We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Casa del Alabado
from $99.00
More Info
Reviews (716)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveler rating
306
75
11
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
75
11
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pre columbian art audio guide small museum colonial home fantastic museum ancient art each piece museum building beautiful collection on display downtown quito worth a visit old town ecuadorian history entrance fee artifacts societies
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been to many museums and have seen some wonderful collections, however, this little museum in Quito outshines them all. It was perfection; from the pre-Columbian artifacts, to the house itself, everything was beautifully placed, displayed and lit for maximum enjoyment. I feel my review does not do it justice. Even if you don’t like pre-Columbian art, this museum is well worth a visit when in Quito.

Thank JeffreyWaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

During our stay in Quito we wanted to gather as much history as possible. I think Casa del Alabado is a good option as it has tons of pieces exhibited and what gives it a nice touch is that it's in a 17th-century colonial house. Have been to two other museums, Santiana and Florida and this here was definitely my favorite!

Thank rosehiggnsmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

This used to be a spectacular museum. The pieces are amazing!!! However, attention has taken a blow. No guides were available, they don’t accept debit card, which is silly, there is no more audio to go along with the exhibits, or if there was, they didn’t tell us about it. Still great curation.

Thank AgeeLoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

A particular museum in Quito. Interesting about first cultures in what is today Ecuador s territory. Very well done. You can ask for a guide

Thank empacayavolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018

If you are the kind of explorer that loves to learn about the Pre-Hipanic art in Ecuador, La Casa del Alabado is the right place to be. You will be surprised and amazed by the quality, extraordinary restoration and so many beautiful pieces shown in this great colonial house

Thank FedeAL_EC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

This is a fantastic collection of pre-Columbian art. It was wonderful examples of many types of objects, and was well structured. The plaques by the pieces are only in Spanish.

$6pp entry, so pretty dang steep compared to process in general but also well worth a stop.

Thank Millet02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2018

I was wary! Didn't know much, if anything, about pre-Columbian artifacts! Boy, was I pleasantly surprised! The museum is drop dead gorgeous and expertly curated. Two nice items: First, the objects are sparingly presented, just two or three in each vitrine. Second, the museum guide's explanations are insightful and to the point!

Thank tonytuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

This place blew me away. The collection of artifacts including stone statues, ceramics and textile work from pre-Columbian Ecuador is amazing. Some pieces date to the fifth century BC and rival the quality of the Hellenic sculptures from the Cyclades, which are contemporaneous but much more famous. Lightning is perfect and curation is first rate. My only complaint is the lack of more detailed information on each piece in the form of a guide or an audioguide or some kind of app. Many interesting figures went completely unexplained except for cryptic labels that sometimes show only the place of origin and the rough date attributed to them. But all in all, this was really one of the best sights in Quito.

Thank WrldtrvlrBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

One of the best Museums I ever visited. The pieces shown are exceptional throughout. The presentation is state of the art. Sadly, the descriptions are totally insufficient. You can borrow a catalog to take along, which helps a bit. The other downside: no wifi for visitors.
Go there for the collection! I was most impressed with some pieces of abstract art that are between 2000 and 6000 years old.

Thank Burkhardgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

I was amazed when I walked into this old house in the old town of Quito (a bit hard to find), and discovered a contemporary museum of pre-colonial art, magnificently curated, arranged, and instructively commented (in Spanish and English). For me this unexpected surprise became a must-see for those I tell about my trip to Quito.

Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews