We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musty, mildewed, putrid room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Suites Gonzalez Suarez
Ranked #77 of 116 Hotels in Quito
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I would recommend strongly that you not stay at this hotel.

The hotel is well-located to take advantage of the many restaurants and nightlife in the newer part of the city. It's a short taxi ride, not easy walking distance, but cabs are cheap and come quickly when called.

The front desk staff was engaging and very helpful. The room was spacious, had a large bathroom, and a narrow terrace with a limited view.

All that was more than offset by the condition of the room . The paramount concern was the very strong smell of mildew in the room. The closet was so bad we couldn't use it. Anything left in it quickly picked up a mildewed smell. It lasted in my jacket for a week.

We cut our stay short and left the next morning. At departure I reported the condition of the room to the front desk staff, who seemed surprised to hear of the problem, but not particularly motivated to do anything about it.

The room price includes breakfast, which was a limited fruit offering - an apple - and eggs made to order, plus toast and very heavy coffee. Not up to the standard offered by other hotels charging the same price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arjaydobleyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio C, Propietario at Hotel Suites Gonzalez Suarez, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2016
Google Translation

Tenemos nuevos propietarios y nueva administración desde el marzo del 2016, será un gusto recibirle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 33 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank JuanEdoQuiroga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio C, Propietario at Hotel Suites Gonzalez Suarez, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Todo se encuentra bien
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NEIDY_1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio L, Propietario at Hotel Suites Gonzalez Suarez, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nolbertopelez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio L, Propietario at Hotel Suites Gonzalez Suarez, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank anajuarregui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio L, Propietario at Hotel Suites Gonzalez Suarez, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Por estar en desnivel, las habitaciones de los pisos superiores siempre serán las mejores
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinilucero69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio L, Propietario at Hotel Suites Gonzalez Suarez, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank enriquepS2860BI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio L, Propietario at Hotel Suites Gonzalez Suarez, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ventanal de Bellavista
0.1 mi away
Hotel Muros Quito
Hotel Muros Quito
#64 of 116 in Quito
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Zen
Best Western Hotel Zen
#25 of 116 in Quito
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Akros Hotel
Akros Hotel
#53 of 116 in Quito
154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western CPlaza Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Inca Imperial
Hotel Inca Imperial
#75 of 116 in Quito
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suites Gonzalez Suarez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suites Gonzalez Suarez

Address: San Ingnacio N27 50 | Av. Gonzalez Suarez, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 116 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: $50 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Suites Gonzalez Suarez 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 20 carpeted rooms with private bath with hot water, cable TV, wireless internet, telephone, desk, located in an elegant, safe and quiet neighborhood, surrounded by renowned restaurants and bars in the city, a few minutes from the main shopping, cultural and tourist centers, with public transport available just a few meters. We have secure parking and transportation service airport hotel for a fee. We also offer tours inside and outside the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Suites Gonzalez Suarez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing