We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only stayed one night.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mediterraneo Quito
Ranked #132 of 229 Quito B&B and Inns
College Park, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only stayed one night.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I only stayed one night on my way north for a volunteer trip. There were three of us sharing a very small room and with an extremely small bathroom.

There was no sleep to be had the night I stayed there. The between the noise in the hotel and the barking of the dogs next door sleep was almost impossible even though I was exhausted from traveling.

I spent one other night in Quito on my trip home and pick a different hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
2
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gananoque, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I was planning on staying here based primarily on the location as I had been in Quito before. The price was ok and according to their web site the staff were fluent in three languages, one of which was English. As my Spanish is not very good this is almost a requirement for me. Upon arrival I soon found out that no one speaks a word of English so communication was difficult, if not impossible. I had to use my computer and google translator to communicate. There was NO hot water when I arrived and only very little warm water after complaining using the translator. The web site said that they had a laundry service. They do not!!! The hotel is right next door to a school and at 7:15 every morning the school siren goes telling the children that it class time. More annoying than this was the three yappy dogs on the second floor patio of the house next to the school. These dogs barked incessantly of and on all the time, day and night. On the positive side the room and bathroom were spotless and the cleaning lady did an excellent job every day. Breakfast was delivered to my room and was adequate with juice, coffee, bread and jam, fresh fruit and eggs. The area is close to a park and a hospital is on the same street which always has security out front. I don't consider that this area is any more dangerous than any other area in a large city like Quito.I walked with my backpack and camera and never had a feeling of being in danger. Having said that I always make sure that I'm back in my room at a reasonable hour (usually around 8:00 pm) and if I will be latter I use the taxis which are reasonably priced.
I was planning on staying here for seven nights during my stays in Quito broken up by a weekend trip to Otavalo and then the Galapagos, however after the first three nights I moved to a much better place in the Mariscal Sucre area where I was welcomed on the phone with English and it was within easy two block walking distance of many restaurants in Plaza Foch.
If you are fluent in Spanish and can tolerate dogs and not having hot water then this hotel would be an option. For me it was not a pleasant stay and I can not recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet, Herts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Positives first:

Our room was fine apart from having to ask for an extra towel every night - we were a couple in a double room but for some reason, we were only given one towel every day!

Breakfast was good, plentiful with fruit, bread, jam, eggs and juice & coffee.

Negatives:

Located in between the old and new town, This is NOT a safe part of town at night. We felt very uneasy walking 50 yards to the nearest of 2 restaurants by the hotel. Even the shop across the road had bars up as soon as it was dark. Lots of dodgy characters hanging around this area and no other tourists in sight!

Noise - there were very few people staying in the hotel but when a family arrived very late one night, the night receptionist showed them several rooms around 1am and had no regard for us trying to sleep whilst he had very loud conversations with them right outside our door.
The house next to the hotel has 3 dogs which bark at any given point night and day.

We moved hotel and area to Mariscal Sucre and for a cheaper rate, we stayed in a far superior hotel (Hotel Carolina Montecarlo), feeling comfortable, safe and looked after!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NessLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quito hotels

Queens NY
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

After a delayed trip to Quito and losing my luggage, it was a good feeling to arrive at the front door of the hotel with a smile from the desk clerk. He was very accommodating and after showing me several rooms I picked the one on the first floor. It was clean with two beds, a towel and a soap. Very basic however, the cleaning maid always come to check if everything was alright. I was really pleased and even the front desk helped me recover my luggage which I got after 36 hours. The hotel is a walking distance from all Quito sights so that was a great advantage. This is a money saving hotel.

Room Tip: The first floor is good if a little noise is acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernestoqueensny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.7 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#17 of 111 in Quito
437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Melanie
Hostal Melanie
#79 of 229 in Quito
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Margarita 2
Hostal Margarita 2
#38 of 256 in Quito
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa CarpeDM
Casa CarpeDM
#2 of 229 in Quito
142 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Miguel Angel
Hotel Miguel Angel
#102 of 229 in Quito
37 reviews
0.5 mi away
L'Auberge INN
L'Auberge INN
#24 of 229 in Quito
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo Quito

Property: Hotel Mediterraneo Quito
Address: Antonio Elizalde E4-78 y Gran Colombia, Quito 170403, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mediterraneo Quito 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing