We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unsurpassed, anywhere.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Gangotena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Gangotena
Ranked #2 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unsurpassed, anywhere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here twice, for night night each time, either side of our (amazing) trip to Mashpi Lodge in the cloud forest. The architecture is quite unbelievable. The rooms are superbly decorated with no 'tired' features or worn carpet. Both rooms looked like they had been decorated the day before. The staff were very happy to go out on walks with us as well at night into town. It seemed like no problem at all to them. Top tip - take lunch on the roof terrace over looking the San Franciso Square in front of the hotel. If you are discerning and demanding with hotels, or just want to feel overwhemled at how nice a hotel you are staying in, stay here. It is so good that people (only some) come on day trips to look around the architecture of the ground floor of the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room facing away from the main square which is very popular due to how spectacular the archite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5PSS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    32
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
118
330
30
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

A wonderful stay of the highest quality. The staff bring a well co-ordinated approach to meeting the guests requirements at all levels. It's difficult to imagine how our four nights could have been improved.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAW20007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on our way to Galapagos. Excellent location and friendly helpful staff. Really enjoyed breakfast and dinner in the hotel. Don't miss the afternoon tea which is included in the room rate. Great views from the roof terrace.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masartnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Casa Gangotena is located in Plaza de San Francisco, one of the most popular and historic plazas in Quito.

The staff is very friendly, approachable, and some treat their guests specially by calling them by their last names. We arrived in Quito in the wee hours of the morning and we didn't get our checked-in luggage right away but the staff took special care ouf us by asking us if we needed anything since we didn't have all of our things.

The breakfast area was nice and one could be seated beside the windows fronting the plaza so the view is nice. The breakfast choices are fine for a boutique hotel. They also have a balcony at the third floor where one could a picturesque view of Plaza de San Francisco and the other areas of the old town. At the back of the hotel is a garden where you could have a good view of the newly-restored hotel building itself.

Our room was very well-appointed and had enough bathroom amenities although you could ask for other items from the housekeeping if you need something more.The only thing I wish they could have is a bathroom heater since it could also get chilly in Quito at night. They also had native fruits upon our arrival at the room and had a small card describing each fruit. I liked it that our room had a window fronting the El Panecillo.

Our departure flight from Quito was very early in the morning and so since the restaurant wouldn't be opened yet, the staff prepared a breakfast tray for us at the lobby and this was really nice. They also gave us a brochure about the hotel's history when we asked about its history.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of Plaza de San Francisco or the Panecillo with the Winged Virgin Mary
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Casa Gangotena is a renovation of an old mansion. The renovation and conversion to a hotel was very well done and both the rooms and public area are very attractive. We stayed in a junior suite with a balcony and it was very comfortable and the bathroom was exceptional. Breakfast was included and it was an extensive buffet that you can supplement with ordering cook to order eggs and pancakes. Also had dinner there twice which is al a carte with a good variety of items to choose from. One warning: alcohol cannot be served on Sundays after 4:00 PM. The rules are vey strange - you can order wine and dinner from room service but can only have dinner in the restaurant.

The location of the hotel s very central and is a short walk to the min square. There is also a square in front of the hotel that is very active during the day but very quiet at night.

The staff in the hotel were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wtpihc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed there a few days before going to Galapagos and were new visitors to Ecuador and Quito. Superior in every way..my compliments to the staff. Very well done and wonderful dining.
The hotel is central to all sites in the Old Town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeslieDuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

A truly beautiful hotel! Having stayed at many superb hotels throughout the world, this is one of the best for location, quality of facilities in the rooms and public areas with friendly and efficient staff. We enjoyed the amazing breakfast buffet, excellent afternoon tea and delicious local foods served at the hotel restaurant for dinner. The many small personal touches, exemplary service and outstanding attention to detail made our stay truly memorable. Thank You!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
2.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
1.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gangotena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gangotena

Property: Casa Gangotena
Address: Bolivar Oe6-41 y Cuenca, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Gangotena 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a newly-restored historic mansion overlooking Plaza San Francisco, the three-story Casa Gangotena harbours 31 rooms, a showcase of eye-catching style, contemporary design, antiques, fine furnishings, modern technologies and quintessential comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Gangotena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing