We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Striking Hotel in Old Town Quito”
Review of Casa Gangotena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Gangotena
Ranked #2 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Striking Hotel in Old Town Quito”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Casa Gangotena is absolutely beautiful. We checked in for two nights in December after a four day Rainforest Tour and we felt like we had reached an oasis in the desert. We were given the one of the two Terrace rooms with access to a spectacular panoramic view of Plaza San Francisco and surrounding area from the third floor balcony. We also had a small balcony directly off our room, which was great for morning coffee (the best coffee we had while in Ecuador) and a nice view of El Panecillo.

The room is well appointed with bathrobes, slippers and amenities. The marble bathroom with the soaker tub and stand alone shower is luxurious.

A plate of local fruit awaited us along with a little pamphlet of what the fruit was and how to eat it. A nice touch. Two bottles of water and one large mineral water was available in the room, at no charge.

The hotel is exceptional in that the rooms are beautiful, the decor is stunning and the staff is waiting to serve you. We had purchased two paintings with frames and the staff graciously wrapped these up for us to take as carry on for our flight. They even made a little handle for easier carrying.

We enjoyed four meals, one lunch (room service), one afternoon tea and two buffet breakfasts. All the food was excellent and the presentation was lovely. We requested our last breakfast at 3:30 AM as we had to catch an early flight. At exactly 3:30 our room service breakfast arrived. Great service.

We can’t say enough about the Casa Gangotena and we look forward to another visit in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    39
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
127
346
34
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Thai hotel is very well situated in the heart of old town in Quito, Ecuador. It is very uniqe and elegant place. Room was very big and comfortable, furnished with good taste. Service is excellent and very personalized. Each afternoon they offer you complimentary tea or coffee with small cakes and snacks. Lobby is beautifull with high celling, quiet with nice chillout music. Wifi is complimantary. I relly recommend that place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welcomepoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was one of the nicest hotels we stayed at in South America. Our friends had recommended it, our travel agent did not know of it. Glad we selected it for our 2 nights in Quito prior to going to Galapagos Islands. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The rooms are beautifully decorated with modern amenities. Beds super comfortable. Nice fruit basket greeted us and chocolates/sweets served at night. The hotel was originally a Spanish families' home, and has been renovated to reflect its glory. The buffet breakfast in the morning was fabulous, and our hostess Caroline, helpful describing all the local foods. We tried to have drinks in the bar/roof top, but the bartender couldn't find the wine we selected. We did have a very enjoyable dinner, served by a young waiter who was learning to speak English, and did an excellent job.
When we wanted to walk over to another hotel to met our friend, the hotel insisted on having one of the door men walk with us. Although I didn't see the need, it was a nice touch that the hotel wanted to keep all guests safe during their stay. Situated in the heart of old town, it is easy to walk to most of the sights. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the interior garden, the street rooms might be a bit noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESK57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Much has been written here about this wondreful hotel and it's excellent service. The accolades are all true. I thought it worthwhile to mention two aspects of the hotel that seem to be underrepresented in the reviews.

First, the garden is an absolutely lovely oasis. It is very relaxing to walk through or to spend some time sitting in just relaxing.

Secondly, the restaurant is superb. We went only to Quito, no Galapagos etc., and spent four nights in the hotel. We ate all our meals in the hotel. The breakast is wonderful and many have written here about how nice the afternoon tea is but the restaurant really shines at dinner. We ate tuna (three times), prawns, Ecuadoran fish stew, ceveche, potatoe soup and even a pork sandwich. It you eat at the best US and european restaurants you won't be dissapointed. You can push your options towards traditional Ecuadoran or choose familiar dishes, in all cases the quality of the ingrediants, the skill in preparation, the adequacy of the portions, the presentation and the price were exceptional and left us eager to come back the next night. While I am sure there must be some other excellent dinning choices in Quito, we did not see any but that was quite all right. I should also say that the restaurant served until at least 10:30 pm all nights when we stayed in the hotel and they were most accomodating to us late in the evening when few others were dinning. Lastly, I suggest drinking the traditional Ecuadoran alcoholic concoction that involves a local fruit juice with cane alcohol and spices. It is might be considered similar to spiked apple cidar but with a juice that taste more like pears-with a cinimon stick.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheStuff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We didn't actually stay here, only had drinks and desserts in the bar, but would expect it lives up to its appearance. Staff very welcoming despite the fact we were just dining. Stunning,y beautiful. A must see!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CladdaghBoatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I love this newly renovated Boutique Hotel with exquisite furnishings and designs everywhere you look there is something that is intriguing.

Casa Gangotena has captured the hearts and minds of guests and the media as well.

The rooms are gorgeous with the latest technology and the service and security are the very best I have ever seen.

They always know where you are at all times and someone will be waiting for you to come in the front door and take you to your room.

I love that as I travel sometimes alone.

I love the terrace on the 3rd floor with views of the entire city in a relaxed setting. Great for champagne and photos.

I will be back to this lovely, warm and very hospitable Mansion.

Room Tip: I love the rooms that face the Plaza San Francisco but you also have to be willing to hear the guy s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magictravelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I'm not sure that another rave review of this hotel will help any of Tripadvisor's readers, but the fact that our recent two day stay was so pleasurable should not preclude our thanks to the staff of this lovely hotel. Physically it is very comfortable and well maintained but lots of hotels are. The key difference here is the staff - they actually seem to enjoy helping you. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is done profesionally and calmly but also with a smile. It is one of the best hotels in South America and if you are thinking about visiting Quito, a couple of nights here will restore your faith in the joys of travel. Do not miss out on one of the great experiences of South America

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
11.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
2.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 111 in Quito
1,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
3.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#4 of 111 in Quito
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gangotena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gangotena

Property: Casa Gangotena
Address: Bolivar OE6-41 | and Cuenca St., Quito 170401, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Gangotena 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a newly-restored historic mansion overlooking Plaza San Francisco, the three-story Casa Gangotena harbours 31 rooms, a showcase of eye-catching style, contemporary design, antiques, fine furnishings, modern technologies and quintessential comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Gangotena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing