We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, classy and well located”
Review of Casa Gangotena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Gangotena
Ranked #3 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

An excellent hotel all round, in a great location overlooking San Francisco Square. There is a great view of the square from the roof terrace. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. Excellent buffet breakfast. Charming and helpful service.

Room Tip: The Plaza View rooms, as the name suggests, have views onto the Plaza San Francisco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vapourtrail-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 706 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I began our honeymoon with 3 nights at this beautiful building, placed near centre in Quito's old town. We haven't got enough praise to give; the staff were helpful be it with info about the house or finding a taxi, and seemed genuinely happy to have us there no matter the hour we saw them, the food was superb and so varied that choosing our courses on the one night we opted to eat in proved to be the only stressful part., and as for the building itself- magical!

We returned to casa Gangotena for one more night after spending 3 nights in the napo region rainforest, only to experience a different bedroom somehow more beautiful than we'd departed to take our 'jungle' jaunt earlier that week. The only shame was in that we had an early transfer and so went straight to bed. Even with this the staff were such a help as we dragged ourselves up and out the door in the pre PRE dawn hours, offering either a packed lunch or a breakfast 'station' in their reception rooms.

Casa Gangotena is obviously a top end hotel in Quito, but hotel and staff are worth every penny.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Martintidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

What a wonderful hotel in the center of the old town of Quito. We stayed here three different times over a 2 week trip to Ecuador that included Quito, the Amazon and the Galapagos (see other reviews). The staff could not have been more friendly, helpful and professional. Anything we wanted or needed was taken care of immediately and with obvious pleasure. Beautiful room, great food, perfect location. One of the highlights was being on the roof garden/lounge and witnessing the inspiring Palm Sunday service held in the plaza below, truly amazing! My husband enjoyed the music coming from the church in the plaza and asked the staff if it was possible to get a CD. Later that day one of the staff members found us on the roof enjoying the beautiful view and delivered the CD to my husband! Very nice, extensive breakfast is included and the afternoon tea was a perfect way to relax at the end of a day of sightseeing. My only complaint was the cost of having laundry done at the hotel. I expected to pay more than at a local laundry, but I felt $4 for a pair of socks was way out of line.

Room Tip: Unless you ate prepared for the cost, get laundry done some place else. Plaza view rooms are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our daughter is living and working in Argentina. When we vacation, we try to head to that part of the world to see her and for the 3 of us to see things that are new to all of us. This last trip was to Peru and Equador. The last of many hotels stayed at was this one. I have stayed at many high end hotels, but this one stands out in some unique ways. They truly went out of their way to determine what we needed and exceed our expectations. The hotel chef took us on a 2 hour walking tour of the local stores and markets as he purchased the day's foods. He then served us delicious examples of the foods that we had helped to select at lunch and dinner. He also gave us a private tour of the kitchenThe hotel is elegant and right on the main square. We departed to the airport at 2am. They spontaneously prepared a gourmet buffet for us knowing that we would miss the usual excellent breakfast later that morning. You cannot do better!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

It is difficult to add much to the superlatives already given to this hotel in other reviews, but it certainly deserves them all based on my experience. Everything is top class with no expense having been spared in the recent refurbishment. The food was equally top quality (breakfast, dinner and the amazing tea), all backed by excellent service.
One of the very best which you should just not miss!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here and were truly blown away by how good it is. We actually decided that the food was so good in the evening that we dined there two nights running. (Usually we try to eat outside of a hotel). A mixture of international and local dishes. Breakfast was good as well, with lots of choice. And as for the free afternoon tea, there was so much to eat we had to leave some of the amazing goodies offered!!!!!! The garden courtyard was lovely, although we didn't get outside due to the rain. Staff were polite and helpful too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Labute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed in my fair share of swanky digs, but hands down Casa Gangotena is definitely one of the best...if not the best hotel I have ever stayed at.

The hotel is gorgeous with high ceilings and marble floors - light, bright and airy. Very civilized. In any other city, a hotel of this quality smack dab in the middle of Old Town would cost thousands of dollars a night. For a fraction of this we were in a spacious luxury room on the top (third) floor with a private balcony and views of El Panecillo and the Virgin of Quito. The black out blinds did their job and the room was dark and quiet. Beds were comfortable and there was ample space for our daughter's roll-away to the extent that she thought it was a full size bed.

Service is hands down the best ever. The staff anticipated everything we needed - and things we didn't even know we needed. A couple examples: One afternoon we returned to our room to find out keys weren't working. A passing housekeper let us in, and without us even calling the front desk, the manager was knocking on our door five minutes later with replacement keys. The hotel concierge had made dinner reservations for us in advance at my request, and when I called down on our first night to find out how to get to the restaurant I was informed that they had already arranged for a taxi to pick us up 15 minutes before dinner. On another day when we indicated to the bellman where we were planning to go to lunch, he offered to walk us there to ensure we found it. And on our last morning when we were leaving at an ungodly early hour, they arranged to have some sandwiches, juice and coffee available at a small table in the lobby for us. Amazing!

Included in our room rate was a full breakfast and an afternoon tea that could easily be made into a meal. We also got some nice amenities in our room, including a little doll for our daughter. The restaurant was very good as well - some of the best food we had in Ecuador.

And last, but not least, the Wifi was free and wicked fast! Better than I have in my own home!

I want to go back to Quito just so I can stay at Casa Gangotena and live like a Queen again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRF-WS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.5 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 112 in Quito
300 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#11 of 112 in Quito
1,219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Grande
Hotel Plaza Grande
#29 of 112 in Quito
302 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gangotena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gangotena

Address: Bolivar OE6-41 | and Cuenca St., Quito 170401, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: $437 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Gangotena 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a newly-restored historic mansion overlooking Plaza San Francisco, the three-story Casa Gangotena harbours 31 rooms, a showcase of eye-catching style, contemporary design, antiques, fine furnishings, modern technologies and quintessential comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Gangotena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing