We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home with a bit of spanish!”
Review of La Casa Amarilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa Amarilla
Ranked #30 of 245 Quito B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Charming owner, Jenny, makes spending time at this hotel quite enjoyable. Rooms are colorful, breakfast always filling, guests are pleasant and the central location is perfect for visitors who want to sight see Quito. Whether for a day, a week or a month, I recommend this place over any chain hotel or large commercial hotel. And yes, Jenny is always a treat!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 82 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

Casa Amarilla is a great place to stay in Quito, it's about 5 minutes by taxi from Mariscal Sucre and 10 minutes to the old town. The residential area around Casa Amarilla feels very safe to walk around, even after dark. The house is stylishly decorated and is very homely. The brightly decorated bedrooms are all very clean and comfortable with ensuites. Breakfast is very good with fresh fruit, juice, cereal and toast, also there's  tea,coffee and water available all the time in the lounge diner where you can sit in to watch TV. The best thing about Casa Amarilla though is the great host Jenny.
We were lucky enough to stay at Casa Amarilla on and off during our 3 weeks in Ecuador as part of our years travel in South and Central America. We first stayed for one night and then left early the next morning for Galapagos, Jenny immediately made us feel at home giving us a lift to the supermarket to buy supplies, booking us a taxi and also letting us store some stuff with her while we were away from Quito. She even gave us a key to get back in when we returned. After Galapagos we spent five days at Casa Amarilla, a little longer than intended due to illness, Jenny was very caring and took my wife to the hospital to get checked out - she is a saint! As well as booking taxis, ordering takeaways and assisting us in anyway possible Jenny also recommended places to visit and stay in Ecuador, she was a very good source of information.
The only things that would have maybe improved our stay a bit was if there was a kitchen to use for cooking (but this is not a hostel) and we only felt this because we're travelling for so long and don't like to eat out all the time. In summary this is a great place to stay if you want a friendly, comfortable, safe bed and breakfast with a brilliant hostess. Thank you Jenny for making Quito a highlight!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin_L2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Last minute Internet booking for us. Arrived late from Quito airport due to traffic and a taxi driver not knowing where this is located. We wanted to do some last minute shopping for the evening. Jenny came out to the taxi and told him where to take us. She knew we had to leave by 3:30am for an early flight and already set up the coffee maker and laid out our bread to toast with jam and butter for the early hour. She asked how we were getting to the airport and wanted to call a private taxi service herself. We bargained with a local taxi we hailed from Mariscal neighborhood earlier in the night. When she heard we did this, she was concerned for our safety and said we must write down taxi company name and the license plate # and absolutely email her when we got home. Our stay was too short as we would have liked to have spent more time in this charming and welcoming guest house. Jenny is simply the best and the rooms feel like you're visiting family. Won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randeerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We started our Ecuador trip in Casa Amarilla and returned 3 times because this guest house is simlpy marvellous. We felt like visting friends and Jenny´s knowledge of Ecuador and her helpfulness was quite great. E.g. she recommended an excellent mountain guide for our cotopaxi trip (yes, I´ve reached the summit ), suggested magnificent places and hosterias to stay and therefore made our 4 weeks trip trough Ecuador really unforgettable.
Moreover Casa Amarilla itself is a very lovely place to stay. Each room decorated in another colour (we chose the red one), very clean, good breakfast, .... there is nothing to improve.
We highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elchicoaustriaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The reality of this place tops every good review it has...
The owner, Jenny, is one of the the best people I've ever met. Perhaps THE best even. :) I just can't say enough here how kind and helpful she is and how far above and beyond she goes to make you feel at home. Not to mention, how savvy she is with advice while traveling around Ecuador!! I don't know what we would have done without her. She was there for us, even when we weren't staying there!!
The house... GORGEOUS!! CLEAN!! Truly a gem in the city!!! Beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, exceptionally clean, GREAT breakfast!!!! To anyone on the fence about staying here... do it, you will NOT be disappointed!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing... Pick a color, any color!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Found this place on the internet and it definitely lived up to positive reviews we found. Jenny (the owner) was absolutely lovely and helpful, going out of her way for us on a number of occasions. The room was lovely and it was nice to mingle with the other guests. Delicious breakfast was provided and tea, coffee and water was free any time. Only problem was the hot water, which was temperamental.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChemNerd92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I found la casa amarilla online and decided to book after reading other good reviews. We wanted a nice place, more of a boutique style, and not too pricey. I've now stayed twice and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Quito.

Jenny is a star. She treats each guest like family and wants more than anything for everyone to feel at home. The house is decorated with funky art and has a beautiful garden. We had a lot of problems with our flight being cancelled and Jenny didn't mind running us back and forth to the airport, even in the middle of the night. If you are traveling alone, in a group, or as a couple, this is a great find that I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mackinnonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#16 of 113 in Quito
773 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
10.3 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
1.2 mi away
Casa Kanela
Casa Kanela
#40 of 245 in Quito
88 reviews
2.3 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Amarilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Amarilla

Address: Selva Alegre Oe5-70 | Between Carvajal, Antonio de San Miguel & Solier, Quito 0000, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 245 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: $45 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Amarilla 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Come experience an unforgettable adventure. "La Casa Amarilla," built in 1948, is one of the last buildings of Modern Quito that survived the urban modernization movement. The building conserves the history of its era, which we remember fondly in Quito, a city declared by UNESCO as the first "World Heritage Site" Conveniently located in the modern sector of Quito in a safe and peaceful residential area, La Casa Amarilla offers a perfect jumping off point to move about the city. In a ten minute car ride you can the historical center of Quito. In a 25 minute (2 km) walk, you will encounter numerous tourist attractions such as "La Zona Rosa," located in La Mariscal, the city cable car "El TeleferiQo," various community parks, and the financial and commercial districts of Quito. The Trolley and Metrobus lines are located very close to the house and several regular bus routes pass nearby taking you to any destination within the city limits. LA CASA AMARILLA: SIMPLY THE OPTION!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your La Casa Amarilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing