We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel. From top to bottom, a stellar experience”
Review of Casa Gangotena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Gangotena
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I love this hotel. We spent one night in it and it wasn't enough! The rooms are quiet despite being on the mail square. The food is fabulous and the service even better. The location is perfect. And the decor is genuinely interesting and lovely at the same time.

Just a perfect place!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LDGrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
There are newer reviews for Casa Gangotena
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 683 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the beautiful Casa Gangotena for two nights prior to our Galapagos trip in November, 2011. I will apologize now for the lengthy review, buit since this is a new hotel, I wanted to cover all aspects for future guests. After extensive renovations to this Colonial mansion, the hotel was newly opened when we arrived. We experienced a high level of service and attention to detail with no "opening month" setbacks or issues. The only minor glitch that we had was that since the hotel was so new, the taxi driver was not sure of it's location. After driving through the historic section, one call to the hotel (glad I had the information handy), and the driver received point to point directions from the friendly staff. We arrived moments later, greeted with warm friendly smiles and efficient service. My husband and I travel quite a bit and have stayed in hotels ranging from 4 to 5 stars all over the world and I can say that the Casa Gangotena rivals the best of them.
Starting with Reception and check in - We were greeted and shown to reception, a cozy layout of a desk and chairs plus an inviting sitting arrangement with plush couch and chairs, and were offered coffee, water or other refreshments. With a quick photocopy of our passports, a double check of our check-out date, and we were escorted to our gorgeous room. Because the reception was so efficient, they had to bring the coffee to our room as we were done before it came out!!!

Our room - We stayed in room 306 which faces San Francisco Plaza with great floor to ceiling windows with shutters. The hotel strives to be environmentally friendly and so the lights go on and off automatically when you enter or exit the room, by placing your key into the light switch. The lights came on and our jaws dropped, the room is stunning. High ceilings with the original carved details, beautiful lighting, a gorgeous bed and every modern amenity you could want. There was a plate of fresh fruit and bottled water awaiting our arrival, and also some chocolates on each of the bedside tables. The bathroom also had views to the plaza, with a large bathtub and separate shower, (large enough for two or more!) with a rain shower head and plenty of hot water and good pressure. The plaza was lively at night, but there was absolutely no noise in our room, and we slept comfortably.

Breakfast was the onlly meal we ate at the hotel, but it was divine. Eggs cooked to order, with bacon, toast, fresh fruit, freshly baked pastries and delicious coffee, all included in the price of the room. The service was very efficient and extremely friendly. Contrary to other reviews, the wait staff all spoke English, although perhaps not flawlessly, but then again, our Spanish wasn't flawless either, and they were all very gracious. The bar/lounge area is small, but has all that you could want, nice wine list, plenty of cocktail mixers and friendly, efficient staff. There are also tables, chairs and couches in the atrium, where you could take your drinks if you wanted a more atmospheric location.

The hotel is emaculate and tastefully decorated with a mix of Ecuadorian cutural pieces and more modern art from local artists. Everywhere you turn the loving attention to detail of the restoration is evident, and the extremely caring, efficient, friendly staff make the Casa Gangotena a 5+ star hotel in my mind. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to my friends and family traveling to Quito.

One more note about the area and staff.... we chose to dine at the Museum cafe across the plaza one night, (which was delicious) and a member of the staff was there to meet us when we finished dinner to escort us back to the hotel. While the area is relatively safe, there was a local celebration going on in the neighborhood with lots of partiers out and about (they even had a party bus), and the staff wanted to ensure that we weren't bothered and that we arrived safely back to the hotel. This foresight and desire to go the extra step for their guests is what will set Casa Gangotena apart form the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank backroadstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We (a mature well-travelled couple) have stayed there for 5 nights in a double room with plaza view. The hotel is located right on San Francisco Plaza, in the very center of the old town life. It looks gorgeous from the outside and the interiors are also very good. One cannot miss it, because it is a striking outlier among all other buildings that make the square. Reception: one person is doing everything, incl. answering phone calls, which makes your communication with receptionist less effective. The receptionist is also the only one who speaks English. Anyway, checking in/out was pretty effective, though not too fast. That may be the case elsewhere in Ecuador where politeness is more important then speediness. Room: clean, quiet and spacious with at least 4 meter (12 feet) ceilings, may be more. A balcony, which gives you a fantastic view of the square, its life and the city of Quito and surrounding mountains as well. Large bathroom with all possible amenities, very good shower: hot and powerful. 24/7 room service with good selection of dishes. Fresh tropical fruit plate every day, chocolate and cookies every evening. Huge bed provides you with a high quality sleep. I would give it a true 5-star mark. Bar and restaurant are on a completely other side of the scale. They try to do their best, but it seems like they have no idea about this business. Service is slow and ineffective, dishes are at least mediocre, drinks are so-so, ambience is nothing special. However, I should admit that breakfast is good and included in the room price, even if you have whatever you want. Advice: if you do not want to spend an hour eating in the morning, order the breakfast to be delivered at certain time to your room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank War-chique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We were booked into this truly beautiful hotel on our way to the Galapagos Island, in November, just three weeks after it had opened. Our room, like the rest of the hotel has been painstakingly restored to its original beauty over a period of seven years. The restoration is complemented by excellent service and a wonderful breakfast.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking San Francisco Square!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank ElsieWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

This hotel opened only six weeks ago and staying here for three nights whilst travelling to and from the Galapagos Islands was a totally unexpected dream.
The hotel stands in Plaza San Francisco, a delightful square in the old city, very conveniently located to all that has to be seen in Quito. It is a restored historic mansion with 31 rooms. It has been renovated to extremely high standards and staying here, was like staying in a new car, as all the furnishings and bedding etc were still brand new and stylish and of excellent quality. Our bedroom was on the first floor, overlooking the Plaza which was particularly atmospheric at night when all floodlit. The room was spacious, had all mod cons, free wi-fi, flat screen television, an enormous and extremely comfortable bed and a great en-suite bathroom finished in marble with high quality toiletries, hairdryer and all one would wish for.
The service was without fault - the manager (Daniel who has years of experience in the industry having previously worked in the Galapagos) and all his team were attentive, personal, extremely helpful and always had your safety in mind (Quito still has some areas where it is not wise to wander as a tourist after dark). The restaurant and bar staff were of high standard and I had one of the best pisco sours I have ever had at their bar.
We did not eat at the restaurant, choosing to visit some of the older and more established restaurants in the city, but if breakfast and tea is anything to go by, the food would have been of high quality and certainly there would have been plenty of it! If this can be a criticism, there was so much fruit, bread and pastries for breakfast, together with omelette or eggs any way you wished for, we could not eat it all! The quality of the food was excellent.
This hotel is aiming to be one, if not, the best hotel in South America. It has certainly started off on the right footing - staying her was just like being at home with everything taken care of for you. It certainly ranks as one of the best hotels we have stayed in anywhere and I'm absolutely sure we will be hearing a lot more about it and I wish it and it's dedicated team every success in making it a leading hotel in the world.
We certainly hope to return one day soon.

Room Tip: I think all rooms look over the Plaza (we were in 107 which was excellent). Despite the Plaza being...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank TSRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

This world-class luxury hotel, in a brilliantly restored, classical building is a vision to behold. My large, elegant, sun-filled room overlooking huge Plaza San Francisco, looked out toward snow-capped Cayambe volcano, church domes and recently restored historic houses. Soundproof windows and a large, cloud-like mattress ensured 3 nights of undisturbed sleep. During generous breakfasts, I read world news via complimentary wi-fi. Hospitable staff were prompt. Ineffable, 17th century La Compania and early 18th century San Francisco cathedral and irresistible pre-colombian collections of the Alabado museum and the city of Quito museum were close by.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank haciendacusin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jopagamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
2.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#10 of 111 in Quito
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.3 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
3.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#7 of 111 in Quito
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gangotena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gangotena

Address: Bolivar OE6-41 | and Cuenca St., Quito 170401, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: $547 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Gangotena 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a newly-restored historic mansion overlooking Plaza San Francisco, the three-story Casa Gangotena harbours 31 rooms, a showcase of eye-catching style, contemporary design, antiques, fine furnishings, modern technologies and quintessential comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Gangotena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing