We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't praise this hotel enough”
Review of Casa Gangotena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Gangotena
Ranked #2 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“I can't praise this hotel enough”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here and were truly blown away by how good it is. We actually decided that the food was so good in the evening that we dined there two nights running. (Usually we try to eat outside of a hotel). A mixture of international and local dishes. Breakfast was good as well, with lots of choice. And as for the free afternoon tea, there was so much to eat we had to leave some of the amazing goodies offered!!!!!! The garden courtyard was lovely, although we didn't get outside due to the rain. Staff were polite and helpful too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Labute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    39
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
127
346
34
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed in my fair share of swanky digs, but hands down Casa Gangotena is definitely one of the best...if not the best hotel I have ever stayed at.

The hotel is gorgeous with high ceilings and marble floors - light, bright and airy. Very civilized. In any other city, a hotel of this quality smack dab in the middle of Old Town would cost thousands of dollars a night. For a fraction of this we were in a spacious luxury room on the top (third) floor with a private balcony and views of El Panecillo and the Virgin of Quito. The black out blinds did their job and the room was dark and quiet. Beds were comfortable and there was ample space for our daughter's roll-away to the extent that she thought it was a full size bed.

Service is hands down the best ever. The staff anticipated everything we needed - and things we didn't even know we needed. A couple examples: One afternoon we returned to our room to find out keys weren't working. A passing housekeper let us in, and without us even calling the front desk, the manager was knocking on our door five minutes later with replacement keys. The hotel concierge had made dinner reservations for us in advance at my request, and when I called down on our first night to find out how to get to the restaurant I was informed that they had already arranged for a taxi to pick us up 15 minutes before dinner. On another day when we indicated to the bellman where we were planning to go to lunch, he offered to walk us there to ensure we found it. And on our last morning when we were leaving at an ungodly early hour, they arranged to have some sandwiches, juice and coffee available at a small table in the lobby for us. Amazing!

Included in our room rate was a full breakfast and an afternoon tea that could easily be made into a meal. We also got some nice amenities in our room, including a little doll for our daughter. The restaurant was very good as well - some of the best food we had in Ecuador.

And last, but not least, the Wifi was free and wicked fast! Better than I have in my own home!

I want to go back to Quito just so I can stay at Casa Gangotena and live like a Queen again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRF-WS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

A truly lovely hotel: central ‘old town’ location, elegant high ceilings, wide corridors, spacious reception rooms, bedrooms and bathrooms, quality furniture, fixtures and fitting. Accommodating management, helpful efficient staff offering outstanding service. And lots of special touches; a bowl of local fruit in the room with a leaflet giving descriptions and advice on how to prepare and eat: a plate of ‘petit four’ each night as a go-to-bed treat: a lovely afternoon tea self service in the lounge (all inclusive even for B & B guests) with little savouries, sandwiches, cakes, pastries and scones: extensive packed breakfast for the early leavers.
Two small negatives – some of the food a little uninspiring to the European palate, but the choice, quality and quantity of the breakfast was excellent – if you are a light sleeper you might find the morning bell at a nearby monastery a little intrusive early in the morning.
A charming place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Berdewelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 6 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

It is hard to add anything to the reviews already posted. This hotel is just so good. The staff are amazing. They really do go above and beyond. The rooms are lovely. The breakfast buffet is excellent. Any questions pm me.

If you can afford it, book this hotel because you will not regret it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0n0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This wonderful renovation of a former palace is the ideal place from which to explore the old centre of Quito - a boutique hotel with some of the most wonderful rooms and a staff to please the most discriminating traveller.While not inexpensive, we found staying there provided excellent value with all the food treats and afternoon tea. Dining room was excellent with suoerior value and excepyional and friendly service

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
794 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for three separate nights; each night greeted by the same outstanding staff and shown to beautiful, elegant, comfortable and well-equipped rooms. This hotel is up with the best on international standards from the elegant rooms; the service, the attention to detail and the dedicated staff who seem to take real pride in their work. Generous and very good breakfast buffet and a delicious (free) afternoon tea. Dining room menu is fine although the room itself is not the most attractive room in the hotel.
Placed in the old square in Quito t is ideally placed for the main sights although quite a trek from the new airport (until the new roads etc open).

Room Tip: A corner room is good... 108, 208 and I assume 308. On the square but lovely size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Casa Gangotena. The room was spacious and lovely, wifi worked well. Had dinner one night I the restaurant and it was delicious. The staff was gracious and we felt very welcomed at the hotel. I have no complaints about the room or service.
The only concern I had was transportation because of flight schedules ( my friend and I met up in Quito) there were a couple of airport transfer requests and they cost a different amount everytime we went. I would suggest clarifying the costs prior to booking, and suggest that they publish a price sheet so it's consistent.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank heswanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
11.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
2.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 111 in Quito
1,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
3.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 111 in Quito
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gangotena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gangotena

Property: Casa Gangotena
Address: Bolivar OE6-41 | and Cuenca St., Quito 170401, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Gangotena 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a newly-restored historic mansion overlooking Plaza San Francisco, the three-story Casa Gangotena harbours 31 rooms, a showcase of eye-catching style, contemporary design, antiques, fine furnishings, modern technologies and quintessential comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Gangotena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing