We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place”
Review of Hostal San Blas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal San Blas
Ranked #68 of 291 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I've travel 5 times last year, 3 times I went to Ecuador, this is a great place to stay, cheap, secure, clean and nice beside is closed to everywhere to visit the city and tourist locations. I recomend 100%, we'll be back sometime this year.
Thanks for a great service

Room Tip: Choose the inside room with windows to the inside,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 74 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2011

My husband and I only ended up staying here for 1 night as we found somewhere bigger and half the price just round the corner. For Hostal San Blas we payed 16us for a double with a private bathroom. A double with a shared bathroom was 14us per night.
The room was small but cozy. The bathroom was too small but had hot water. Soap and towels were provided. The room also had a TV but was only the rubbishy local chanels.
The rooms had windows which opened onto an intertior patio so the rooms were nice and quiet - unless you are on the bottom floor and can hear the staff before 6am!

There was kitchen access on the top floor. It was pretty pathetic and dirty. Not even a fridge, only a 2 stove cooker with barely any utensils. Only good enough for a bowl of cereal, not enough utensils to actually make a meal. The view from here is nice though.

The staff were friendly enough. The location is good. Its right off the San Blas Square in Quitos Old Town. It is also right near the tram line that takes you into the new town or terminal terrestre for buses to all destinations.

I wouldnt come back here only because I wouldnt stay in the Old Town again. It was too quiet and not enough restaurants for me. You are better off staying in the more commercial New Town.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camacho87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Stayed here a few times in Feb/Mar 2011. Very good deal for the solo budget traveler who doesn't want to stay in a dormitory. Rooms are small and cozy, but clean with a wardrobe, table and chair, TV, and comfortable bed with warm blankets. No outer windows (probably a good thing given crime in Quito) but windows open into interior courtyard. I had a shared bathroom but think there are also some rooms with private baths. The family running the place is very friendly and helpful. The shared kitchen on the roof is not too exciting, and too cold to spend much time in, but other than that, can't beat this place for the budget traveler. The restaurant next door serves great chicken skewers fresh off the grill for a couple dollars. And if you need a haircut, try Nelson and Giovanni's around the corner, it was the best haircut of my life for $3 (+tip).

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Si on vous propose la chambre 113, demander a changer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fremalix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016
Thank maeka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#16 of 113 in Quito
795 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
715 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#29 of 113 in Quito
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal San Blas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal San Blas

Address: Caldas E1-38 Y PF Cevallos | Plaza San Blas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 291 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range: $28 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal San Blas 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hostal San Blas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing