was so attentive to my needs. The meals, rooms and staff were as good if not better then any hotel in Latin America. Its a newly refurbished hotel in one of the two most important squares in the historical unesco center. San Francisco square has a stunning church and there is always something cultural going on right outside. One of the surprises in the early am is that the church bell rings at 5 am and 6 am so if you want to sleep in your going to need to go through that! I was up early for a convention so it didn't bother me a bit.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the square are best but the inside courtyard rooms are private and peaceful.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikebrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed with my wife twice in Quito and enjoy the atmosphere, the service and kitchen of this hotel. It's an unique proposition, because this house has been refurbished two years ago, creating an hotel that is more like a palace, at San Francisco Square, Rooms are very well decorated, with colonial style. Sip a glace of wine at fresco at the roof terrace. Enjoy a nice diner, choosing the daily proposition of the chef.

its the place to stay in Quito

Room Tip: choose rooms with a view towards San Francisco Square.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank robyferrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed four nights at this hotel. The friendly atmosphere, the perfect service and the excellent cuisine of the restaurant make this place one of the best i have ever been. The location could not be better, directly located at Plaza San Francisco in the Old City. The reception desk helped us to get the contact to a local guide to visit Quito. The choice of the guide (Marco) was perfect, thanks to him we learned a lot about the country, the city and the people. Fully agree with the comment of another traveller: we felt home when we came back after our hiking tour for one last night in Casa Gangotena.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

A full refurbishment in 2011 makes this clearly the best luxury option in town. Unrivalled location on the corner of San Francisco square in an old colonial building. Rooms are spacious with classic colonial style. Excellent service overall. Really good breakfast buffet service.

The hotel has a great roof terrace with wonderful nighttime views over the city, but for some strange reason there is no bar service to the tables that are set up there.

Wifi is slow and dropped connection regularly, but this is probably a universal problem in Ecuador.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank TheGlobalFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent the last few nights of our honeymoon in Quito at Casa Gangotena. It was an amazing hotel with top notch service. Everyone is very attentive and they will cater to your every need.

They helped us plan a birding trip to Refugio Paz de las Aves to see the Antpittas and the Cock of the Rock. They packed us lunch and had coffee ready for us at 4am with out us even asking. Besides the service the rooms are amazing and the food is really good too.

Thanks for all of the great memories, it was truly unforgettable.

Room Tip: We stayed in terrace 2 and had a small private balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JamesMucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews