We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer class”
Review of Casa Gangotena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Gangotena
Ranked #3 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was visiting Quito, Ecuador on a site inspection as I am bringing a tour group there next year.
Casa Gangotena suited my requirements perfectly. The attention to detail, the personal service from the concierge to the porters was sensational. This was not evident anywhere else I visited.
The rooms are beautifully fitted out and have great character with their high ceilings, interesting murals and well fitted bathrooms. The Management understand the concept of "service" and it is to their credit that this has permeated down to every member of their team. Well done! I will be back with my group next year.

Room Tip: Try getting a room facing the square in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scully01503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

442 - 448 of 692 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

Previous reviews have said it all before and it is difficult to know where to start singing the praises of this hotel.
The hotel is a beautifully restored building, fronting the Plaza San Francisco in the ‘old town’ part of Quito.
The staff are outstanding. Right from the start, they greeted us by our names (as per the reservation). When we returned a few days later, after a trip to another part of Ecuador, they welcomed us back again, by name. It was almost like we were family.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the ‘trip’ from the foyer to (and into) your room is adorned with orchids and bunches of roses at every turn. The furnishings are beautiful.
In our room, there was lovely plate of fruit and a hand-written letter of welcome from the manager.
In the afternoon, guests are treated to a (complimentary) high tea – savoury treats (loved the empanadas), in addition to sweeter cakes and scones. This is an experience not to be missed.
The plate of delicious Ecuadorean chocolates at bed-time might have been final story about the attention you get in this hotel but the epitome of the incredible service came at the end, just as we were about to leave.
We had an awful 3:00 am start for a trip to the new airport! When we came down to leave, they had laid out a special breakfast (without any request from us) in the foyer. When we said we were pressed for time, they said that the driver could 'wait a little while'(I think he got a coffee too)……we made the airport on time!
Thanks for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allblack-screen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Service was impeccable, the staff accommodating, bilingual, and very friendly. The rooms were airy, well maintained and more than comfortable with fresh linens daily and all amenities. The restaurant featured local and international cuisine, both excellent. The location on one of QuIto's main square allows one to walk everywhere, negating the necessity of taxis and avoiding the traffic jams. This is a gracious hotel, featuring a library, a daily tea time and inner treed courtyard.

World travelers

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gai W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Casa Gangotena is by far the most luxurious place to stay in Quito. The building is a beautifully restored mansion located in the heart of the Old Town. When we arrived, the front desk staff were very welcoming and were very helpful during our stay helping to make dinner reservations etc. Rooms were well appointed, and the bathrooms were lovely. In the evening, they leave a selection of cakes / biscuits in your room each night. Afternoon tea is also included in the rate.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kolondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is an excellent hotel and would stay there anytime you decide to go to Quito. Do not allow them to arrange for your taxi, you will be charged 3 times the going rate. The staff was very friendly and helped in any way they could. The bathroom suite we had looked directly onto the plaza. The good was the view was excellent, the only bad the lights for the square did shine directly into the room.

The bathroom was huge--big plus--great shower and great tub.

This is just a luxury hotel and well worth the price.

The bar is small and not many people used it. The dining facility was excellent and no need to go outside the hotel for a restaurant.

Best part, the Panama Hat store is just a short walk outside the front of the hotel. Great prices and the only store

Room Tip: Great location and you can walk to so much of the old city from this hotel. Traffic outside the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greatplacesnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is an absolutely wonderful hotel, among the most luxurious I've ever visited. The rooms and bathrooms are very large and lovely, beds are the best, and every amenity is offered. Sandwiches, unusual fruit and sweets to welcome you on arrive late at night, unlimited bottled water, an amazing breakfast buffet and "high tea" in the afternoon included in the room rate. Service is first rate, with everyone speaking excellent English and genuinely wanting to be helpful and friendly. When I asked if they could print out our boarding passes because I hadn't brought my computer, they loaned me a computer to use in the room. We stayed here a total of 3 nights, and had 3 different rooms: one overlooking the Plaza of San Francisco (very interesting to watch the action outside, never heard a bit of noise), the Terrace room (we liked this the best of all, had a fabulous view and access to a terrace where you could look out over the city and watch the sunset at a little table) and Room 203 with a view of the interior courtyard (not as great as the other two, but still pretty darn good). The only reason I don't give this hotel 5 stars is that on two different occasions in two different rooms the water in the shower was not hot. It was warm, but not comfortably so, and certainly not hot. I suspect the reason for this is that every bathroom has both a glass and marble shower and a gigantic deep bath tub, which must put a huge demand on the hot water supply when every guest decides to take a bath at the same time. Still, this hotel was so great I'd stay here again even if I couldn't be sure I'd get a hot shower whenever I wanted one.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank nkeane17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Everything about this hotel is lovely. The view from our room was fantastic. Our room was large, well appointed, very comfortable, and the bathroom equally fantastic. The staff were all friendly, helpful, and always greeted us with a smile. Dinner in the hotel was phenomenal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClenglandTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
2.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 113 in Quito
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 113 in Quito
289 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
3.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#7 of 113 in Quito
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gangotena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gangotena

Address: Bolivar OE6-41 | and Cuenca St., Quito 170401, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: $547 - $696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Gangotena 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a newly-restored historic mansion overlooking Plaza San Francisco, the three-story Casa Gangotena harbours 31 rooms, a showcase of eye-catching style, contemporary design, antiques, fine furnishings, modern technologies and quintessential comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Gangotena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing