We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay!”
Review of Casa Gangotena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Gangotena
Ranked #3 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Casa Gangotena is truly a terrific hotel! The rooms and public areas are beautifully and very tastefully restored. The service from the staff is extraordinarily good. The location on the main square in the old town is very convenient to this interesting part of town, though it is a bit of a hike from the airport. The food in the restaurant was very well prepared and presented, and room service is available 24X7.

As we had a very early departure, the hotel had some light snacks for us in the lobby, along with fresh juice and coffee. This is indicative of the attentive and sensitive service that the hotel provides.

The staff was very willing to assist us with some airline troubles we were having (cancelled flights, missing luggage), which allowed us to enjoy our stay and not spend all day trying to get resolution to these problems.

While I speak Spanish, I was aware that some guests did not. I always heard the staff speaking with them in excellent English.

I would recommend the hotel without reservation. It is beautiful and my stay there was just wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bridget7477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

536 - 542 of 702 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

My family stayed a total of 4 nights in two of their "luxury" rooms. The property is exquisite, the staff is incredibly attentive and the location is terrific! The breakfast buffet (and room service) was very nice too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DavidAHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I recently stayed twice at the Casa Gangotena and it's a fabulous addition to the hotel scene in Latin America. The location is central on the main square, with beautiful views of the city's churches and lights. The renovation was sensitivrly done - serene, elegant, with contemporary touches. We arrived at 5 am from a delayed flight and the staff really made sure we settled in comfortably with a snack before we went to bed. Every staff member has clearly been chosen and trained with special care. The restaurant is very good with equally attentive staff. When we left on the second visit for a 6 am flight, they had hot cafe con leche, fruit and warm breads at reception for us- no touch has been forgotten. I will definitely find excuses to go back again soon to this special refuge.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Sarasota258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed at the Casa Gangotena for a few days after having a wonderful time in the Galapagos. The hotel is in the old town of the city which is great for getting to all the cathedrals, museums, and main square. It has been beautifully redone since it was formally an old family home. Our rooms were spectacular with wonderful views over the plaza san francisco. All the detail put into the construction/remodelling was amazing. The lobby and hallways had lovely flowers and a very relaxing atmosphere.

The food was great as well, we had breakfast there everyday and one dinner. Their coffee was also really good so we asked the hotel staff what brand they use. They were kind enough to find out for us, it was from a local company, Nocion. We later went to their cafe in the new section of town which had awesome drinks and snacks and we bought a ton of coffee to take home.

The service at the hotel was also amazing. We were there during the rainy season so it was very helpful to have umbrellas to use everytime we went out. One night I happened to fall on one of the cobblestones in the square and unfortunately sprained my hand. The hotel was super helpful in bringing me ice and even offered to call a doctor but luckily this was unneeded.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Quito. We did spend one night at the Hilton in the new part of town as it was part of Galapagos package. The Hilton was extremely nice as well, but if you want to stay in the old section of town and be close to the more historic areas the Casa Gangotena is fabulous. Also it's really easy (and cheap) to get to the new section via taxi if you want to go shopping or explore that area.

I hope I get back to Quito one day and get to stay the Casa Gangotena again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jess725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Used this as a base to explore Quito. Fantastic hotel in a really good location. Staff efficient and friendly. Food in the restaurant very good.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the square might offer a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bobcat901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I travel a lot and this hotel is one of the best I have stayed in. I had a room overlooking the Plaza and on my first day, when I was flattened by the altitude, I was perfectly happy to sit in my room looking at life going on in the plaza. The service was spectacular. The staff were there when I needed them and not there when I didn't. Great coffee at the bar downstairs. Comfy beds and plush pillows. Quiet, serene rooms. I loved the little touches, like the selection of Ecuadorian fruit and the chocolates every night. I was sad to leave.

Room Tip: The plaza-facing rooms have a great view of the church and bustle of the plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zoecello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The owners Metropolitan Touring have spent a huge sum in converting this former private mansion into a superb boutique hotel. Our room looking out on the plaza was outstanding, food divine and customer service top notch. The only negative comments I could add is that you do get some street noise from the busy plaza and from an environmental view we didn't need clean towels every day! If this hotel was in Europe it would be simply unaffordable so it was a real treat to have had to opportunity to experience it in Quito as I'm not sure I'll stay anywhere quite so lovely ever again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Grant E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.5 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 113 in Quito
295 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 113 in Quito
1,205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Grande
Hotel Plaza Grande
#28 of 113 in Quito
300 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gangotena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gangotena

Address: Bolivar OE6-41 | and Cuenca St., Quito 170401, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: $438 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Gangotena 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a newly-restored historic mansion overlooking Plaza San Francisco, the three-story Casa Gangotena harbours 31 rooms, a showcase of eye-catching style, contemporary design, antiques, fine furnishings, modern technologies and quintessential comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Gangotena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing