We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great City View!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pim's Panecillo

Pim's Panecillo
Ranked #41 of 1,294 Restaurants in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $28
Cuisines: Latin, South American, Ecuadorean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pim`s restaurant has an innovative concept that combines Italian trattoria, French bistro and English pub, in a comfortable and pleasant environment with a first class service. We present our customers a very selective gastronomic flavors, to delight with national and Mediterranean dishes of the highest quality for the most demanding tastes.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
309 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great City View!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We went here in the afternoon before visiting Virgen de El Panecillo, as it is located just below. As I was not very hungry, I just ordered the Greek Salad...very disappointing, it was served with no salad dressing. Thank heavens for the Ecuadorian sauce every restaurant serves. The saving grace was my ginger/apple strudel served with vanilla ice cream and the incredible city view!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DayDreamer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    143
    41
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
King George, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pim's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

While visiting the Virgin Mary statue, we decided to eat at the restaurant there. I was pleasantly surprised the cost was moderate, but the food was excellent. I had a Ecuadorian meal and my friend had a steak. My meal was delicious, and my friends Steak was tender enough to cut with a fork. Very tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vaman1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view of Quito”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

After a taxi ride up the hill overlooking Quito, we climbed the steps inside the Virgin del Pannecillo and looked at the artifacts and stained glass windows. Then we went to eat at Pim's and were seated at a long table by a window. There were about 10 of us, but at 1pm, the restaurant wasn't full yet, so we didn't need a reservation, but that may be different on weekends. The food and wine we ordered was exquisite, and although some of our group were affected by the altitude of Quito, we enjoyed a long leisurely lunch with the city spread out below us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great view of the city!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Located on a hill overlooking Quito, Pim's has an amazing view, especially at night, and an up-close and personal view of the Virgin Mary. It has a fun, bustling atmosphere and good food. I tried a typical Ecuadorian meal and it was delicious! Figs with Queso is a local dessert that I recommend as well! This place is a bit on the pricey side, but worth it for a fun experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Littleemicannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pim's Is On Top Of It All!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our memory of Pim's begins over 30 years ago when they were first located just off Amazonas on Renia Victoria. Thier location was small, and the tables and chairs were hardly able to move. But the atmosphere was cozy, and Lisa and Alejandro were just great hosts. They also made some amazing fruit concoctions that continue to this day.

The restaurant at Panecillo was great. Our waiters were fantastic, and took care of our every need. The food was enjoyable as well. It is difficult to take your eyes off the incredible view to enjoy anything else.

It is unfortunate the trio of musicians that used to make the rounds of the tables many years ago, no longer does so. They played typical music of Ecuador, which along with the traditional food most come to enjoy, was a real treat.

None the less, this is as much a part of the Panecillo experience as the hill itself.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank alanj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pim's Panecillo also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Pim's Panecillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing